All About Choosing Piano Schools And Teachers
LOL . Thanks! You saw the videos?[/quote]Where's the link?metz:
[quote=\"Imami\"]Metz :snuggles: no offense taken, no need to apologize. I have been reading your posts since the \"chamonix\" days. It was a tongue in cheek response. Regarding your earlier comments, i need some time to digest.
Same here, I have been reading yours and Phankao's as well since ages ago. Her son just performed recently on a grand piano and a violin solo. He's done well, phankao!
waiyean:
Where's the link?[/quote]Dear me . Pm . I don't want to circulate. Mine regular playful kiddo lah.
LOL . Thanks! You saw the videos?phankao:
[quote=\"metz\"]
Same here, I have been reading yours and Phankao's as well since ages ago. Her son just performed recently on a grand piano and a violin solo. He's done well, phankao!
o.
yup, I tend to be a bit more careful too. Donno who will be watching or where/how the videos/photos will end up...
Dear me . Pm . I don't want to circulate. Mine regular playful kiddo lah. -
Come Phankao, share share - u must have watched your kids perform countless of times. Is each performance feels as intense as the first one?metz:

LOL . Thanks! You saw the videos?
The other day after knowing our little bold plan, my hubby was commenting,\" u sure u want xx to perform solo??? U would cry leh..... Wait take graduation photo not nice la...\"
:rotflmao: :slapshead: -
Oh. If I had known that the humble keyboard could be helpful in such a way, I would have bought a better one! Haiz..... :stupid:
Bring keyboard cheaper.
My boy has performed at kindy concert. Also at some halls. I've seen his fellow kindy friends performed \" piano\" on keyboard. Previous years, they had my boy and another kindy friend just accompany the singing of the kids, so quite casual. Tis year, he did a solo. I accompanied him on keyboard for his violin. Actually I asked his kindy music tr to, but his principal said for me to accompany bc she said - \"shows the parental support\". Whatever lah . He's performed at chess event before using accompaniment CD track. Not ideal, but had to be done in that situation. I had no keyboard. And to rent one was like S$200 according to the organiser.
/
Wow... Renting one needs $200? That's almost what I had paid for the keyboard! -
metz:
There are more chances of performing in primary school- is it? How is this so?
As what Phankao has shared, the 2 suggestions are what most people would recommend in the absence of a piano. Let your little one know that once in primary school, he will have a higher chance of performing in front of the entire school. Besides, there are many other performing chances awaiting him. (Phankao has great recommendations.) Meanwhile, take the K2 year-end event as a training ground.
As to whether to let him take 2 instruments, let nature take its course. Remember I mentioned about accelerating my son on piano? My intention was to find out if he has any \"talents\" in piano, and if he had none, I could just stop the lessons and let him concentrate on violin. As it turned out, the one month of acceleration gave us a good indication of his interests and ability. Till now, he wouldn't even consider giving up either instrument. So, do keep an open mind.
Yup, I will keep an open mind and an open wallet (to fund his music lessons).
his opinion is valued and will be taken into consideration. So long as he is keen...
Imami:
Yes Phankao ... Do share... :rahrah:phankao:
LOL . Thanks! You saw the videos?
Come Phankao, share share - u must have watched your kids perform countless of times. Is each performance feels as intense as the first one?
The other day after knowing our little bold plan, my hubby was commenting,\" u sure u want xx to perform solo??? U would cry leh..... Wait take graduation photo not nice la...\"
:rotflmao: :slapshead:
Or PM me...
Imami, your hubby has a valid point. We just went through K2 graduation last week. -
A VERY GOOD YAMAHA ELECTONE TEACHER - SAMSUDIN NG
After 2 yrs of attending Yamaha Electone group class, when the music school announced that they are shifting, decided to withdraw both my kids (boy 7 & girl 11 yrs old) from their group classes. As both of them are quite fast in learning Electone, the class pace had slowed them down. Instead, I engaged Electone individual lesson with Samsudin Ng. Samsudin is my girl's Electone Masterclass teacher when she was selected to go through a 1 year course in Yamaha to learn music composing. It's a privilege to know and engage him as just over 10 individual sessions, they had already mastered 3 new pieces which in Yamaha group class, may take half a year. Because of him, their interest in music rose. Previously, my boy found Electone quite boring even though he could play well. After first session with Samsudin, he was so interested in playing Electone that I constantly see him practise songs and explore music on his own now. It is not just the songs but the expression and 'feel' of music that this teacher is able to show the kids. This spur of interest also improves my boy's piano playing technique (both kids had individual piano lesson & group electone before this change). His piano teacher is amazed by his sudden improvement. It's always a blessing to have found a wonderful teacher who can impart passion in children's learning
Mr Samsudin's charges may be slightly higher than Yamaha school rate as it's private rate whereby he comes to our place but his rate is comparable to Yamaha teacher's private rate and he's a masterclass electone teacher! But if the child learns much faster, it's actually much more cost savings and really benefit in long term.
You can click this link to find out more about Mr Samsudin's profile:-
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fsg.yamaha.com%2Fen%2Fnews_events%2Fevents%2Fsamsudin_electone_stagea%2Fimages%2Fsamsudin_pdf.pdf&h=uAQFx6rcQ
I had posted in my facebook the videoclips of my kids' Electone performance last week and Mr Samsudin played an impressive piece 'Pirates of the Carribean'. As it's too time consuming to post the few videos here, if you wish to view the videoclips, feel free to join my facebook under Jann Phonics to see them. Highly recommend this teacher as my kids had truly benefitted from him. -
waiyean:
Yes Phankao ... Do share... :rahrah:Imami:
[quote=\"phankao\"]LOL . Thanks! You saw the videos?
Come Phankao, share share - u must have watched your kids perform countless of times. Is each performance feels as intense as the first one?
:rotflmao: :slapshead:
Or PM me...
Imami, your hubby has a valid point. We just went through K2 graduation last week.[/quote]U PM me and share lor. haha. I also want to see your videos.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.