2010 P1 Registration Exercise for 2011 In-Take

1.9k Posts 193 Posters 724.3k Views 1 Watching
      alexander

Does anyone knows if I own a HDB flat and rent another private property near the primary school of my choice within 1 km, can I apply for the primary chool with the rental address? And do I need to rent out my HDB house too?

alexander:
        Does anyone knows if I own a HDB flat and rent another private property near the primary school of my choice within 1 km, can I apply for the primary chool with the rental address? And do I need to rent out my HDB house too?

Welcome to KiasuParents.com, alexander. You are neither the first nor the last to ask this question. Please refer to this thread for our answers:
        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=699

happyprecious

Advise please. I am an old St nicks girl, while my hubby is ex ACS + methodist member. We are undecided on my old school as it is too far from where we are staying, but it warms my heart to know my girl shares my old school. Our other option is MGS since we are staying along bukit timah (just outside 2km though) + my children are methodist. However based on past 3yrs' phase 2b balloting history, our chances of getting a place in MGS toggle around 50%. Another concern: the cut-off affiliation for both schools have risen substantially over the years and is currenting hovering at 230 minimum. With such a cut-off, there may be a possibility that my girl may not get into the affiliated secondary school and I don't even dare to imagine how it will affect her confidence level. We are therefore also considering Fairfield, which seems positive based on past 3yrs phase 2b balloting history + the affiliation remains strong :lol: . However, I felt that I am short-changing my girl should we opt for Fairfield. Another side concern; my boy is due for Pri1 in 2 year's time, and daddy, being an old boy, is opposing ACS as he felt that the cohort, culture and values has changed over the generation to be somewhat undesirable (even granddad, ex-ACS supports his notion 😢 ). But it’s still a battle on whether ACS is out or not for my boy, and I am not giving up.

St nicks: high chance of getting a place, top school + MY SCHOOL 😎 but quite a distance from our place.
          MGS: top school, but only 50% chance of securing a place in phase2b.
          Fairfield: unfamiliar with the school standard and culture, but relatively closer to where we are staying as compared to St nicks, high chance of getting a place + quite sweet that both my kidos are attending the same school.

HELP!!!!!!!!! 🙏

LOLMum

happyprecious:
            Advise please. I am an old St nicks girl, while my hubby is ex ACS + methodist member.

Another side concern; my boy is due for Pri1 in 2 year's time, and daddy, being an old boy, is opposing ACS as he felt that the cohort, culture and values has changed over the generation to be somewhat undesirable (even granddad, ex-ACS supports his notion 😢 ). But it’s still a battle on whether ACS is out or not for my boy, and I am not giving up.

HELP!!!!!!!!! 🙏
            i would get a place in st nic first and keep an eye on the no. of kids registering for phase 2b (MGS) and calculate my chances.

funny though my friend's hubby is also ex ACS and like your hubby, is against sending his sons to ACS too. 😄

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

happyprecious:
              ..... Another side concern; my boy is due for Pri1 in 2 year's time, and daddy, being an old boy, is opposing ACS as he felt that the cohort, culture and values has changed over the generation to be somewhat undesirable (even granddad, ex-ACS supports his notion 😢 ). But it’s still a battle on whether ACS is out or not for my boy, and I am not giving up. ...

do recognize the fact that both of you want the best for your DS. And do be careful not to let the choice of school be a torn in your relationship.

😄

happyprecious

lol…thanks for your advice on the relationship bit. What are your views on Fairfield though, as I am not too optimistic of us getting our girl into MGS without balloting. The thought of it is already nerve-wreaking that we may just drop it! Just cannot bear the thought of us losing it all should lady-luck failed us.

titank

happyprecious:
                  Advise please. I am an old St nicks girl, while my hubby is ex ACS + methodist member. We are undecided on my old school as it is too far from where we are staying, but it warms my heart to know my girl shares my old school. Our other option is MGS since we are staying along bukit timah (just outside 2km though) + my children are methodist. However based on past 3yrs' phase 2b balloting history, our chances of getting a place in MGS toggle around 50%. Another concern: the cut-off affiliation for both schools have risen substantially over the years and is currenting hovering at 230 minimum. With such a cut-off, there may be a possibility that my girl may not get into the affiliated secondary school and I don't even dare to imagine how it will affect her confidence level. We are therefore also considering Fairfield, which seems positive based on past 3yrs phase 2b balloting history + the affiliation remains strong :lol: . However, I felt that I am short-changing my girl should we opt for Fairfield. Another side concern; my boy is due for Pri1 in 2 year's time, and daddy, being an old boy, is opposing ACS as he felt that the cohort, culture and values has changed over the generation to be somewhat undesirable (even granddad, ex-ACS supports his notion 😢 ). But it’s still a battle on whether ACS is out or not for my boy, and I am not giving up.

St nicks: high chance of getting a place, top school + MY SCHOOL 😎 but quite a distance from our place.
                  MGS: top school, but only 50% chance of securing a place in phase2b.
                  Fairfield: unfamiliar with the school standard and culture, but relatively closer to where we are staying as compared to St nicks, high chance of getting a place + quite sweet that both my kidos are attending the same school.

HELP!!!!!!!!! 🙏
                  Looking at it Fairfield is the best option where it is an co-ed & you do not have to headache next time when No.2 is going for P1 registration. On an another hand, distance is still crucial as the child would be in the school for the next 6 years. You do not want the child to spent almost 1 hour on the bus journey to school?

sc88

Take my advise. Think twice when choosing which Primary School. As my DD is now in primary one, she took up courses in the weekends . The class started at 3pm and ends at 4.30pm. Just one and a half hour. So hot even. Lucky I got my girl in a nearby school, imagine if the distance is far, how tired your child and we as a parents . right?

Furthermore, in the coming years all schools will be converted into single sessions by 2016. Some schools already in single sessions . As to when your selected schools in which years it will be converted to single sessions then, it can be in any year by 2016 which means in between
                    2011 - 2016. Especially those who have sisters or brothers, how ??? Applied another school again and to go through those process or even BALLOT AGAIN ... 😢 :?:

All CCA or even schools tuitions will be on the weekdays only. Mostly No school bus to take your childs back home because of different time for different CCAs , die lah. :faint: :roll:

Really really must think twice if not .....later we parents will feels :clubmyself:

Just my own personal view.

happyprecious

Thank you for all the GREAT advice! Guess St Nicks’ out based on distance. And would you choose Fairfield or MGS given the following situation. Also, can someone verified if it’s true that a high number of MGS girls are unfortunately spoiled? My kids are now in international schools, and although it has been tough, I have been consistently teaching my children the value of being grateful for the things we have. And I think all parents would agree with me that values inculcation gets tougher for parents as children get older and become more easily influence by their peers.

1. I have a boy and girl
                      2. Daddy is ACS boy
                      3. I stay along the stretch from MGS just outside 2km
                      4. Our chance of securing a place in Fairfield(co-edu) is almost 100%
                      5. Our chance for MGS is definitely balloting phase 2B

Thank you once again to all experience parents helping clueless mummy like myself…

arielle08

marudine:
                        KSP:

I'm just curious to find out if one can register in 2A at school A and later register in 2B/2C at school B. However, school B is so popular that it requires balloting in 2B/2C. So can the parents still go for the balloating in 2B/2C without having to withdraw from school A first becasue they do not know for sure whether they are sucessfully in the balloting yet. Can the parents withdraw the place they got from 2A after they got a place in 2B/2C?

In any phase of the exercise, you can only have ONE school per child's name on the registration system. It will be very unfair for the rest if you hold on to school A while trying to register in school B in subsequent phases.

Happen to read the above.
                        Am I right to say that after I have got a place in 2A.
                        In the event that i change my mind and would like another school, I have to de-register my allocated place in 2A, and then reapply in 2C?
                        Is this instantanously performed?
                        My worry is, scully i reject my place in 2A, the system refuse to let me register in 2C and i will be left with nothing.
                        Anyone try this before??

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 187