How to handle cheeky classmate?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    35 Posts 14 Posters 13.0k Views 1 Watching

Aaaahh... this topic rings a bell for me as my DD1 has received similar

attention from boys at her school as well. One particular boy though, up
      till today. :lol:

A few times we've heard her sharing with us about classmates teasing
      her about it... & all she can do is say no lah... no lah... not boy friend just
      a friend who is a boy. We teach her to say that in case she does get such
      teasings from friends. The cases to me do not warrant a complain to the
      principal cos it's harmless... at least at this point. However, stealing
      kisses, hugs and any other bodily contact can prove to be the start of
      other unwanted scenarios. Like schellen said, it's best to be pro-active
      now that the boy is beginning to display his affection/crush using body
      contact.

My DD1's case is of a like love-at-first-sight kinda story. She is constantly
      being observed by this guy in school. It doesn't help that he is in the same
      class. One jolly afternoon, he discreetly wrote a love letter complete with
      smilies and hearts asking to see my DD1 at the school bridge/pond where
      the koi fishes are. While we anxiously listened to her sharings, our hearts
      went dug-doog dug-doog... ya know like why ask to meet in such place in
      the school albeit in the presence of a lot of people, but for what and why..
      and all the questions lah. The letter wrote :

\"Dear XXX, would you like to meet me at the pond / bridge during recess
      later? I would love to meet you. But... if you're not willing or do not wish
      to, it's okay. I will not be angry at you. Love, XXX.\" And ended with smilies.

Soooweeet hor.. πŸ˜‰

DD1 said she didn't know how to react. She blushed as she narrated her
      afternoon. Seemingly liking the attention showered exclusively to her, she
      said she was busy at recess and hungry so she didn't have time to meet
      him at the said venue. They kena go down late for recess that fateful date
      and my DD1 had to queue up for sometime for food and by the time she
      got down to finishing her food, it was almost time's up to go back to class.
      She only managed to chat up with some friends over at the canteen while
      she was having her food. We asked if she did peek over to see if he was
      there... :evil: Well, she said she was on the way up to her class anyway &
      had to pass by the pond :roll: ... yeah right... :lol: ... and she said the boy
      was STILL there! :shock: So, she quipped at him, \"Hey XXX, you sent me
      a letter to meet you here... what's up, sorry i was busy just now...\"

The boy's face lit up at her presence and he started out... \"Because......\"
      Then... the school bell rang to indicate the end of recess. :rotflmao:

On the way up to the class, he chatted her up a little bit. We asked DD1
      what kind of topics did he talk about. She said, \" Ummm... well... he asked
      about what i liked to do... like what my hobbies are... he said he liked
      playing computer games and i replied i liked playing my violin...\" XXX
      just answered, \"Wow, that's interesting and prretty creative..\" DD1 said
      she just smiled at his reply.

I know... i know... i was going like.... aaaawww myself. :love:

In class thereafter, the boy nevertheless looking a little dejected... he still
      manage to curve up a smile on his lips for her. And she felt good about it,
      cause she shared that the boy wasn't angry with her and that she
      somehow felt that he was gonna be cool about this. That they'd be cool. 😎

Hubs asked, \"How does this boy look? I wanna see..\"

DD1, \"He's ummm... not bad looking la. Quite fair and spikey hair.\"
      She added that he does well in his work and is not those kinda boisterous
      boys who yells in class and acts tough. He's a gentleman and looks out for
      her. She sometimes finds him \"around\" and suddenly helping her with stuff
      like for example when she broke her tooth one day and a girl classmate
      brought her to the toilet, he asked if she needed tissues. When she hurried
      to pack her stuff to go for the next class, he went over to the table and
      without any words just help her pack and went running for the next class
      together. I silently chuckled inside telling myself what a sweet boy he was...

He does not attempt to be funny with her so far and she has not complained
      of anyone trying to do so and we let it be, but we share with her if a boy
      should try to, she MUST tell us and at that instant if there was a teacher
      present, let's say if done in class... she should speak up about it. If done
      without the knowledge of other people around, she MUST tell the boy right
      in his face that she DOES NOT LIKE it. She will let it go if he promise not to
      do that again (try to be cheeky and using bodily contact) and still be his
      friend, or else she WILL go to the teacher, tell her parents and WILL NOT
      want to be his friend anymore. And if the boy wants to maintain cordial
      relationship with her, he would be willing not to repeat the cheeky actions
      any more.

Faith reasons, she is also taught that boys are not allowed to touch girls.
      No pre-marital sex and stuff like that. So, that helped too.

As for that boy, i had a personal experience with him. I was called in to do
      Parent Voluteer (PV) for the class. Ahah! :idea: And i concluded that i would
      not mind it one bit that he has that crush for my DD1. I find he's like the
      bodyguard, the knight that watches her back for when she is in trouble &
      he doesn't make his feelings come out so strongly that it may affect studies
      or platonic relationship. It's kinda nice to have him look out for her. πŸ˜‰

He was like :!: when he saw me join the class and chatted up with the
      teacher! His expression was priceless, boy! :rotflmao:

But he was a very sweet boy. Very well behaved/mannered and he does
      well for his studies. Concentrates during class and a pretty funny bloke at
      that, so he's kinda popular. He cracks jokes to brighten up the class.

During the field trip that i PV-ed for that day @ Pasir Ris Kids Kampong, i
      caught him giving his big fishies to my DD1 who was pretty frustrated at
      not getting any by the first 15mins. I heard him telling DD1, \"Here, you
      can have some of my fish. I have a lot anyway.\" Kekekee.. :lol: Sweet
      huh?

At that, a couple of guys from the class came over and said, \"Wah, so good!
      Only she get arh? Then me leh?\" :evil:

At that instant, i was like ..... Haaaa! What was he gonna do now? :evil:

Being the chivalrous person that he really is, he replied. \"Sure! Here you
      go!\" And he readily gave his \"smaller fishies\" into the other fella's bucket. :rotflmao:

I'm thinking in my mind that what he wanted to give them was more like
      :heresmyfish: :rotflmao:

Hubs asked her to throw away the love letter, but i pleaded to let her keep
      it. He asked me why.. I said, \"Well, let her keep it as a part of her memories
      of growing up. And the other part is, it is HER letter anyways...\" :roll:

Well, just in case he DOES chuck it into the bin when DD1 least realizes
      it... i had it scanned into my PC as back up. :lol: I for one, am sentimental
      about special moments in my life while growing up. It's part of the
      experiences that a growing girl will have fun keeping and with DD1
      innocently sharing her life experiences with me makes me feel included
      in her life...... I like it that way. :hugs:

And i hope to always be a part of her no matter how grown up she may be.. :love:

peterch

KS_me:

My boy in P2 came home one day share with me about his classmate, a boy, who told him about a girl in the same class who looks very pretty and interesting to him.... and he officially told everyone in the group that he wants to marry her...

:lol: :lol: some boys are way too cheeky to say all this at P2 😐

Wow.... kids mature early these days??? My P2 don't seem interested in girls yet :xedfingers: Anyway reminded him that looks is not everything. It's the character that is more important.

We should monitor our kids closer and explain these to them:D So the kids will understand what they had to do when these happen to them.

Let me share this, there are 2 infact 3 girls who are fond of my DS who is in P4 (P5 back in Indonesia). I just realized when I look over his email inbox..... Lots of love letter persisting my DS to answer. My DS didn't reply to any of these mail. Some of the letter was sent 2 years ago (It meant that they are still in P3) So I just told him not to disappoint them by ignoring the mail. Just answer the mail politely saying that all of you are still kids and not the right time talking about love and just be best friend. He did as what I told him and this kind of letter is gone πŸ˜„ I thought all of these happens as they watch to much local TV drama back home. So it's happen here too πŸ™‚ I guess the kids are getting mature faster than our times before πŸ˜„

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

Wow buds, that was sweet. :love: How old is your girl.

I've 2 girls. The eldest is alittle tomboy.... so doubt any attraction. She is quite big sized as in tall and we observed that since young till now, she seems to have significantly smaller boys who like to hang around with her.... We always joke that the boys feel \"secure\" beside her.

Meanwhile for my no. 2. Turning 5 yrs old this year, she always get compliments on her looks and she is an extrovert. Likes to dress up and look pretty type. Mum related to me that the boys in her class like to talk to her and sit beside her and she would just ignore them. The neighbour's son (older than her) also ran up to hug her that gave her a shock and she avoid him. The funniest was a boy in her enrichment class. For some reason, the 2 of them got very \"close\". I heard from teacher that they like to talk to each other so much that they will talk very loud so as to ensure that they can hear each other even though there are 3 other kids + teacher in the class. Then on one of the days, the little boy said to to her when he was gg back \" Bye XXX, miss you\". The boy's mummy and myself were very shocked and amused to hear that. It was really funny as they are 4 yrs old.

Wow buds, that was sweet. :love:

Yaah! Verrrryy sweet! :hugs:
            How old is your girl.
            It was last year when she was 7 years old. :love:
            I've 2 girls. The eldest is alittle tomboy.... so doubt any attraction. She is quite big sized as in tall and we observed that since young till now, she seems to have significantly smaller boys who like to hang around with her.... We always joke that the boys feel \"secure\" beside her.
            DD1's big sized too. Not tall, but wide.. ssshh... dun tell her i said that! :siam:

Wuakakakaah! Funny lah you, MMM! Small boys feeling secure about
            being in the presence of BIG girls... :rotflmao:
            Meanwhile for my no. 2. Turning 5 yrs old this year, she always get compliments on her looks and she is an extrovert. Likes to dress up and look pretty type. Mum related to me that the boys in her class like to talk to her and sit beside her and she would just ignore them. The neighbour's son (older than her) also ran up to hug her that gave her a shock and she avoid him. The funniest was a boy in her enrichment class. For some reason, the 2 of them got very \"close\". I heard from teacher that they like to talk to each other so much that they will talk very loud so as to ensure that they can hear each other even though there are 3 other kids + teacher in the class. Then on one of the days, the little boy said to to her when he was gg back \" Bye XXX, miss you\". The boy's mummy and myself were very shocked and amused to hear that. It was really funny as they are 4 yrs old.
            Miss you?

:!:

:whut:

:faint:

Only 4 years old some more... :politebleah:

daisyt

Its fun and cute to see our kids experience all these when they are \"small\" time. But I can tell you, its not fun anymore when they reach tweens or teens. :x Haha .... all kinds of patterns you can never think of .... πŸ˜› πŸ˜„

Yeah, i sure bet it ain't gonna be when the time comes daisyt!

Sure headache arh! :frustrated: At least you only go through
                it once, i gotta go twice and round that robin! 😒

Those wud be the times you ask how come they grow up so
                fast.. πŸ˜›

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

DD1's big sized too. Not tall, but wide.. ssshh... dun tell her i said that! :siam:

My DD1 is tall and wide...... :nailbite: Likes centre parting though hubby keep telling her that she look prettier with side parting.....

Daddy is also concerned if she will become too big that she cannot find a partner.... He is currently monitoring their weight on a weekly basis and he records that down.

peterch:
                    We should monitor our kids closer and explain these to them:D So the kids will understand what they had to do when these happen to them.

Yes, we should.

And this coming from a daddy... u have my :salute:.
                    peterch:
                    Let me share this, there are 2 infact 3 girls who are fond of my DS who is in P4 (P5 back in Indonesia). I just realized when I look over his email inbox..... Lots of love letter persisting my DS to answer. My DS didn't reply to any of these mail. Some of the letter was sent 2 years ago (It meant that they are still in P3) So I just told him not to disappoint them by ignoring the mail. Just answer the mail politely saying that all of you are still kids and not the right time talking about love and just be best friend. He did as what I told him and this kind of letter is gone πŸ˜„ I thought all of these happens as they watch to much local TV drama back home. So it's happen here too πŸ™‚ I guess the kids are getting mature faster than our times before πŸ˜„
                    Thanks for sharing this, peterch. :celebrate:

I would've done the same thing. πŸ˜‰

You go, daddy! :rahrah:

Nice to know a daddy who cares about
                    these little details of childhood experiences.. :love:

daisyt

Yeah, i sure bet it ain't gonna be when the time comes daisyt!

Sure headache arh! :frustrated: At least you only go through
                      it once, i gotta go twice and round that robin! 😒

Those wud be the times you ask how come they grow up so
                      fast.. πŸ˜›
                      Yap exactly ! I was involved with dd's everything since she was small but I still have the feelings, why she grow up so fast. :?

Yes, twice you have to go through hor .... Salute !!!! πŸ˜‰

Now that the girls are both sound asleep, i watch over them and i too ponder over how much they have both grown. :love:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 4

RS1234R
                        RS1234