Travel: China - Shanghai
DNLS-MUM:
Beautiful shots of SH…tks!
I’m sending u a PM! -
jetsetter:
Thanks! Unfortunately can't help on your PM. Not familiar with that. :imsorry:DNLS-MUM:
Beautiful shots of SH...tks!
I'm sending u a PM! -
Dnls_mum:
Thanks! Unfortunately can't help on your PM. Not familiar with that. :imsorry:jetsetter:
DNLS-MUM:
I'm sending u a PM!
No worries, I've gotten my advice from elsewhere. Thank you Dnls_mum.
Cheers! -
jetsetter:
* LIKE * +1.. :love:DNLS-MUM:
很有老上海怀旧韵味。。黑白色调很棒! -
seaglass:
:thankyou:
* LIKE * +1.. :love:jetsetter:
DNLS-MUM:
很有老上海怀旧韵味。。黑白色调很棒! -
Alamak. Last time I went to Shanghai, we were standing on the side of the Bund looking across the river at Jin Mao Tower where Grand Hyatt is. The clouds were, gasp, yellow!!
I used to go there a lot when I was working, so this is a great nostalgia trip for me, haha. Some random things I remember:
1. Silk Mart (I think this is the name of the place) - can tailor make 旗袍 for you at around $60 inclusive, or anything you wish for hubby and son. They even come to the hotel for fitting. 2 days is all it takes. My tailor was called 胖子, recommended by a friend. Make sure you ask for silk lining and bargain like mad. Shanghai tailoring is amazing like no other place in the world - definitely better than what's available in Beijing.
2. If you can, arrange for a day tour to 周庄,a very picturesque town by the river that is heavily featured in 吴冠中 paintings. Very beautiful! The whole place looks like a black and white painting.
3. 孙中山 museum. This was his home. Very interesting from a historical perspective.
4. 新天地- refurbished area with lots of restaurants. There's one called 新_士 (forgot the middle word). Very good hotpot cum Shanghainese food.
5. M on the Bund Restaurant. This is in the historic Nissin Shipping Building. Although it's not on a high floor, the view of the Bund is stunning. Food is western, and I DON'T recommend cos it's only so so. Would you believe, this place is highly rated, but really, not worth it at all. Instead, have dessert there or coffee on the patio to enjoy the view.
6. Of course, walk on the Bund. Very pleasant and always windy.
7. There's Meilongzhen - it's a restaurant located in the old Communist Party HQ. Atmosphere is unique but food is so so.
I'll write some more if more things surface in my brain. Enjoy!!
周庄 the no . 1 watertown in china. :celebrate: old buildings , rivers , stone briges , boats make a good view :goodpost: -
[quote=\"floppy\"][quote=\"jetsetter\"]
If you want a more hip n arty location, try Xintiandi inns 新天地...
How can you miss out http://www.tianzifang.cn\">田子坊 ? :yikes:
Even if you are not the artsy type, you can easily waste... I mean spend, half a day here.
田子坊 nice ah??? JS not as artsy as floppy:( I only went to 泰康路 to look at tea sets:)
I prefered to take old 1930s map or old family photos to map old buildings to new ones...and hop around famous pp's mansions to check out vintage furniture:) keke...[/quote]
I like 田子坊 too. Not need to be artsy to like it lah. Nice place to browse and they have some nice local designer boutiques and quaint stuff. After that can go to the shopping mall next door for 小杨生煎, a type of pan fried xiao long bao. Always crowded with locals. Very cheap and is a nice snack or light lunch option.
Going round the old streets in Shanghai is nice. We managed to get nice photos of the old streets recently.
http://i62.tinypic.com/wa6nvq.jpg\">
http://i62.tinypic.com/2rps60g.jpg\">
http://i59.tinypic.com/sfvt3t.jpg\">[/quote]
:goodpost: -
sodawoo:
周庄 is very nice but also super crowded..
周庄 the no . 1 watertown in china. :celebrate: old buildings , rivers , stone briges , boats make a good view :goodpost:
I would recommend to stay inside the \"watertown\" for two weekday nights in order to see all the heritage sites and gardens at a leisurely pace. The best time to enjoy the atmosphere of the ancient town is walking around in the early morning and also in the evening, when it becomes quiet.
Eg. 正福草堂 is a nice place to stay. -
seaglass:
there are alternatives - tongli and zhujiajiao
周庄 is very nice but also super crowded..sodawoo:
周庄 the no . 1 watertown in china. :celebrate: old buildings , rivers , stone briges , boats make a good view :goodpost:
I would recommend to stay inside the \"watertown\" for two weekday nights in order to see all the heritage sites and gardens at a leisurely pace. The best time to enjoy the atmosphere of the ancient town is walking around in the early morning and also in the evening, when it becomes quiet.
Eg. 正福草堂 is a nice place to stay. -
pirated:
there are alternatives - tongli and zhujiajiao[/quote]I like wuzhen. Overnight stay recommended at the west side.
周庄 is very nice but also super crowded..seaglass:
[quote=\"sodawoo\"]
Eg. 正福草堂 is a nice place to stay.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.