Just 5 Things... to Keep The Romance in Our Marriage Alive

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    216 Posts 22 Posters 64.3k Views 1 Watching

5 Things To Keep The Romance In Your Marriage Come Alive (Part 1)

In Part 1, these are the 5 things that do not need money to play the part. πŸ˜‰

Just a lot of tender loving care that comes sincerely from the heart. :love:
      Here's sharing some of the stuff i've done for / with buds hubs... and vice
      versa. πŸ’‹

1. The Works
      Being a stay-home-mum, we sometimes forget to appreciate the fact that
      at least one person works to keep the household running, the family fed,
      and the savings clicking in that piggy. Both staying home and working has
      its fair shares of stress and should not be compared especially not open
      verbal confrontation. Issues like these will see no end. Having chosen to
      play the individual roles that we play, we should actually in fact support
      one another through our journeys be it tribulations or in sheer happiness.

I surprised him one day after work doing the works. Not the kind what's
      in all your humsup filled brain waves. :lol: But more to the appreciation
      works. Butler service if i may call it.

The minute he came back that day, he looked worn. But he managed a
      smile on his lips for me. As usual, we held each other in embrace and i
      do remember him lifting me up a lil' too and giving me that little spin
      while our lips are still interlocked in our welcome home kiss. I asked.
      \"Bad day?\" \"Kinda... but i don't want to talk about it. My head is aching
      just thinking about it.\" Without a word, i removed all the buttons on his
      shirt from the top to the bottom... he gave me a weird look... like this 😐 .

I unbuckled his belt and pulled it off his pants gently and proceeded to
      pull it down completely. I even removed his socks to which he bent down
      to stop me but i said i insist. He let me... unwillingly. I removed his watch.
      Then, placed it on his watch box. I held one of his hands leading him to our
      bathroom. I specifically placed a newly opened air freshener inside and it
      smelt nice especially after a clean-scrubbed toilet. Our bathroom was too
      small to fit a tub so i got him to sit on our IKEA stool and told him i will give
      him a rub down. I ran the shower (slightly warm) and rinsed his body. I
      turned off the shower thereafter and began the rub down from his head.
      I always loved how the hair dressers in the salon give me a good hair
      wash and i'd feel so good and happy after that. So, that was what i gave
      him. I started with a hair spa... gentle finger strokes to calm his aching
      head filled with work... working the neck and stiff shoulder blades from
      the sitting down doing paperwork.. then i worked downwards to his spine,
      both arms right till the fingers. He remained silent throughout. After i was
      done, i whispered to him.. \"I'll shower you today.\" He nodded.

I stripped him off his briefs and gave him a light massage kinda shower,
      cleaned him thoroughly and dried him up. I told him to lie down while i
      went to get something. I came back to the bed with his favourite minty
      ointment and told him to relax. I gave him a foot reflexology. He was
      silent throughout the finger pressing his soles, toes and heels. I also
      gave some light massage on his spine, shoulder blades, neck and head.
      Lastly i did his arms and his hands. After i finished, i told him to relax a
      bit while i get dinner ready. The kids were both in school. So i thought
      we'd eat early together before they got back. He nodded and smiled at
      me.

I specially prepared his favourite chicken rice and veggie soup that day...
      We chatted for awhile as we ate about what movie to watch next date nite.
      And some other mundane stuff. We finished dinner and fruits. Hubs then
      told me to shower while he offered to clear up the kitchen for me. So that
      we could then spend a while more before the kids got back from school...

After my shower, we turned on the aircon and cuddled together suddenly
      just spurred on by memories of blast from the past. I forgot who started
      it. Might have been me... I may have asked whether he could imagine
      me showering him back then in school. He said he was happy even when
      i was mean to him a lot during those years cos it meant i was responding
      to him.. One thing led to another and we shared many laughs over our
      teenage sillies.

It was time to fetch the kiddies from school transport. I offered to go down
      to pick them up. Before i could leave the room, he tugged gently at my arm
      and he said, \"Thank you for everything today.. this is precisely why you
      are the love of my life.. i love you.. come back up quickly ok.. i'm missing
      you oredi.\"

Fast forward to the next day, hubs left me a note on my work table beside
      the bed. It read, \"My dearest wifey baby... i will be missing you a lot today.
      I'm sure i will not be able to stop thinking of you all through work today...
      Just watching you sleep gives me a sense of peace.. that you are going
      to be here when i get back. The house is super clean yesterday... yes i
      noticed... i'm sure you must've have spent some time cleaning up every
      thing by yourself.. Dinner was lovely as usual and chatting with you about
      old times sure brings back memories.. I love you, baby. Can't wait to see
      you later...\"

Love, your hubby..

2. The Works

The 2nd part of the works is on household. Since i am the SAHM, chores
      are supposed to be my territory. My duties since i chose to stay home, i
      gotta do what home-makers do... albeit it being more than an office hour
      job i later realized.. :politebleah: Hubs shooshed me out for an off day wif
      my girlfriends which i excitedly did. For once, he didn't call me in between
      my time outside (he likes to do that : how far are you from home or are
      you coming back soon). You see.. i've always been the trusting wife kind.
      Naive to some cos they say men don't deserve 100% trust. Just like how
      i dun like him calling me when i'm out on my retreat day, i also NEVER
      called him to ever interrupt and ask him to get back fast. To me, he works
      hard and he is entitled to his off days just being out with the boys. In fact,
      when he calls to say the guys are swinging by for late nite coffee and he
      should be back by midnight, i tell him no hurry... eveything's good at home,
      all chores done, kids finished homework and already tucked in to bed..
      I'll tell him dun come back so early. His friends wud laugh at him and
      say, see your wifey so understanding and yet you worry.. she some
      more say dun come back so early... Their wives usually either follow
      them or when they don't follow they will text their husbands A LOT.

I had a great day... hehee.. and night... with my girlfriends and really
      had a fantastic time catching up and unwind. I reached back around like
      after 1am and walked softly in.. i felt the floors all squeaky clean... the
      fresh laundry all hung up and smelling great... the kitchen scrubbed...
      the leftovers kept in the fridge... the kiddies' homework all completed..
      there were even some assessments for me to mark.. the kiddies diaries
      were open to the page the wrote about their day... and i saw books on
      the kiddies' beds and they were already looking peacefully asleep. Oh
      wow! I'm blown away... he even read to the girls. :love: He usually does
      not like to cos he says reading to them makes him yawn a lot and feel
      sleepy, even when he's not. πŸ˜›

I went into the room, (room smells fresh too) and saw the night light on
      (so it wasn't too dark for me to see) with him seemingly oredi asleep....
      Why seemingly, cos when i tried to kiss his forehead... he pulled me close
      to his body for a hug and said.. \"I missed you.. hope you had fun. Every
      thing is done.. now just go shower and cuddle with me to tell me about ur
      day out with your friends..\" :hugs:

When we were almost going to fall asleep, he whispers, \"Oh yeah... dun
      need to cook tomorrow. I'm taking us out for breakfast and a trip to
      Sentosa for some sea and sand fun. We'll chill out together tomorrow with
      the girls. I think they'd love it when i break the surprise tomorrow..\" πŸ˜‰

I just smiled happily and replied, \"Thank you for being such a thoughtful
      husband.. i noticed you had all my work done for me. And thank you for
      being the loving father to our girls. Yes, i am very sure they'd be screaming
      tomorrow when you break the news. Goodnight, baby..\"

Aaah... what bliss right. :love:

The only thing that spoiled that night was the nosey peeking MIL
      who gave me the tsk tsk look when i opened the front door.. :roll:
      I am very sure she disliked hubs finishing up the household chores
      & the children all by himself (cos she claims her own husband was
      never like that.. so husbands shouldn't be like that lest appear hen
      pecked) She glanced at the clock at my entrance, shook her head,
      rolled her eyes and shut the door again.

But hey, heck it lah hor... i had a great time. :celebrate:

Here in Pt 2 is the thoughtfulness of a spouse and the suprise factor
      wasn't even something that needed to be purchased. Again, tender
      loving care... and sincerely from the heart... and most importantly
      to tankee, doesn't need to lean towards or lead to sex... lest he'd
      find it an overkill on the pressure to perform.

That day, schweppes... i started out my girls' day out with a wide
      smile and it sure ended with a deep satisfied sigh. :lol: This was the man
      i wanted to fall in love with and be in love with every single day of my life. :romance:

schweppes

i wanted to fall in love with and be in love with every single day of my life. :romance:
        ... know what u mean, sista, know what u mean :lol:
        It's the little things that count that make a difference :hugs:

And (some) men always like to say...

\"Tsk.. women. They're so hard to please.\" :roll:

carebear

To me, one of the most important thing in a good marriage is having your own personal space. In all my 15 years of marriage, neither my DH nor I ever felt stifled. We have a lot of breathing space. We have our own separate rooms and toilets , our things are kept separately.

We are never suspicious of each other’s activites. We are homely people who don’t go out separately if there is no need to. We just go to work and come home after that. Clubbing and chilling out are non-existent in our world. I trust him so much that i don’t ask him why if he comes back late from work (which fortunately is infrequent). Sometimes ignorance is bliss.
            Honestly, i feel he is still the same as when we were dating.

autumnbronze

5 Things To Keep The Romance In Your Marriage Come Alive (Part 1)

2. The Works

The 2nd part of the works is on household. Since i am the SAHM, chores
              are supposed to be my territory. My duties since i chose to stay home, i
              gotta do what home-makers do... albeit it being more than an office hour
              job i later realized.. :politebleah: Hubs shooshed me out for an off day wif
              my girlfriends which i excitedly did. For once, he didn't call me in between
              my time outside (he likes to do that : how far are you from home or are
              you coming back soon). You see.. i've always been the trusting wife kind.
              Naive to some cos they say men don't deserve 100% trust. Just like how
              i dun like him calling me when i'm out on my retreat day, i also NEVER
              called him to ever interrupt and ask him to get back fast. To me, he works
              hard and he is entitled to his off days just being out with the boys. In fact,
              when he calls to say the guys are swinging by for late nite coffee and he
              should be back by midnight, i tell him no hurry... eveything's good at home,
              all chores done, kids finished homework and already tucked in to bed..
              I'll tell him dun come back so early. His friends wud laugh at him and
              say, see your wifey so understanding and yet you worry.. she some
              more say dun come back so early... Their wives usually either follow
              them or when they don't follow they will text their husbands A LOT.

I had a great day... hehee.. and night... with my girlfriends and really
              had a fantastic time catching up and unwind. I reached back around like
              after 1am and walked softly in.. i felt the floors all squeaky clean... the
              fresh laundry all hung up and smelling great... the kitchen scrubbed...
              the leftovers kept in the fridge... the kiddies' homework all completed..
              there were even some assessments for me to mark.. the kiddies diaries
              were open to the page the wrote about their day... and i saw books on
              the kiddies' beds and they were already looking peacefully asleep. Oh
              wow! I'm blown away... he even read to the girls. :love: He usually does
              not like to cos he says reading to them makes him yawn a lot and feel
              sleepy, even when he's not. πŸ˜›

I went into the room, (room smells fresh too) and saw the night light on
              (so it wasn't too dark for me to see) with him seemingly oredi asleep....
              Why seemingly, cos when i tried to kiss his forehead... he pulled me close
              to his body for a hug and said.. \"I missed you.. hope you had fun. Every
              thing is done.. now just go shower and cuddle with me to tell me about ur
              day out with your friends..\" :hugs:

When we were almost going to fall asleep, he whispers, \"Oh yeah... dun
              need to cook tomorrow. I'm taking us out for breakfast and a trip to
              Sentosa for some sea and sand fun. We'll chill out together tomorrow with
              the girls. I think they'd love it when i break the surprise tomorrow..\" πŸ˜‰

I just smiled happily and replied, \"Thank you for being such a thoughtful
              husband.. i noticed you had all my work done for me. And thank you for
              being the loving father to our girls. Yes, i am very sure they'd be screaming
              tomorrow when you break the news. Goodnight, baby..\"

Aaah... what bliss right. :love:

The only thing that spoiled that night was the nosey peeking MIL
              who gave me the tsk tsk look when i opened the front door.. :roll:
              I am very sure she disliked hubs finishing up the household chores
              & the children all by himself (cos she claims her own husband was
              never like that.. so husbands shouldn't be like that lest appear hen
              pecked) She glanced at the clock at my entrance, shook her head,
              rolled her eyes and shut the door again.

But hey, heck it lah hor... i had a great time. :celebrate:

Here in Pt 2 is the thoughtfulness of a spouse and the suprise factor
              wasn't even something that needed to be purchased. Again, tender
              loving care... and sincerely from the heart... and most importantly
              to tankee, doesn't need to lean towards or lead to sex... lest he'd
              find it an overkill on the pressure to perform.

Thanks so much for sharing this buds.

DH used to help me with housewk b4 maid and child came along when I was working. Now, when he feels that I feel that I need a day out, be it alone or with galfrds or even to spend some time alone at home doing my own things, he will tell me asssuringly, \"go, go, I will take care of DS.\" He did that last wkend, bring DS for car viewing and feeding him lunch at cafe etc...so that I could indulge at home (like logging in to KSP :!: πŸ˜‰) without any interruptions. Only drawback was that because DS out the whole day, aftnoon nap spoiled, then at nite cranky and throw tantrums, waking up in the nite etc .... :lol:

U know what, am gonna text him now with a nice sweet loving appreciative msg as a form of saying thank you. Not that I don't thank him ... but just feeling nice and warm towards him rite now :love:

peapot

Wow carebear! After reading your post here and the post in maids thread, I realised you must be living in a big house!! Both your hubby and you have your own separate rooms and toilets???!!

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

curious, carebear, why is different bath rooms good? Different closets, I can understand…

carebear

2ppaamm:
                    curious, carebear, why is different bath rooms good? Different closets, I can understand...

If don't aim properly, will make a mess, and can lead to squabbles!
                    peapot:
                    Wow carebear! After reading your post here and the post in maids thread, I realised you must be living in a big house!! Both your hubby and you have your own separate rooms and toilets???!!
                    No, not a big house lah.
                    Just a masionette.
                    Each of the 3 rooms has a toilet.
                    So my DH uses the closet and toilet in his study, i use the one in the master bedroom.

carebear:
                      2ppaamm:

curious, carebear, why is different bath rooms good? Different closets, I can understand...

For me, hubs and i take unspoken initiatives to scrub the toilet.. so i have
                      no issues with regards to this. Even the kiddies' help out too. :hugs:
                      peapot:
                      carebear:

No, not a big house lah.
                      Just a masionette.
                      So my DH uses the closet and toilet in his study, i use the one in the master bedroom.

Cheh.. bigger than most lah.. πŸ˜‰

Bigger than mine for one. πŸ˜›

Luckily no need to share with ILs! :!: :lol:

But definitely cannot be bigger than 2ppaamm's. 😎

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

carebear:

[quote=\"2ppaamm\"]curious, carebear, why is different bath rooms good? Different closets, I can understand...

For me, hubs and i take unspoken initiatives to scrub the toilet.. so i have
                        no issues with regards to this. Even the kiddies' help out too. :hugs:
                        peapot:
                        carebear:

No, not a big house lah.
                        Just a masionette.

Cheh.. bigger than most lah.. πŸ˜‰

Bigger than mine for one. πŸ˜›

Luckily no need to share with ILs! :!: :lol:

But definitely cannot be bigger than 2ppaamm's. 8)[/quote]I scrub my own toilet also leh...

I don't know whether my house is big or not. Maybe quite big, but I am thinking of downsizing a bit, because cleaning it is killing me, without a maid.

Now I understand the toilet part. Er... I enjoy sharing toilets leh... I also like the 2 basins side-by-side, so can brush teeth and talk, if I can hear properly lah...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 22