2014 P1 Registration Exercise for 2015 In-Take

3.7k Posts 113 Posters 664.6k Views 1 Watching

This year, we see St Nicholas ballot at 2A2

Only 14 left

Next year, perhaps see St Nicholas ballot at 2A1, bypass 2A2
      If happen : St Nicholas will create history -
      First school to ballot at 2A1, from the CHIJ family.

So, is single sex school powerful, to cause balloting ?
      Yes, indeed powerful !

wondering ...
      out of 84 girls who enrolled yesterday, how many actually come from Secondary school, but never studied in St Nick primary before ?

suppose next Week, you're one of the 2A2 > 2 km.
      You studied in St Nick primary for 6 years before, but failed to get in.
      But others who studied in the Secondary only but never in the primary, got in.
      Won't you :stupid:

seathtan

hi all,

Would like to solicit opnions from all:

In view of the tight vacancies situation at MGS, will it be wise to move our focus to Geylang Methodist for P2B? The problem is it’s a good 10-12km away from where we live, I wonder if it’s a pragmatic choice, considering it would be a day-to-day travel for the kid?

I would like to hear from those experienced parents staying relatively far from the school and their experiences. Thank you.

ST

Rata

bagabunny:
          haha rata..you sucking leisurely ah?

im nervously biting all my fingers liao...

anyway, think there's an increase in the Fairfield alumni enrolment cos come this August, there's an increase of the fees from $150 to $500..so probably some got wind of it much earlier and signed up last year.
          bagabunny, you ve 20 seats there for u no matter wat. did the sch declare how many pv this yr? of coz still ve GL, church members unknown.

For me is totally unknown for the no ex student this yr and the teachers kid

bagabunny

eh don't take it to heart leh, jus joking la...to lighten the tension..

i definitely have to ballot, or probably don't even stand a chance to lor...
            PVs not sure how many cos i've only seen a few that did work with me on a few occasions.

Rata:
            bagabunny, you ve 20 seats there for u no matter wat. did the sch declare how many pv this yr? of coz still ve GL, church members unknown.

For me is totally unknown for the no ex student this yr and the teachers kid

bagabunny:

anyway, think there's an increase in the Fairfield alumni enrolment cos come this August, there's an increase of the fees from $150 to $500..so probably some got wind of it much earlier and signed up last year.
              think besides Fairfield, other schools may start to raise alumni fees too, after this year enrolment.

Rata

bagabunny:
                eh don't take it to heart leh, jus joking la...to lighten the tension..

i definitely have to ballot, or probably don't even stand a chance to lor...
                PVs not sure how many cos i've only seen a few that did work with me on a few occasions.
                Bagabunny angry for wat? Think u can ask Sch how many pv this yr.

• yuuriY Offline
                  yuuri

Noticed some of you were confused by the % vs vacancies available.

To put it simply, the % refers to percentage of spaces taken up.
                  Eg, if the school has 100 vacancies…80% means 80 spaces are taken up and only 20 spaces left.

Hence the higher the %, the less vacancies available.

seathtan:
                    hi all,

Would like to solicit opnions from all:

In view of the tight vacancies situation at MGS, will it be wise to move our focus to Geylang Methodist for P2B? The problem is it's a good 10-12km away from where we live, I wonder if it's a pragmatic choice, considering it would be a day-to-day travel for the kid?

I would like to hear from those experienced parents staying relatively far from the school and their experiences. Thank you.

ST
                    10 km away is no joke, especially when the child needs to go for CCA from pri 3 onwards.

weyw

yuuri:
                      Noticed some of you were confused by the % vs vacancies available.

To put it simply, the % refers to percentage of spaces taken up.
                      Eg, if the school has 100 vacancies...80% means 80 spaces are taken up and only 20 spaces left.

Hence the higher the %, the less vacancies available.
                      hi yuuri,

of course the higher percentage the less vacancies, but we are refering the webpage some referred for the percentage.

http://edumatters.sg/primary-1-registration-phase-2a1/

if you notice on that site, ... why St Nick left with 54 vacancies had only 25%...

if based on the higher % = lesser vacancies theory then it is definately wrong for St Nicks...

unless the site is referring the % as the vacancies left
                      so 54 vacancies = 25.7%

• O Offline
                        OCK

Can someone advise the different between 2A1 and 2A2?

2A1 definition : (a) For a child whose parent is a former student of the primary school and who has joined the alumni association as a member not later than 30 June 2013

2A2 : (a) For a child whose parent or sibling has studied in the primary school of choice

Both mentioned parent are ex student of the school.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 145 / 368

beemumB
                        beemum
                        shijieS
                        shijie
                        kaifrezK
                        kaifrez