Advise / recommend : Ceiling leak water - likely from Toilet
I am not sure if the rules have changed, but when i had this problem years ago in my HDB, i remembered I went to meet the MP session (actually no need see him, explain to the volunteers outside and they automatically type the standard letter to HDB and get MP sign), and from there, MP sent letter to HDB.
Shortly after that, HDB sent officer to contact me and my neighbour, and told my unwilling neighbour upstairs that they must get it fixed (i.e. hack and rewaterproof). Of the full fee required, HDB subsidised half of it. Of the balance half, my upstairs neighbour and I had to pay 50/50 share. I seem to remember it was like $800 in total due to contractor, so HDB paid $400, and my neighbour and I paid $200 each. -
atrecord:
wah dint know got such thing....lol next time must go see mp also liao...I am not sure if the rules have changed, but when i had this problem years ago in my HDB, i remembered I went to meet the MP session (actually no need see him, explain to the volunteers outside and they automatically type the standard letter to HDB and get MP sign), and from there, MP sent letter to HDB.
Shortly after that, HDB sent officer to contact me and my neighbour, and told my unwilling neighbour upstairs that they must get it fixed (i.e. hack and rewaterproof). Of the full fee required, HDB subsidised half of it. Of the balance half, my upstairs neighbour and I had to pay 50/50 share. I seem to remember it was like $800 in total due to contractor, so HDB paid $400, and my neighbour and I paid $200 each. -
atrecord:
About 3 years ago, same thing happened to us. However, didn't need to see MP or negotiate with neighbors, after the hdb officer made two trips to my unit and unit upstairs, she presented a letter that MP agreed / recommended ( or something like that - cant remember exact words ) to hdb subsidising 50% of costs. I was so worried that it would trigger some unhappiness with them, that I was hesitant to speak to my neighbours about it till things were settled by hdb officer. Turned out, my neighbours were very happy cos they got almost new bathrooms at a fraction of actual costs! They even paid extra to hdb contractor to change to new fixtures etc.I am not sure if the rules have changed, but when i had this problem years ago in my HDB, i remembered I went to meet the MP session (actually no need see him, explain to the volunteers outside and they automatically type the standard letter to HDB and get MP sign), and from there, MP sent letter to HDB.
I believe for hdb units - the costs is to be shared 50/50 with the neighbor upstairs / downstairs.
For condo, I understand it is to be settled between relevant neighbors. My relative’s neighbor upstairs settled the full costs of repairing / renovating their bathroom fortunately. I think it would have been a hassle if have to negotiate cost sharing and amount cos the price of renovating the bathroom can vary very much depending on materials / contractor used. My relative settled the cost of replacing the damaged false ceiling. -
Hi Osim: I have a similar problem to yours. Leaking from upstairs bathrooms into own kitchen. I have been scratching my head where to start. It looks like my solution will be similar too. Looks like your contractor also has the right lobang to solve the problem. Could you please pm me the either name of the contractor, or the water-proofing people (to detect the leak location rather than blindly dig up the floor).
Thks -
Hi all,
Recently I had the same issue on my masterbed room toilet. HDB was contacted and suggest me to get upstairs neighboour to repair and share the cost. I agreed and paid up. Then leak still happens. Inform HDB and he informed me that the common toilet from upstairs neighbour to be repaired as well. Guess what? the leak still continues after the second toilet repaired on my neighbour. This time I dont want to pay untill the problem is resolved.
HDB officer advice me, to set a few dates for me and neighbour to carry out a waterproofing test for about 4 hours. Now my question is, why need to carry out waterproofing test since the leakage is still there. He also indicate that it could be my pvc piping problem and if it is, it will be another cost for me to get it repaired and I have to source out my contractor. I think HDB are not capable in detecting the problem and just work blindly and tends to find a way to say it is not their problem now.
I am so fed up with the way how things are being handled.
Can anyone advice me what to do?
How much if I have to change the pvc piping if it is indeed the piping issue?
Thanks. -
Montelolz:
It may be more troublesome but best to do the tests... Waterproofing have a lot of methods, if you op for the easy way out you can tahan at most 2-3 years then you'll lena again. Need to tackle at the source of water.Hi all,
Recently I had the same issue on my masterbed room toilet. HDB was contacted and suggest me to get upstairs neighboour to repair and share the cost. I agreed and paid up. Then leak still happens. Inform HDB and he informed me that the common toilet from upstairs neighbour to be repaired as well. Guess what? the leak still continues after the second toilet repaired on my neighbour. This time I dont want to pay untill the problem is resolved.
HDB officer advice me, to set a few dates for me and neighbour to carry out a waterproofing test for about 4 hours. Now my question is, why need to carry out waterproofing test since the leakage is still there. He also indicate that it could be my pvc piping problem and if it is, it will be another cost for me to get it repaired and I have to source out my contractor. I think HDB are not capable in detecting the problem and just work blindly and tends to find a way to say it is not their problem now.
I am so fed up with the way how things are being handled.
Can anyone advice me what to do?
How much if I have to change the pvc piping if it is indeed the piping issue?
Thanks. -
Ceiling leak could be from wear and tear.
My common toilet leaked…downstairs got hdb to come and see.
He suggested hacking, waterproof and re-tile. Honestly I don’t know if that is a solution, but if do not cooperate, problems will arise.
So, ok…we agreed to it. It’s been 3 weeks. Silence from downstairs means all is fine, I suppose. -
It’s giving me a major headache. I’m not sure to go straight to HDB town cousil or should I find someone outside which might cost a bomb. I found some water marks in my kitchen ceiling and I understand that HDB have a certain number of years warrenty only.
Brawnryan:
It’s giving me a major headache. I’m not sure to go straight to HDB town cousil or should I find someone outside which might cost a bomb. I found some water marks in my kitchen ceiling and I understand that HDB have a certain number of years warrenty only.
How is the condition now?
Pls update so we know what to do when it happened to us
But what I know, better to report to HDB
Fm what I know anything inside the home is HDB, outside belong to town council
DO update what action need to be done?
Hope to hear fm you soon
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.