2016 P1 Registration Exercise for 2017 In-Take
Small Steps Big Future
The primary school years are an important phase in a childβs life, as they lay the foundation for his learning and development.
Catch the four-part TV special, starting from 6 March, to learn how our primary schools are working closely with parents to support our childrenβs learning, and help them grow into confident and responsible individuals.
Channel 5
Every Thursday, 6 March to 27 March 2014
7.30pm to 8pm
Channel 8
Every Friday, 14 March to 4 April 2014
10.30pm to 11pm
Syria
Every Friday, 2 May to 30 May 2014
8.30 to 9pm
(The third episode will air on 23 May)
Vasantham
Every Monday, 5 May to 26 May 2014
7.30pm to 8pm
Programme by MOE -
Vanocas:
Consider Northland Pri. Good school, better than Chongfu.sembgal:
[quote=\"Vanocas\"]hi hi...i just joined member here.

i have a boy registering this year to a boys' school (hubby's sch), but i have a girl who is borned in 2010. Hence, here i m to check out what to do with my girl.
i m prep to do PV if i can get her to go to a good school. any advice?
i'll staying in Yishun but my in law at Boon Keng. My boy is going sch at bishan. i don have helper or any extra hands at home. Thus, planning to find a school near my boy's school OR a school near to my in law. Anyone can share your views or experience? TIA
Chongfu is nearer to my house. northland too far. But to put my girl to school in Yishun will be a bit of challenge. Both myself and hub working so need to put kids to in law house at boon keng. Hence my first choice will be Hong Wen School. But PV dont know will get in or not...now still thinking of alternative schools....headache.. but tks for your recommendation
[/quote]If you are planning for Hong Wen, and using your in-laws' add, you will need to submit the statuary declaration, add must be within 2km of the school. Here's the link for more infor
http://www.moe.edu.sg/education/admissi ... claration/
Hong Wen in phase 2C always ballot within 1km. Using statutory declaration, under P2C, if there's balloting your application will be with those 1-2km under distance consideration even if your in-laws add is within 1km. Which means under phase 2C is no chance to ballot.
For Phase 2B, PV, your application will still be considered 1-2km under distance consideration if there's balloting. In the last 2 yrs, no guarantee for those living 1-2 km under P2B.
If you do not qualify for statutory declaration, you will be under >2km under distance consideration, I think chances that you can get in Hong Wen under P2B will be very slim if under > 2km becos last 2 yrs 1-2 km already no guarantee. In 2012, balloting for SC living 1-2km and 2013, those living 1-2km no chance to ballot. Plus McNair Towers will T.O.P in 2016, if I remember correctly, and I predict Hong Wen will be \"hotter\" with the new 4 blocks of flats within 1km of the school.
Do have contingency plans if you still wish to go ahead with Hong Wen. -
Chongfu is nearer to my house. northland too far. But to put my girl to school in Yishun will be a bit of challenge. Both myself and hub working so need to put kids to in law house at boon keng. Hence my first choice will be Hong Wen School. But PV dont know will get in or not...now still thinking of alternative schools....headache.. but tks for your recommendation
If you are planning for Hong Wen, and using your in-laws' add, you will need to submit the statuary declaration, add must be within 2km of the school. Here's the link for more infor
http://www.moe.edu.sg/education/admissi ... claration/
Hong Wen in phase 2C always ballot within 1km. Using statutory declaration, under P2C, if there's balloting your application will be with those 1-2km under distance consideration even if your in-laws add is within 1km. Which means under phase 2C is no chance to ballot.
For Phase 2B, PV, your application will still be considered 1-2km under distance consideration if there's balloting. In the last 2 yrs, no guarantee for those living 1-2 km under P2B.
If you do not qualify for statutory declaration, you will be under >2km under distance consideration, I think chances that you can get in Hong Wen under P2B will be very slim if under > 2km becos last 2 yrs 1-2 km already no guarantee. In 2012, balloting for SC living 1-2km and 2013, those living 1-2km no chance to ballot. Plus McNair Towers will T.O.P in 2016, if I remember correctly, and I predict Hong Wen will be \"hotter\" with the new 4 blocks of flats within 1km of the school.
Do have contingency plans if you still wish to go ahead with Hong Wen.[/quote]
>SAHM Tan,
Thank you so much for such detailed advice. Hmmm..u very clear of the happenings around hong wen sch.
i actually forgot about the \"you can get in Hong Wen under P2B will be very slim if under > 2km becos last 2 yrs 1-2 km already no guarantee\"..thanks so much for reminding me. haiz...chances will be low.
then Chongfu has a higher chance comparing to Hong Wen lor :scared: but Chongfu do not have Afterschool care at the moment... hope the afterschool care is in the planning... :xedfingers: or else, i working at Buona Vista, is really very rush for me...
I guess i have no choice but to do PV for both Chongfu and Hong Wen and see which one has a chance lor... Chongfu is within 1km fr my new house....
I really appreciate all for your great thoughts and advice. THANKS! :lovesite: :thankyou:
PS: Feel free to give more advice from your past experience abt PV or anything at all ! :please:
bb will be in phase 1 in this batch, so I know the school well.
This yr's P1 registration should show the impact of McNair Towers and maybe even Bendeemer Lights, though not sure of the TOP and dist to Hong Wen.
My suggestions:
Call up HW to chk when is the starting and closing date for PV application for 2010 kiddos.
Call up Chongfu and ask the same infor.
Chk if any school bus able to ferry your dd fr Chongfu to a student care more convenient for you.
Chk the dist of your in-law's add to St Margaret Primary.
Chk the schools near your ds' school in Bishan. -
sembgal:
I believe lots of N2 can perform way beyond than what you have mentioned here :siam:Wow! Very KS leh to start this thread. The children only in Nursery. Some still don't know how to hold a pencil properly to trace.
By now, the 2010 born kids should know colours, shapes, counting objects correspondingly 1 to 5, recognize letters of the alphabets (can be in random order), know how to hold a \"fat\" pencil correctly and trace different types of lines independently. -
lovinglife:
If you are talking about parents who are well-to-do, of course they can afford to send their kids for enrichment. I'm speaking for the general public who are from average income, not English-speaking background, who are not sure how to guide their children or what to teach. You will be surprised that not all N2 are as advanced as all children develop at their own pace.
I believe lots of N2 can perform way beyond than what you have mentioned here :siam:sembgal:
Wow! Very KS leh to start this thread. The children only in Nursery. Some still don't know how to hold a pencil properly to trace.
By now, the 2010 born kids should know colours, shapes, counting objects correspondingly 1 to 5, recognize letters of the alphabets (can be in random order), know how to hold a \"fat\" pencil correctly and trace different types of lines independently. -
sembgal:
Hi sembgal,
Consider Northland Pri. Good school, better than Chongfu.
Would you mind sharing why you think Northland is better than Chongfu? I always thought the general notion is Chongfu is the best school in Yishun. -
sembgal:
Not very ks. During dd1's time, I also started around at the same age to start looking for primary school becos my alma mata too far and single gender and hubby's primary school no more liao. Not all schools follow the PV timeline for application so it's important for parents to chk with their preferred school earlier to find out what's their closing date for PV. I'm not even sure if there's enough time to apply for grassroots route or the clan route. If still have time, it's very rush. I know my fren had applied and was accepted for clan liao and her kid is same age as mine.Wow! Very KS leh to start this thread. The children only in Nursery. Some still don't know how to hold a pencil properly to trace.
By now, the 2010 born kids should know colours, shapes, counting objects correspondingly 1 to 5, recognize letters of the alphabets (can be in random order), know how to hold a \"fat\" pencil correctly and trace different types of lines independently.
Plus if parents wish to shift house, need time to plan too.
So not too ks, I think maybe should have started earlier LOL. -
Anybody knows if Ai Tong is accepting parent volunteer for enrollment 2017?
Funnymummy:
Anybody knows if Ai Tong is accepting parent volunteer for enrollment 2017?
This is extracted from their website
\" With immediate effect, the school will stop the Parent Volunteer Scheme for P1 Registration 2015 and onwards. For those who have submitted their application before, we regret to inform you that we will not process your application.
Thank you for your support.\"
http://www.aitong.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c= ... &rid=86194
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.