Lynn2010:
Hoohoo! I've had some really dumb ones too. I don't expect super smart lah - that can be lethal. But come on, spaghetti, on it's own, after teaching for a month? I got too many example also.Reading some of the last few post, I feel good that I'm not alone. I also change maid till sian. The lesson I learnt is that - dont be too nice. Just last 3 years - one always bring my daughter to take school bus late, second one not only she gets into fights with my dd, after one mth into the job, she asked for sundays off every week although we agreed alternate Sundays (which was what she asked for during the interview). Third one too gong - teach her to cook sphagetti for a month (everyday same dish), finally asked her to cook sphagetti, she literally cooked JUST the sphagetti and no sauce (that's for dinner). Next, i get a dishonest one always lost money (ask her to pay the school bus driver for example), then I get one keeps on talking on the phone - stuck the stupid earphone in her ears the whole day. Yes, I did tell her I dont like it, but she continued. Then I get one who down a bottle (1.25ml) of coke every 2 days.
I suppose I'm not strict enough, TOO NICE, my agent said and she doesnt want to do my business (I'm not joking). Eg. the one who drinks a bottle of coke every 2 days, after I found out, I told her not to take my drinks at home and I gave her a drink allowance of $10 every month. I told her I dont care what she buys to drink but just dont touch mine!
Yalah, you're too nice. I know I'm too eager to reward too :(. I have this friend - she's very tight with the money for her maid. Every 2 years, just 10% increase (no rounding either!). For dinner if they have guests, the maid gets a packet of maggi. Her policy is absolutely no extras, which means no extra $, no extra conversation etc. Amazingly, this maid (and she's fantastic) has stayed for over 4 years now!!
How come ah? :? -
I think its the maid’s character and her own thinking that makes her stay for so long. I think whether a maid will work long for you, 80% is because of the maid wants to work in singapore. She may be already familiar with the household and wants to be in comfort zone. Moving off may mean getting to know a new household and learn new rules. If she has no qualifications and still wants to work in Singapore, I don’t think how the employer treat her will matter much. Of course there must not be any abuse involved. We presume the employer has treated her as per normal market standards.
peapot:
I think its the maid's character and her own thinking that makes her stay for so long. I think whether a maid will work long for you, 80% is because of the maid wants to work in singapore. She may be already familiar with the household and wants to be in comfort zone. Moving off may mean getting to know a new household and learn new rules. If she has no qualifications and still wants to work in Singapore, I don't think how the employer treat her will matter much. Of course there must not be any abuse involved. We presume the employer has treated her as per normal market standards.
Agree as well. I just want to be that lucky person to only get these sort of maids. -
Hai looks like negative comments more than the positive one, i spoken to her over the phone, i told her no off day and big family, can u cope, she everything also say can, i have changed 2 maids in 3 months, waste so many time and $$$, really sian, wanna give up, anyway she will be here next week, shall see wat patterns she has :x
my sis just sent her maid looking after her in-laws home before CNY.maid worked for only 3 mths.She has 2 maids, one maid to look after her in-laws, another to look after her 4 kids.she is not staying with in-laws.
Maid nowadays getting very clever, this problematic one knows that my sis goes bac every fri evening.That very fri, she went back in the afternoon. found maid not in, left the invalid ah ma at home. she waited 3 hrs before maid came back. maid shocked to see her, dared not say anything. my sis called agent, agent came, all the questioning…went to meet BF, old man got wife, grandchidren etc… Agent check her stuffs, found she kept hp in her undies… hp more interesting-got photos of maid and bf,some pics also taken in in-laws hse, x-rated movie too…
my sis really gave up… the previous maid brought "Banga" bf home to do business, got caught when FIL woke up. Bf so scared that he ran off forgetting his underwear. my sis rushed down in the wee hrs, called police & agent… same thing lor, maid sent home, police said no case… -
m-mommy:
Hai looks like negative comments more than the positive one, i spoken to her over the phone, i told her no off day and big family, can u cope, she everything also say can, i have changed 2 maids in 3 months, waste so many time and $$$, really sian, wanna give up, anyway she will be here next week, shall see wat patterns she has :x
m-mommy, I know and feel your heartache having to change maids so many times in the recent months...it is time, money and psychological health too!
Like lovekidsverymuch sez, keep an open mind! Easier said than done, I know ...but one thing I've learnt over the years is expect the worst but be pleasantly surprised by the (sometimes) best (actions...)
Hi guys! I’ve decided to change maid and maid agency!! I had to fork out $1000 more for the new maid!! This new agency at least let me interview and accept PD cheques. I hope this new Indo maid will not fail me!!
Andaiz, so far it seems your maid did not give you much problem. That’s really good news! Unlike mine so totally hopeless in child minding. Money and time is normally what all working moms are concern with! My new indo maid is ex-Singapore. Anyone hired this indo maid before? Pls shout!! her name is Suharti Ningsih.
peapot:
Hi guys! I've decided to change maid and maid agency!! I had to fork out $1000 more for the new maid!! This new agency at least let me interview and accept PD cheques. I hope this new Indo maid will not fail me!!
Why do you have to fork out $1000?
If it is for agent fee and insurance, it is quite alot of money! -
There are calls for a petition to MOM in Tamarind’s blog.
Go under Maids, Sariah (Indonesia) and read the comments.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.