Cedar Girls Secondary School
chl72:
did she say why she like Cedar so much (since P2) ?
Yup! Haha... So happened that I brought her to the library one day, the cedar girls were doing their cip n teached the kids to make some paper bag puppets.. She enjoyed the session very much n from then on set her mind on cedar cos she say the jiejies are very fun n nice... haha... lame right? :rotflmao:
Haha, this is so cute, no lame at all :love: Cedar is a great school, the IP progamme will integrate to VJC which is a good JC.
My dd went for cedar IP dsa this year, the stages were
Round 1:
GAT test for 1.5 hours (around 100 questions with Section A & B. Section A contained non verbal questions and Section B accordingly to my dd is more on reasoning and some are like maths questions). My guess is that, selection to Round 2 is based on GAT results
Round 2:
Panel interview (3 interviewees to one student)
and a written essay.
I guess for the final CO outcome, they may based on overall school results, GAT, CCA, interview, written essay etc
Hope this helps. -
Song22:
chl72:
[quote=\"phtthp\"]did she say why she like Cedar so much (since P2) ?
Yup! Haha... So happened that I brought her to the library one day, the cedar girls were doing their cip n teached the kids to make some paper bag puppets.. She enjoyed the session very much n from then on set her mind on cedar cos she say the jiejies are very fun n nice... haha... lame right? :rotflmao:
Haha, this is so cute, no lame at all :love: Cedar is a great school, the IP progamme will integrate to VJC which is a good JC.
My dd went for cedar IP dsa this year, the stages were
Round 1:
GAT test for 1.5 hours (around 100 questions with Section A & B. Section A contained non verbal questions and Section B accordingly to my dd is more on reasoning and some are like maths questions). My guess is that, selection to Round 2 is based on GAT results
Round 2:
Panel interview (3 interviewees to one student)
and a written essay.
I guess for the final CO outcome, they may based on overall school results, GAT, CCA, interview, written essay etc
Hope this helps.[/quote]Thanks for your info Song22! :thankyou:
Seems like not easy to get in thru academics hor? Still nd to 过五关斩六将. I suppose your dd got a CO?
Hi Chl72
Hi, yes we are happy that my dd was awarded a CO. Also to note that that Cedar has fewer DSA intakes as compared to some other schools. You may wish to refer to http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/conte ... a-academic
Though we like Cedar, my dd is going to another girl school - like you, she was greatly influenced by a few young ladies from the school whom she encountered when she was younger and she simply loves them and wanted to go to this school
DSA to Ceder thru academic is not easy and first stage is to get thru the GAT test. Once your child clear the GAT, then the school will shortlist your child for an interview conducted by a panel of interviewers. Once they have pick those they think is cream of the crops, they will then issue them CO. Please take note that they may not necessarily filled up all the places reserve for DSA students thru academic if they think the shortlist candidates which they have interview doesn’t meetup to their requirement. Trust me, I have been there with my daughter and done it last year. In the end, my daughters now have been happily studying and enjoying her time in Cedar and she have found her new groups of friends from her school.
If your child doesn’t get thru the DSA, dun be too disappointed. If you daughter really want to get into Cedar then my advised to fellow parents is to put both options of Cedar IP & O level as first choice and 2nd choice in the S1 selection of secondary school after your child got her psle result if they have met with the school last year cut off points and even if your child miss it by a point or few points, You can still appealed to the school. From what I know, the school did accepted a lot of appeal students for both IP & O level and first thing they see is that your child must put the school in both 1st & 2nd choice, then they will consider your child in the appeal case. -
Song22:
Your dd was oso aawarded CO from another girls school? Wow! :congrats:Hi Chl72
Hi, yes we are happy that my dd was awarded a CO. Also to note that that Cedar has fewer DSA intakes as compared to some other schools. You may wish to refer to http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/conte ... a-academic
Though we like Cedar, my dd is going to another girl school - like you, she was greatly influenced by a few young ladies from the school whom she encountered when she was younger and she simply loves them and wanted to go to this school
abachee:
:thankyou: Thank you for your advice abachee!Hi,
DSA to Ceder thru academic is not easy and first stage is to get thru the GAT test. Once your child clear the GAT, then the school will shortlist your child for an interview conducted by a panel of interviewers. Once they have pick those they think is cream of the crops, they will then issue them CO. Please take note that they may not necessarily filled up all the places reserve for DSA students thru academic if they think the shortlist candidates which they have interview doesn't meetup to their requirement. Trust me, I have been there with my daughter and done it last year. In the end, my daughters now have been happily studying and enjoying her time in Cedar and she have found her new groups of friends from her school.
If your child doesn't get thru the DSA, dun be too disappointed. If you daughter really want to get into Cedar then my advised to fellow parents is to put both options of Cedar IP & O level as first choice and 2nd choice in the S1 selection of secondary school after your child got her psle result if they have met with the school last year cut off points and even if your child miss it by a point or few points, You can still appealed to the school. From what I know, the school did accepted a lot of appeal students for both IP & O level and first thing they see is that your child must put the school in both 1st & 2nd choice, then they will consider your child in the appeal case.
Mine is really a very early case. I just wanted to confirm that P5 results are also taken into account for the selection and tell dd tat uncles n aunties in ksp said so... to motivate her to maintain her standard for the upcoming challanging P5. :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
chl72:
Cedar asked for P4 to 6 results
:thankyou: Thank you for your advice abachee!abachee:
DSA to Ceder thru academic is not easy and first stage is to get thru the GAT test. Once your child clear the GAT, then the school will shortlist your child for an interview conducted by a panel of interviewers. Once they have pick those they think is cream of the crops, they will then issue them CO. Please take note that they may not necessarily filled up all the places reserve for DSA students thru academic if they think the shortlist candidates which they have interview doesn't meetup to their requirement. Trust me, I have been there with my daughter and done it last year. In the end, my daughters now have been happily studying and enjoying her time in Cedar and she have found her new groups of friends from her school.
If your child doesn't get thru the DSA, dun be too disappointed. If you daughter really want to get into Cedar then my advised to fellow parents is to put both options of Cedar IP & O level as first choice and 2nd choice in the S1 selection of secondary school after your child got her psle result if they have met with the school last year cut off points and even if your child miss it by a point or few points, You can still appealed to the school. From what I know, the school did accepted a lot of appeal students for both IP & O level and first thing they see is that your child must put the school in both 1st & 2nd choice, then they will consider your child in the appeal case.
Mine is really a very early case. I just wanted to confirm that P5 results are also taken into account for the selection and tell dd tat uncles n aunties in ksp said so... to motivate her to maintain her standard for the upcoming challanging P5. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Yes, they require P4-P6 past result as requirement in their DSA application.
I believe is the same for all DSA for IP school. -
:thankyou: Thank you again to both Song22 n Abachee! Now I can go 'motivate' her for her coming sa2 also.. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
chl72:
:thankyou: Thank you again to both Song22 n Abachee! Now I can go 'motivate' her for her coming sa2 also.. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
No problems. We are here to share with our experiences.
You can let your gal visit the Cedar school Facebook page and let her see all the activities the school had and their achievements in their niche sport and academic participation.
In the profile page of the Facebook, I was among the group of proud parents of our gal who was there to support and participate in the school annual cross country run and also to participate in forming the word Cedar in their school track & field.
https://m.facebook.com/cedargirls?refsr ... sg%2F&_rdr
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.