SAHP or working is better?

220 Posts 38 Posters 55.0k Views 1 Watching
      autumnbronze

2ppaamm:
      There is something obviously wrong with the dynamics of the society. Every mother should be able to stay home if they wanted to, and work if they wanted to. Though I am a happy FTWM, I am not supportive of the current structure of mother working and leaving children to maids. By this, I don't mean these mothers are bad, in fact, they are good. But must it be that way? Why is the cost of living such that mothers have to work?

I would imagine the best situation is, mothers focus on bringing up great kids, fathers work is enough to support the family. Children grow up well and great and twice the productivity of what it is today (with innovations and corporate entrepreneurship). Mothers can go back to work when children are big, or can have part-time work when the kids are in school.

That way, we will bring up great children with higher productivity (instead of those who are infused with maids' strange habits), the family dynamics are intact, (and therefore more babies will be produced), more balanced society definitely?

Why are we always chasing our own tails? Why is the number of working women always a measure of a country's advancement? I think this is a crazy way of measuring success! Women should work because they are happy to do that, not because they have to. To enable that, the whole mind set has to change, and it has to come from the top, I feel.

Aiyah... one of my rantings again...
      Errrrrr, correction, one of your 'wisdomfied' rantings 😄

JMHO ...

• E Offline
        en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote] OMG!!! You are ultimate! Then how ah?[/quote]
        How? Like that lor. Already no time to teach during normal days, why must make exam period an exception. But I'll definitely want to take time off when my dd sit for her PSLE

EN:
          [quote] OMG!!! You are ultimate! Then how ah?

How? Like that lor. Already no time to teach during normal days, why must make exam period an exception. But I'll definitely want to take time off when my dd sit for her PSLE[/quote]But but but missed exam....then lesser marks for final computation, i.e. take raw score of SA2?

When is your dd's PSLE? Need a reminder call? 😉

• E Offline

[quote]But but but missed exam....then lesser marks for final computation, i.e. take raw score of SA2? [/quote]
            He didn't missed his exam. He just didn't study for it.

Just like sitting for a test without preparing lah.

EN:
              [quote]But but but missed exam....then lesser marks for final computation, i.e. take raw score of SA2?

He didn't missed his exam. He just didn't study for it.

Just like sitting for a test without preparing lah.[/quote]Oic... *cold sweat* la... but I am sure he did fine enough.

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

I think I can also top that EN, I forgot to register DS1 for school into P1. Aiyoh, I was so busy running my own business. In the end, I went to the nearest new school and just got a place for him. We were in Phase 3 or something like that… lousy mother lor.

Honestly, it is so tough being a career person and a good mother. All of us are just trying very hard. I remember the StanChart CEO who retired suddenly in early 2000s, she said don’t believe in all the great stories of women being able to balance work and home. It is a fallacy. How true.

Er… yep, I am still a FTWM. But I’m also in a half-retirement job. I will have to wait till DS3 is in secondary school before I can pick up any speed. But that’s the price or the responsibility of motherhood, isn’t it?

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

Errrrrr, correction, one of your 'wisdomfied' rantings 😄

JMHO ...
                  :oops: paiseh... but I have been thinking about this for the last week, when I saw this scene I could not accept.

I was at Balestier, buying that rare McDonald's breakfast for my kids. I saw this boy, not more than 14, hugging, caressing and touching this woman. This woman, is an ugly, short, woman in her 40s, obviously a Filipino maid from her dressing.

This sight disturbed me a lot. My immediate thought is she is his maid! I wonder if his mum knows, from their action, it is apparent they have sexual relations => his life is half ruined, either he will have some kind of sexual disease sooner or later, or he will develop an abnormal obsession to sex at such a young age.

I drove off, but as I reached my home, I felt so uneasy about this whole scene. This is statutory rape! I must put on my civic cap and do something! I went back to look for them. I was going to report to the police. This is like watching someone stealing something (criminal) and not do anything.

I couldn't find them.

Why must we allow this to happen to our society and our next generation in the name of development? My mind started to wonder...

:!: Wah...I almost spit out my water on my computer...

True la...it is tough...I am sure if I dig hard enough I also have stories to share... Ok I forgot her compulsory vaccination until one year later.....

I agree that super woman is a fallacy but iron woman is not as they basically focus on one thing. 😉

2ppaamm:

I was at Balestier, buying that rare McDonald's breakfast for my kids. I saw this boy, not more than 14, hugging, caressing and touching this woman. This woman, is an ugly, short, woman in her 40s, obviously a Filipino maid from her dressing.

This sight disturbed me a lot. My immediate thought is she is his maid! I wonder if his mum knows, from their action, it is apparent they have sexual relations => his life is half ruined, either he will have some kind of sexual disease sooner or later, or he will develop an abnormal obsession to sex at such a young age.
                      Gosh!! She is OLD enough to be his mum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *scream*

• E Offline

[quote]I think I can also top that EN, I forgot to register DS1 for school into P1. Aiyoh, I was so busy running my own business. [/quote]
                        Phweeewitttt 2ppaamm. We do make a terrible mother hor. I actually scramble through dd required immunisations required prior to entry of P1. Not that I procastinate. But I dread every time she has a jab, she fell really sick. Can take weeks to recover. Juggling job, family & a very sickly child is a real hard work.

[quote] I remember the StanChart CEO who retired suddenly in early 2000s, she said don't believe in all the great stories of women being able to balance work and home. It is a fallacy. How true[/quote]True. That's why I still stuck in a low paying job but then work load also very terrible.

[quote]Oic... *cold sweat* la... but I am sure he did fine enough.[/quote]Okaylah. I was brought up as long as can pass, I sure get present. So whatever result as long as pass, good enough. 😛

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 22