Travel: Singapore - Universal Studio

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    400 Posts 131 Posters 179.2k Views 1 Watching

Quick talk some more! You are only 9 posts away from GM1! :rahrah:

• MMMM Offline
        MMM

Actually, I was thinking about this. But reaching that level actually shows how much time I spent on KSP.... :roll: Never mind huh... let nature takes its course.

Not that bad considering that you joined in 2008. :lol: Look at mine. I joined barely two months ago and I have already past the half mark, so who is the more talkative one here? :lol: Or lor li lor soh member! 😛 (quoting someone, think it's daisyt)

Janardhan

Hi Everyone

This is an urgent message for help. A friend has 5 tickets for the Universal Studio for this coming Saturday. She bought them for her mum and brother's family but unfortunately, they are unable to make it, so she would like to see them off. $10 a ticket, 20 Feb, 5-9pm. Anyone interested, please PM me urgently.

:thankyou:
            Hi Friend,
            I am willing to pay 15$, As I just want to bring my family as they are going back this month to India.Please kindly respond to my H/P:97327543
            Rao

Janardhan:

Hi Everyone

This is an urgent message for help. A friend has 5 tickets for the Universal Studio for this coming Saturday. She bought them for her mum and brother's family but unfortunately, they are unable to make it, so she would like to see them off. $10 a ticket, 20 Feb, 5-9pm. Anyone interested, please PM me urgently.

:thankyou:

Hi Friend,
              I am willing to pay 15$, As I just want to bring my family as they are going back this month to India.Please kindly respond to my H/P:97327543
              Rao

:thankyou: to everyone. 5 tickets have been sold to MMM. :love:
              :imsorry: Tickets were sold last night @ 18 Feb, 19:52hours to be exact!

• MMMM Offline
                MMM

Thanks to the lobang from 25hourmaid, we made it to Universal Studio preview last saturday. To begin with, it was a really good offer as the ticket price could be used to purchase combo meals. So it's like free.

Being Kiasu, we settled for Mel Drive in the early part of our tour so as not to rush with the crowds. But it appeared to be fine since there were quite a no. of restaurants there. Though the guy at the 1st restaurant told us not all the restaurants are open. Quite billy bombers style in terms of ambience. The serving was really big. 1 big burger, 1 big glass of water, 1 pkt of fries and 1 apple pie with 1 scoop of ice cream. It was like american size serving so we couldn't finish all those food and had to prioritise what to eat. There were also alot of other selection like chinese, sandwiches, pizza, etc... The average food price is around S$10 which is rather reasonable for theme park. Mineral water is around $2 per bottle and soft drinks (around $3?). Of course you can always bring your own.

FYI, we brought the kids to gold coast in december last year so we had just experienced movieworld and dreamworld. Also, hubby and I did Universal studio in US probably 11 years ago during our honeymoon. So these were the benchmarks when we compare against Singapore's universal studio.

We spent 2.5 hours just walking around without rides. We had expected the place to be \"small\" but it was actually just right. Not too big and not too small either. A day is definitely sufficient. It was definitely alot more awesome than the australian theme parks we went. It appeared to be bigger than the movie world. It took us very quickly to complete the movie world. For US Singapore, there was alot more things to see eg. egyptian (revenge of the mummy), jurassic park, waterworld, magdagascar? far far away land, etc... I was actually bored in movie world. In our case, it was clear that we will never go back to gold coast.

Also, compared to places like the theme park at genting, it is definitely better since they are using international characters that everyone knows and not some strange mascot. This applies to dreamworld? in Thailand. Yes, they have parades but the characters just look odd. Not something we can associate with. Also, it looks run down. Actually we are not sure how well they will upkeep, the Dora in gold coast actually looks dirty on the face and body.

The other observation I had was the service staff was very \"non sporean\". They were very attentive, friendly, waving and smiling to visitors. You rarely see such service level in Singapore. So I supposed they were really well trained.

During our visit, the egyptian stilt walkers, shrek and characters as well as magdagascar made their appearance. The kids also took photos with kungfu panda (very mischevious), frankenstein and woody pecker. It was great and the kids enjoyed themselves. They asked to go back again but I told them it depends on dd1's CA results :lol: We will consider the annual pass when they start selling. Price is not available at this moment.

Being a shopping queen, we also checked out the shops. Pricing wise is quite reasonable. Eg. I bought US t-shirts for my little girl (featuring the magdagascar penguins after she watched them dance) for around $16.90, $19.90 for other US Singapore t-shrts for the bigger kids and there are some range going at $20+.

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

lovekidsverymuch:
                  I wanna go there soon too wats the price of the ticket when it actually opens?

Think they mentioned S$68 on the papers but probably adult fare. We are wondering how much for kids too.

• MMMM Offline
                    MMM

Forgot to add, the other consideration is probably a uncontrollable factor for US Singapore. Weather…

I am hoping that they open till 10pm or later in the evening. The preview was from 5-9pm and the weather was just ok. Alittle breezy but definitely not hot. I can’t imagine going to theme park under hot sun. That is a dampener.

• MMMM Offline
                      MMM

lovekidsverymuch:
                      [Then u got really good deal mah 😛

But the preview just can see, cannot sit. The rides were moving with no one on it. Ok lah... free meal plus performance. Also, thanks to 25hourmaid's friend's relative who queued up an hour plus for the tickets.

So again :thankyou: to 25hourmaid for this lobang.

penglee

$10, 5 hours, free flow food, endless fun, tons of photographs.

:shock:

Sharing our trip
                        http://sengkangbabies.blogspot.com/2010/02/universal-studios-singapore-preview.html

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 40

kamiruK
                        kamiru