Teaching Chinese at Home

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Chinese
    2.4k Posts 257 Posters 900.1k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      ooptimizer

Not many places accept AMEX.

tree nymph

me too. i find not a lot of places accept AMEX. but good if you are shopping at dangdang lor... πŸ˜‰

tamarind

I also will not apply for the original Amex if they charge annual fee. But since DBS Amex works and don’t charge, I will definitely go for it. The Citibank Secure code thing is really frustrating to use.

nonKiasu

Mummy_Tang:

Phankao,

Don't despair, put it up for sale here lah ...

I am sure it'll be snapped up in no time πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜„

ps: 17 mths and can read the whole set - :salute: :ugogirl: πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„

HIHI... i saw them @ Popular Tampiness. I bought 1 set of series 1, think there are still2 sets of series 1. Will let my DD2 try tonight.

Thanks, Mummy_Tang, for sharing. I went to Tampines Popular today. No more series 1. I get the series 2 and its the last set! See how my DSs react tomr.

nonKiasu

tamarind:
              I also will not apply for the original Amex if they charge annual fee. But since DBS Amex works and don't charge, I will definitely go for it. The Citibank Secure code thing is really frustrating to use.

Hmm... so much abt buying online, oss and credit card issues. May I know is it really not available anywhere in Singapore?

tamarind

nonKiasu:
                tamarind:

I also will not apply for the original Amex if they charge annual fee. But since DBS Amex works and don't charge, I will definitely go for it. The Citibank Secure code thing is really frustrating to use.

Hmm... so much abt buying online, oss and credit card issues. May I know is it really not available anywhere in Singapore?

You can find the Chinese story books at this bookshop
                http://bras-basah-complex.com.sg/bbc/2_shops/en_level_detail_1.asp?sid=03-005

But a book can cost more than SGD 10 at the shop. If you ship from China, it may cost about SGD 5 including shipping. The fact is that even if you can find the books here, you have to pay so much more. They do not have the ε››δΊ”εΏ«θ―» books, but they have many other story books, so parents can go there to browse (before buying from dangdang πŸ˜‰ ). There is another book shop that I visited in Jurong East which also charge so much more than dangdang.

Many Singaporeans now shop from overseas website. For example, even though GAP has opened stores here, many women are still buying from http://www.gap.com and shipping from USA to Singapore. Online websites often have deep discounts and it can turn out to be a lot cheaper than buying from local shops, even when including shipping.

I am also buying almost all my english story books for children direct from http://www.amazin.com. I always cannot find the titles that I want in local bookshops.

Happybirdks

tamarind:
                  You can find the Chinese story books at this bookshop

http://bras-basah-complex.com.sg/bbc/2_shops/en_level_detail_1.asp?sid=03-005

But a book can cost more than SGD 10 at the shop. If you ship from China, it may cost about SGD 5 including shipping. The fact is that even if you can find the books here, you have to pay so much more. They do not have the ε››δΊ”εΏ«θ―» books, but they have many other story books, so parents can go there to browse (before buying from dangdang πŸ˜‰ ). There is another book shop that I visited in Jurong East which also charge so much more than dangdang.

Many Singaporeans now shop from overseas website. For example, even though GAP has opened stores here, many women are still buying from http://www.gap.com and shipping from USA to Singapore. Online websites often have deep discounts and it can turn out to be a lot cheaper than buying from local shops, even when including shipping.

I am also buying almost all my english story books for children direct from http://www.amazin.com. I always cannot find the titles that I want in local bookshops.

This particular bookshop tamarind mentioned told me they have ordered the ε››δΊ”εΏ«θ―» books, and stocks coming in march. Let's hope it will really have stock by then. I am willing to pay the high price as long as local shop has it, at least for book 1.

Agree that buying online is much easier to get hold of stuff we want, often with better price even with shipping in. Generally online shopping is quite easy, only difficult at dangdang because of their credit card issue. πŸ˜‰

smurf

I went to trial order a few books from Dangdang, and they seems to accept other bank credit cards leh. :?

Happybirdks

On dangdang website, it mentioned that if we bulk order 20 books of the same titles, they will fulfill order even if items oos. Perhaps somebody with citibank cc can organise a bulk order just for ε››ζ— εΏ«θ―»? πŸ˜‰

Tamarind, are you interested in organising? :lol:

Happybirdks

smurf:
                        I went to trial order a few books from Dangdang, and they seems to accept other bank credit cards leh. :?

O, did you successfully place an order? I tried with ocbc card but got rejected. Dangdang will ask you to fill in everything, but at last part when they process order with cc given, they will reject if it's not the card they accept.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 31 / 243