Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
    • raynregR Offline
      raynreg

Dear All

Need some advise regarding day off for helpers. How do you managed their day off? Eg:
      1) Do you state the time they leave the house and the time to come back?
      2) Do you expect them to finish their daily chores before going for their off day?
      3) Do you check their belongings prior to and after coming back from their off? (ie. to avoid any misunderstanding)
      4) Is there a need to sign on some form that day off is taken and accordingly their salary will be lesser?

Any other suggestions that you may share is appreciated.

Cheers

hquek

brings to mind something a friend went through. Her maid also casually added her undies to the family load in the washing machine…my friend happened to inspect before the machine was started…and it was stained with her monthly flow… :!: :!: :!:

cmm

brings to mind something a friend went through. Her maid also casually added her undies to the family load in the washing machine..my friend happened to inspect before the machine was started..and it was stained with her monthly flow.... :!: :!: :!:

YUCKS!!! :sick: :siao: :faint:

Andaiz

Aiyoh, what happened to hygiene.

I tell my maid that she's to wash her clothes SEPARATELY from mine. Can't use the washing machine and she's doing it so far.

But agree with hquek and the rest, gotta SPOT CHECK every now and then! Or else can get complacent and take the short cut :roll:

Andaiz

Hi raynreg,

This is just something I practice...works for me, so you'd probably need to tweak it for yourself!:

(1) Yes, you NEED to state the time they are expected back. I've had maids tell me they thought the time was the time they had to leave the place.

(2) It depends on what chores are non-negotiable any given day. For mine, she needs to ensure that her ironing (she'd do on Saturday) and day-time washing (early Sunday morning) is done prior to leaving the house.

(3) I don't check belongings but I'd state clearly what is expected - e.g., cannot take anything from home outside. I consider it stealing.
              Anything that she buys on her day-off is from her account. Non-negotiatbles are mobile phones and SIM cards.

Also, this is a trust issue. If they don't behave well after their day-offs (I've had cases of such), then I'd check belongings and restrict number of hours she's out. 😉

(4) If your contract has this clearly stated (as the standard contracts do), let her know that she'd be having $XX less per contract. I've never asked to sign off on any other form. Just note on the monthly pay chit when the day is and she countersigns.

hquek

So far, my maid’s washing schedule is separate from the family - not enough drying space so cannot wash all at one go.

• raynregR Offline
                  raynreg

Dear Andaiz

I’m using a phili helper and she has requested for a sunday off. How many hours is considered reasonable. I do not want to short change her day off and neither do i want to extend beyond what is reasonable. Is 8 hours reasonable?

Andaiz

raynreg:
                    Dear Andaiz

I'm using a phili helper and she has requested for a sunday off. How many hours is considered reasonable. I do not want to short change her day off and neither do i want to extend beyond what is reasonable. Is 8 hours reasonable?
                    Whether she gets her sunday off is something that you have to agree upon.

I think 8 hours is about right. 9 to 5? Then she comes back in time for dinner - no need to spend extra money.

m00m00c0w

I need some advice on hiring ex-SIN maid

We are going to be first time employer and have heard a lot of horror stories regarding ex-SG maid, so we are pretty apperhensive about employing one.

Anyway, we came accross a bio-data of an Indo maid who is currently working in Singapore. From her track record, she seems pretty employable - she completed 2-year contract with a family in SG and another 4-year contract with another family in SG (this family lives in a 2-storey bungalow house).

We are wondering if we should try her out ? I am trying to arrange for an interview, but would like to have some advice/views on this. Particulary if there is anything i should watch out for ? Thanks

cmm

This is what I do for mine...

1) Do you state the time they leave the house and the time to come back?

She may leave the house after she's finished her chores for the morning, which are sweep & mop, feed baby breakfast, get baby's porridge cooking (she doesn't need to wait till it's finished cooking as I will take over). This is usually about 10am.

I tell her that she needs to be back by 7pm. We are usually not at home, so she needs to meet us whenever we are. Of course we will be nice and not get her to meet us at some ulu, no transport type of place. I'm very strict as to the time she needs to re-appear. This is discipline.

2) Do you expect them to finish their daily chores before going for their off day?

Answered above.

3) Do you check their belongings prior to and after coming back from their off? (ie. to avoid any misunderstanding)

I don't do this. So far my maid has shown herself to be trustworthy, unless she proves me wrong along the way.

4) Is there a need to sign on some form that day off is taken and accordingly their salary will be lesser?

My maid signs for her salary every month and it's indicated on the salary payment record if off day has been taken for that month and the salary payable is also indicated accordingly. I also jot down the dates she goes on her off.

NOTE:
                        1. Never give your maid a set of house keys so she can go home by herself.
                        2. Stress to your maid the importance of road safety.
                        3. My maid told me that some maids in her group (friends of her cousin whom she goes out with) drink and get very drunk. I tell her that this is not acceptable for me.
                        4. I tell my maid not to pick up back habits or attitudes from other maids she may interact with. Once this happens, I will send her balik kampung. Don't even think I will transfer her to other employer cos no employer likes maid with bad attitudes/habits.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 161 / 1032