NUS High School of Mathematics and Science (Diploma)
Haikal is a current Y2 student from NUS High, he took leave last year to prepare for his 'O' and 'A' levels. He sat for A-level equivalent papers last year in Maths, Physics, Biology and Chemistry and scored As in all four subjects.
from: http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_486723.html
A SINGAPOREAN boy sat for the British equivalent of the GCE A-level examinations last year and aced all his papers - and he was not even 13 yet.
Muhammad Haikal Abdullah Zain, a former student of Rosyth School, scored straight As in Biology, Physics and Chemistry, which he took last November.
He turned 13 a month later and plans to apply to study medicine at the National University of Singapore (NUS).
The A-level exams Haikal sat last year carry the same weight as the GCE A levels taken by junior college students here, said the British Council, which administers the exam.
NUS confirmed it would accept students with those qualifications.
Said its office of admissions director R. Rajaram: 'We recently learnt of his interest in applying to NUS. We will be pleased to assess his application when we receive it.' -
WOW !!! :shock: :!: Amazing !!
So with these 4 subjects (Maths, Physics, Biology and Chemistry), he can apply for Uni Medicine ? If that's so, why still must take so many other subjects in \"A\" ? :? -
daisyt:
Ya hor..actually it seems unfair to those who charted the course, joined so many CCAs and progressed until 'A' levels and studied GP, MT and scored \"A\"s in all 6 subjects and CCA also P1.WOW !!! :shock: :!: Amazing !!
So with these 4 subjects (Maths, Physics, Biology and Chemistry), he can apply for Uni Medicine ? If that's so, why still must take so many other subjects in \"A\" ? :?
However, this boy may also be an all-rounder, i.e. he has a life outside studies like any \"A\" level students, then his achievements is astounding still. -
[quote]a hor..actually it seems unfair to those who charted the course, joined so many CCAs and progressed until 'A' levels and studied GP, MT and scored \"A\"s in all 6 subjects and CCA also P1.
However, this boy may also be an all-rounder, i.e. he has a life outside studies like any \"A\" level students, then his achievements is astounding still.[/quote]I happen to read the papers this morning. He completed Violin at grade 8, took part in chess competition (if I remember this morning paper correctly) when he took the 1 year leave. He is also the same boy being mention in the Math Olympiad thread. -
EN:
I happen to read the papers this morning. He completed Violin at grade 8, took part in chess competition (if I remember this morning paper correctly) when he took the 1 year leave. He is also the same boy being mention in the Math Olympiad thread.[/quote]Like that he is an all-rounder, just short of 2 subjects to be on-par with a regular \"A\" level kid.[quote]a hor..actually it seems unfair to those who charted the course, joined so many CCAs and progressed until 'A' levels and studied GP, MT and scored \"A\"s in all 6 subjects and CCA also P1.
However, this boy may also be an all-rounder, i.e. he has a life outside studies like any \"A\" level students, then his achievements is astounding still. -
Like that he is an all-rounder, just short of 2 subjects to be on-par with a regular \"A\" level kid.[/quote]Oh, he didn't take GP, har? Or Mother Tongue?
I happen to read the papers this morning. He completed Violin at grade 8, took part in chess competition (if I remember this morning paper correctly) when he took the 1 year leave. He is also the same boy being mention in the Math Olympiad thread.EN:
[quote]a hor..actually it seems unfair to those who charted the course, joined so many CCAs and progressed until 'A' levels and studied GP, MT and scored \"A\"s in all 6 subjects and CCA also P1.
However, this boy may also be an all-rounder, i.e. he has a life outside studies like any \"A\" level students, then his achievements is astounding still.
But to do all those 4 core subjects at A-levels really not easy already! That was the exact combination i took at a-levels - at 18years old!
You also another exceptional \"A\" Level kid, most regular ones must do 6 la.
Oh, he didn't take GP, har? Or Mother Tongue?
But to do all those 4 core subjects at A-levels really not easy already! That was the exact combination i took at a-levels - at 18years old!
How you escape har?
I agree these 4 is already not easy plus he is also all-rounder. -
Haha - I regular lah. Where got exceptional? Took 6 subjects. Those 4 plus GP & MT.
You also another exceptional \"A\" Level kid, most regular ones must do 6 la.phankao:
How you escape har?
Haha - I regular lah. Where got exceptional? Took 6 subjects. Those 4 plus GP & MT.[/quote]Alamak, I read wrongly already... This was the medicine combo...you must be good! Dr. Phankao?
You also another exceptional \"A\" Level kid, most regular ones must do 6 la.ks2me:
[quote=\"phankao\"]
How you escape har?
[quote]Alamak, I read wrongly already... This was the medicine combo...you must be good![/quote]
Wah... Better dont play play with phankao.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.