shine_fs:
carebear:
I will tell my maids starting from the day that i hire them that they are to dress modestly, ie no sleeveless tops, shorts must not be too short and no figure hugging clothes. So far no problem, cos maybe i also dress conservatively. Also they are not to talk to sir. If they need anything, they must ask me first.
I wonder if you are not ard, how can they don't talk to sir, if they have questions?
:?
Simple mundane things like want to eat now, if dunno how to change gas tank, can ask sir.
But cannot ask sir about non urgent things. That can wait for me to come home then ask.
My maid actually said it is ok for her to sleep with door open, but i am more comfortable that she closes and locks it when she sleeps, so that she would feel safer that way. And also less misunderstanding.
Anyway i can see if her light is on or off. -
shine_fs:
Thank you for the advise shine_fs
I will not let the maid closed the door or even let my kids sleep in the same room. Is so dangerous cos you will never know what she will do to our kids....I heard many stories like, the maid playing the boy's \"bird\" etcs....leh....scary!
I have heard of stories like this too ... My eyes are wide open
But I did mention that she came from a good family backgrd somehere here before ...
I accord this 'privilege' to my helper because she has proven herself lah ... and she has continued to prove herself even aft some of these privileges were given. There are maids who can be at least 95% trustworthy ya know, just maybe 1 out of 20 lor ... I don't want to start justifying cuz I have already discussed about her in earlier posts
We also have valid reasons for DS sleeping in the same room as her, not with her (don't know if I said that earlier). We put him to sleep, not her, and he wakes up most mornings with me lying beside him. With regards to doing things behind close doors, must set the tone/rules lah. Also do spot check.
So far the 5% is due to her chatting with other maids, but thats human nature. She hasn't turned turtle in the past almost 2 yrs ... Actually if you want to know, there isn't anything I can complain abt. Yes, she goes thru bouts of blurness and preoccupation and moodiness, I chalk it up to PMS and homesickness and try to sort it out ...
But to each his own lah ... I've always maintained here, in this thread, that some of our (as in DH and I) methods in handling our helper are unorthodox, but the point is that it has worked for us so far ...
Advice I really do appreciate, but I also have to adapt and adjust to suit the circumstances ...
So I suppose you won't allow this with regards to your maid lah
Can I know how many of you here leaves your children with the maid while you are at work? Which means in the day only your maid and children are at home, no in-laws or parents in the house.
There is really no way I can leave them alone with maid if the kids are really young, say infant to 3 or 4yrs olds. And when we are just into the year of tiger, my maid gave us the biggest scare, physical assault by another maid and ended up in the police station. I worry for my family’s safety as you may not know how ugly things can turn out with these foreign workers doing anything just to take revenge… it’s a long story. Think I am being too soft hearted and give too many chances.
peapot:
Can I know how many of you here leaves your children with the maid while you are at work? Which means in the day only your maid and children are at home, no in-laws or parents in the house.
With my ex-maid, I would only leave DS1 (and when he was about 4 y/o) for 30min - happened about once or twice only.
With current maid, never. In fact, my parents will ask MIL over (stay nearby) to jaga if they need to be out of the house and me/DH still at work.
All boils down to how old my kids are - actually I quite pang sim now that DS2 is 3. But our preference is really not to leave maid alone with kids. -
I wasn’t given any choice and had to leave mine with the maid since she was 1 and the half.
peapot:
I wasn't given any choice and had to leave mine with the maid since she was 1 and the half.
Me too, both my kids were left in the care of the maid since they were born.
That's why my 1st maid was 38 years old when she came. I chose a matured one and her task was the baby first.
I worked minimally at night for the 1st 6 months so that my hubby would be back when i left the house.
Later when i trusted the maid i worked in the morning, the baby was asleep most of the mornings,, by the time he woke up, i would be back.
When my 2nd one came, i put my elder one in day care, so that again, my maid would have only one infant to take care of.
Those were the nerve wrecking years, and that's why i stopped at 2 although i would liked to have more. -
Wah! Hi-5 Carebear!! I also face the same situation but bravo you still went ahead to have 2!!
This morning before I go to work, I discover my maid soaked her underwear with my child’s clothes!! That’s not the startling part, her underwear was still attached to the shorts!! Which means she remove her entire shorts and underwear at the same time and dump into the clothes just like that!! If you had washed your underwear and then you soak it with my child’s clothes, I still don’t mind but if the underwear is still attached with the shorts it means the underwear is soiled!!! Argh…I have told her before she must wash her clothes separately.
peapot:
This morning before I go to work, I discover my maid soaked her underwear with my child's clothes!! That's not the startling part, her underwear was still attached to the shorts!! Which means she remove her entire shorts and underwear at the same time and dump into the clothes just like that!! If you had washed your underwear and then you soak it with my child's clothes, I still don't mind but if the underwear is still attached with the shorts it means the underwear is soiled!!! Argh......I have told her before she must wash her clothes separately.
Gross....with adult clothes already quite cmi (cannot make it). I cannot imagine with kids' clothes. Tell her firmly this cannot be lah. Buy her a pail to soak her OWN clothes....wah lao eh....I would have flipped.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.