All About Dental
DD went into P1 this year. Back in Nov, we already noticed one incisor was breaking through the gum, and she sometimes feel pain so will cry
The interesting bit is...thus far happen twice already, just 1-2 weeks before the kids' Sch dental service appointment, one tooth will be super wobbly - new one will be peeking out....super sianz....$60 down the drain liao ($30 each time). If only tooth can wait.
This on/off pain continued till Dec, when the tooth came out abt 1-2 mm already. I asked a dentist friend who told me can wait one, best wait till drop on its own, although can extract if really want to...
So we waited, then 2nd week of school, i called up the school dental clinic to tell the nurse the problem. She then ask me to bring DD down and she got the (by then quite loose) milk tooth out in less than 5 min...
So it's actually possible to call up school dental clinic to make ad hoc appointment if necessary... save the $$ -
atrecord:
I asked a dentist friend who told me can wait one, best wait till drop on its own, although can extract if really want to...
How come the dentist ($30 one) told us better to extract??? :xatrecord:
Wow, thanks! I'll keep that in mind.So it's actually possible to call up school dental clinic to make ad hoc appointment if necessary... save the $$
Does he always talk when working? My dentist would talk through the whole treatment/cleaning whenever i go. I assume that's her way of making patients feel at ease. dun want patients to think that it's such a serious (makes you worry) situation...hquek:
Twice in a row! I wish I were that lucky with toto/4D.
oh no...staying around Geylang area. He's good. Though I had a funny (scary?) experience. During cleaning once, he was busily chatting with the nurse on upcoming holiday (airtickets and all). I didn't dare open my eyes cos I don't want to know if his eyes were on the nurse or me....no damage done in my mouth - just my nerves only.
On a separate note, think he must be pretty experienced to multi-task
atrecord:
Not really. He wasn't talking to me leh, it was to his assistant. Another time, he was singing some Teresa Teng's song when cleaning my friend's teeth...she was a bit mystified by the experience. :?
Does he always talk when working? My dentist would talk through the whole treatment/cleaning whenever i go. I assume that's her way of making patients feel at ease. dun want patients to think that it's such a serious (makes you worry) situation...
I had a wisdom tooth extracted by him. It was just 1,2,3,4,5, OUT...done. -
sorri, kapoing here, but I just had to :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Not really. He wasn't talking to me leh, it was to his assistant. Another time, he was singing some Teresa Teng's song when cleaning my friend's teeth...she was a bit mystified by the experience. :?
I had a wisdom tooth extracted by him. It was just 1,2,3,4,5, OUT...done.
hquek, really advisable to go to him for braces or not ... skali some mess-up happen how
It was a case of us being so worried, cos DD new tooth was growing behind (not beneath, in which case the old one sure gets displaced out and will drop) the milk tooth, and it was slanted c.f. to the whole set of milk teeth. so we kept asking my friend is it necessary to extract. She just said if really can't tahan then only help us extract, else better wait.
How come the dentist ($30 one) told us better to extract??? :x
Then when i first called up school dental clinic (on a Mon), the nurse also tried to persuade us to wait till tooth loose/drop, saying no big deal, normal, etc. She did say that if old teeth not loose, it's quite traumatic to extract as it involves local anaesthesia (means injection), and kid may develop phobia for dentist..
prob is DD gum near the tooth was swollen on Sat night, so told her we're concerned, etc. Then she said go down. But when she examined, said actually v loose already so just applied some cream that makes her gum numb, took plier (yes, dental plier), then out it came... give DD a piece of the cloth to soak up blood, changed one more, tell her bite for 1 hr. that's all, less than 5 mins' action. -
My wisdom tooth came out thanks to him and this time (it was my 2nd one to come out), I didn't have pig head. First wisdom tooth extraction, my face balloon until I scared.
hquek, really advisable to go to him for braces or not ... skali some mess-up happen how
Can trust lah....even if he's the singing dentist. Um, when (that's IF) you go, please don't 'dian ge'. I don't think he sings that often.
I rather go to him than a certain upclass dental clinic that has massage chairs for whitening treatment (at least when I was there many years back). They had a coffee machine....I was wondering what is that doing in a DENTAL clinic??? more biz for whitening after the kopi? -
atrecord:
Same case(s) leh. His new tooth was growing behind his old one. And his old tooth was wobblier by the day. Both times same thing happen leh. Anyway, next time, I shall try best to make appointment at SDC.
It was a case of us being so worried, cos DD new tooth was growing behind (not beneath, in which case the old one sure gets displaced out and will drop) the milk tooth, and it was slanted c.f. to the whole set of milk teeth. so we kept asking my friend is it necessary to extract. She just said if really can't tahan then only help us extract, else better wait. -
Same logic: my dentist could be chatting with her assistant on casual topics - things that will lighten the atmosphere.Not really. He wasn't talking to me leh, it was to his assistant. Another time, he was singing some Teresa Teng's song when cleaning my friend's teeth...she was a bit mystified by the experience. :?
or maybe he was just entertaining himself. my friend said that sometimes job quite siong/stress, citing cases of patients with so bad tooth decay that when treating patient, the smell is ... will faint one. Then got those uncooperative ones... I guess they might need to come up with their own ways to destress/self-entertain since they see patients the whole day. -
oh, could it be due to sleep? i remember the rule told me me when i was young was that if got extraction, sleep with the head raised (and not flat on bed), to prevent water accumulating = swelling.
My wisdom tooth came out thanks to him and this time (it was my 2nd one to come out), I didn't have pig head. First wisdom tooth extraction, my face balloon until I scared.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.