SAHP or working is better?
true, but it is easier to bring the other kid along to 'run the errand' than face the boss' or colleague's black face.
I think this applies to SAHM too.
When you are a mother of 1, then yah, you can drop everything and go to school immediately. But if you have another school going kid attending a different session gotta settle that first right.
in any case, i personally advise mother of 1 to remain a working parent than to be a sahm. -
i know of a family with 4 kids; all the pri sch goers are pretty decent kids. both parents are ftwp. genes play a part too ba. for them, they have religion too (ie very strong of moral teachings/environment).
Am just saying a support structure in the form of granparents or domestic help is useful not only for FTWM but also for SAHP mah. :? :? -
lovekidsverymuch:
I neither support nor unsupport. hehe.
nah i was just saying the way u r supporting to have 1 kid if the gov. read they will :faint:Funz:
:? I never said I want only 1 leh.
I have 2 and trying for a 3rd one. And am a FTWM.
Am just saying a support structure in the form of granparents or domestic help is useful not only for FTWM but also for SAHP mah. :? :?
To each his own.
But back to the topic.
Like daisyt said, whether or not the kid will benefit from a SAHP vs FTWP depends on how each individual handle their own unique situations.
Though I am a FTWM, my kids know that DH & I will be there for them. But at the same time, they have to know that they cannot expect us to come running to attend to their every little problem. They have to learn to be independant and discern what are small issues that they can try to settle themselves and what are big matters that they cannot hide from us. -
lovekidsverymuch:
Can try lah. I manage 5 kids without help also mah... difficult but no impossible. A matter of just harden your head skin and do it! (Chinese translation). Just a year ago, I can never imagine doing it. Like my friend say, try lah. If cannot, then do something. So glad I jumped into the Yellow River. The water is sweet leh...jedamum:
i know of a family with 4 kids; all the pri sch goers are pretty decent kids. both parents are ftwp. genes play a part too ba. for them, they have religion too (ie very strong of moral teachings/environment).
Managing 4 kids with work without any help is really a great job hats off to them -
I managed 2 already go crazy! :?:
I think the child's personality makes a lot of difference...if he/she is lazy, and gotta keep on pushing and drilling, wah, very difficult leh...if can self-motivate...lagi best...
smurf:
Actually, mother's personality also makes a lot of difference. If you are like me, half bochup kind hor, you can have 10 and still manage lor... Just mentioned in the other thread my son missed 2 听写. Who can beat me har?I managed 2 already go crazy! :?:
I think the child's personality makes a lot of difference...if he/she is lazy, and gotta keep on pushing and drilling, wah, very difficult leh...if can self-motivate...lagi best...
2ppaamm:
ironically, i think u make a great mom. Not totally bochup, but half-bochup is a great attitude to have. The problem with many parents nowadays, is they care too much. Children have no time, space and freedom to grow on their own. Just like plants, watering too much and dumping too much fertilizer, will cause them to die. Sometimes, doing less is indeed doing more
Actually, mother's personality also makes a lot of difference. If you are like me, half bochup kind hor, you can have 10 and still manage lor...
2ppaamm:
Just mentioned in the other thread my son missed 2 听写. Who can beat me har?
Hey how come har? My son was ill and skipped school for a few days (he was so happy!). He thought his missed his spelling test - no way! First day back got to do immediately. Nowadays teachers are very strict about doing all the work. -
He didn’t have his list and I did not know when so he didn’t want to do, teacher didn’t know what to do so he ended up not doing lor. Special needs, don’t know good or bad …
skunk:
True indeed. I have finally grasped that last truth after the initial years of struggling.
The problem with many parents nowadays, is they care too much. Children have no time, space and freedom to grow on their own. Just like plants, watering too much and dumping too much fertilizer, will cause them to die. Sometimes, doing less is indeed doing more
Doing less is indeed doing more. What joy to see how our kids grow in this aspect.:celebrate:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.