How do you deal with arrogant/how lian people around you?

374 Posts 47 Posters 102.0k Views 1 Watching

2ppaamm,

I have 2 options - 1) Sit beside my kids, watch TV and pretend nobody exists. (like what you mentioned). 2) Tell them this, my son is also in SAP school, has swimming lessons, tuition for HIGHER CHINESE and attends ENGLISH enrichment class every Sunday. Not only that, he has 听写,默写,Spelling and Dictation on top of tonnes of homework everyday. How about that ?

tutormum

2ppaamm,

I have 2 options - 1) Sit beside my kids, watch TV and pretend nobody exists. (like what you mentioned). 2) Tell them this, my son is also in SAP school, has swimming lessons, tuition for HIGHER CHINESE and attends ENGLISH enrichment class every Sunday. Not only that, he has 听写,默写,Spelling and Dictation on top of tonnes of homework everyday. How about that ?
        Tell them that your son is soooo smart that he spends very little time on tuition/studying for tests/exams, swimming/music/golf/whatever lessons - those are for average kids who need lots of pushing to get ahead. Your DS spends most of his time preparing for competitions cos his teachers think that he's one of the only few who have the ability and can afford the time. 😉
        So you see, Janet, you have nothing in common to talk to them and they'll stop making comments. That's what I do - find something that they don't share to talk about. My SIL used to talk about how good their children are in their studies and how busy they are going for one tuition to another (they discuss which tuition centre to go to and how expensive it costs them). For me, I told them that as a tutor, I don't even teach my own DS, also DS3 has been getting Edusave award every year, so I save a lot of money. Surprisingly, none of their children seems to have won any edusave award after so much investment. :lol: In fact, now they feel paiseh that their children are having tuition. I give them a \"why your DS in JC still need to go tuition, can't study on his own\" look. :evil: :laugh: I won't be so how lian if they aren't mean in the first place. :roll:

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

2ppaamm,

Actually, I normally keep mum. My time at my in-laws is obligatory only. As for my own side of the family, I also keep quiet, because my sister will think that I'm how lian, as all my kids did better in PSLE, and went to Uni earlier. She used to tell me that her kids are smarter (GEP ma) and better in every aspect (music, drawing, sports etc). I used to believe and agreed with her, without wanting to brag or mention my kids' achievement. However, in recent years, my kids seemed to have caught up and overtaken by far. So hor, no more comparison. Nowadays, she avoids talking about her kids, I don't also. I guess there's nothing for anyone to brag - maybe to others lah, not to me.

For me, there's no need to say anything, the results have already spoken for themselves. I normally don't even want to mention which school my kids are posted to, until they ask. Nobody knows what my kids' PSLE scores are. My sis, MIL and SIL kept asking my mum how my kids got to premier schools e.g. RI, GEP, but I insisted on not telling even my mom.

I believe they will feel even worse if you act like the nicest person in the world, and if they try to insult, just turn to the TV. That's what I'd do.

Have you seen the Tai Chi Master? When you are like water and whatever blow comes your way is being neutralized, the blows will reduce and disappear one day. Mine did. Work on your children and make them great. These folks, so shallow, don't bother lah! Enough white hair already. :celebrate:

2ppaamm:
            how my kids got to premier schools e.g. RI, GEP...
            Huh?? must ask how wan meh? Good means good la... I thought asking how is quite insulting? 😐 I would just congratulate and move on...

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

2ppaamm:

how my kids got to premier schools e.g. RI, GEP...

Huh?? must ask how wan meh? Good means good la... I thought asking how is quite insulting? 😐 I would just congratulate and move on...

Ya lor. So I don't answer lah... Her own GEP son cannot get into RI, but went to another school. They thought I used some back door or some connections. Remember, her kids are better mah...Unfortunately, not so easy to get into good schools with relationship. Singapore is still not so corrupted leh... Thank God!

My SIL and MIL also say that GEP no big deal lah, some people give up that's why my son got it mah (got such logic meh?).... then for my DS1, they say go to uni early will make the brain spoil. I just ignore la... how to get angry over everything? The most important is that my kids do well, and they grow up to be useful people.

auntieM

2ppaamm,

Your SIL and MIL on what kind if medication/poison?
                This kind of remarks really more than how lian already :x

Maybe should start new thread on "How to handle ‘poison tongues’/mean people?"

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

auntieM:
                  2ppaamm,

Your SIL and MIL on what kind if medication/poison?
                  This kind of remarks really more than how lian already :x

Maybe should start new thread on \"How to handle 'poison tongues'/mean people?\"
                  Heh heh... I'd like to think that they are plain jealous. Good for them. I will make sure my kids are nurtured properly and grow up properly. They will :x . But I have never talked back or rebutted, just very angry inside all these years. Waiting to see the end la... Remember? I'm waiting to have my last laugh.

2ppaamm:

Ya lor. So I don't answer lah... Her own GEP son cannot get into RI, but went to another school. They thought I used some back door or some connections. Remember, her kids are better mah...Unfortunately, not so easy to get into good schools with relationship. Singapore is still not so corrupted leh... Thank God!
                    Wah connection very dangerous leh for secondary school...it's like throwing one into a pool of piranhas....if one cannot cut it...it will become a sad story... :roll:
                    2ppaamm:
                    My SIL and MIL also say that GEP no big deal lah, some people give up that's why my son got it mah (got such logic meh?).... then for my DS1, they say go to uni early will make the brain spoil. I just ignore la... how to get angry over everything? The most important is that my kids do well, and they grow up to be useful people.
                    Wah....this one hor...really losers' mindset... Sound so sour-grapes....why can't they just celebrate for the children as a family? :faint:

• 2 Offline
                      2ppaamm

Wah connection very dangerous leh for secondary school...it's like throwing one into a pool of piranhas....if one cannot cut it...it will become a sad story... :roll:

But it is true *certain* school does accept donations etc, but not RI, lah. My sis has got very good connections as well. She fed her kids into very good primary schools. Sec school not so easy... she was curious how I did it. Think she needs to know what is CREDIT-based. :lol
                      [quote]Wah....this one hor...really losers' mindset... Sound so sour-grapes....why can't they just celebrate for the children as a family? :faint:[/quote]Don't know leh... also her grandchild what? At first, my MIL didn't believe my kids are quite smart lah, so she called my mum to reconfirm. After that, she said, \"Wah, YOUR genes very good hor...\" Makes me wonder whose genes is in there as well..... strange remark.

2ppaamm:
                        Think she needs to know what is CREDIT-based. :lol
                        Maybe a good wake-up call for her, network is not everything, self-reliance is!! 😉 Anyway, the same idea I have about DSA, I will only DSA my child in future to increase her chance if she is already good in academics. If not, getting in through DSA without good academic foundation can be more damaging. Heard some kids were asked to leave or repeat the level when they entered via DSA with weak academics.
                        2ppaamm:
                        Don't know leh... also her grandchild what? At first, my MIL didn't believe my kids are quite smart lah, so she called my mum to reconfirm. After that, she said, \"Wah, YOUR genes very good hor...\" Makes me wonder whose genes is in there as well..... strange remark.
                        As they say...fingers are different in lengths...even same blood and same vessels run through them... 😉 The remark is hilarious, your hubby should be grossly offended! :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 33 / 38