Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      hquek

agree. I spoke to a friend about bad maids and their ways and was told that this maid stole from the family. The family made a police report but decided not to follow through (due to hassle to attend court etc). They did make a report to MOM and just sent her back.

Come to it all, I am fairly sure that this one person will be able to either slip through the holes and come under another name; or perhaps go to another country. Hoping that she does not go on to ‘harm’ another family.

This is not the only tale I have heard. Another family friend had money stolen (thousands hor). Money was IN drawer in the morning. Come afternoon, maid had suddenly asked to go out…(we agree that she probably pass the stolen money to her friend)…and presto, money no longer there. Family decided not to pursue the matter and just let her go.

All in, I just want to say that the hassle of proving a report puts many pp off and they rather just write off the experience. End up other families (whether SG/otherwise) will kena this kind of bad maids. Sad but true.

tamarind

hquek,

Yes you are right that many employers find it a hassle to make a police report or write to MOM.

I feel that MOM should just make it very simple for employers. When canceling the work permit, let employers select "Allow transfer to new employer, yes or no".

hquek

Truth to heart, as the old adage goes, ‘qing guan nan duan jia wu shi’ (incorrupt official find it difficult to judge on household matters).

I admit there ARE bad employers around - those who stinge on food for the maids, those who give very little rest to maids, those who even abuse the maids.

I am just speaking on the side of employers - I do hope that I am amongst those employers who are reasonable, that are responsible. At times I feel that I’m being unfairly treated just cos of the black sheep employers.

To that, I can only sigh deeply…

hquek

Just vent a bit. Yesterday, DS2 dropped a bag of marbles on the floor. I asked the maid to help him pick up - and she did, looking everywhere, under the sofa and all.

1 hour later DS1 did the same thing…this time I didn’t ask her but helped him pick up. There was a toy left under the sofa.

Didn’t know what to think. Could only counsel her, next time you pick up toys, even if it’s not the one I looking for, please just pick all those toys that are within range. I cannot understand why must do work so selectively???

tamarind

Total number of maid abuse cases in 2008 is only 53 :

http://www.twc2.org.sg/site/faqs/7.-is-maid-abuse-violence-against-foreign-domestic-workers-a-serious-pro.html

We have more than 100,000 FDWs in Singapore :
              http://news.sg.msn.com/cna/article.aspx?cp-documentid=3917799

I believe that there are many more cases of baby and elderly abuse by maids, as compared to maid abuse. Babies cannot talk. Elderly may be too old to talk.

tamarind

Just vent a bit. Yesterday, DS2 dropped a bag of marbles on the floor. I asked the maid to help him pick up - and she did, looking everywhere, under the sofa and all.

1 hour later DS1 did the same thing...this time I didn't ask her but helped him pick up. There was a toy left under the sofa.

Didn't know what to think. Could only counsel her, next time you pick up toys, even if it's not the one I looking for, please just pick all those toys that are within range. I cannot understand why must do work so selectively???
                The problem is whether the maid is motivated to work or not.

My current maid is very motivated to work. She wants to send her daughter to university. She takes a lot of initiatives to keep the house clean, and even observe what I like or dislike, I don't need to tell her at all.

Is your maid single ? If she does not have a family to support, then she may be in Singapore for a holiday only 😛

Si Si

tamarind:
                  Total number of maid abuse cases in 2008 is only 53 :

http://www.twc2.org.sg/site/faqs/7.-is-maid-abuse-violence-against-foreign-domestic-workers-a-serious-pro.html

We have more than 100,000 FDWs in Singapore :
                  http://news.sg.msn.com/cna/article.aspx?cp-documentid=3917799

I believe that there are many more cases of baby and elderly abuse by maids, as compared to maid abuse. Babies cannot talk. Elderly may be too old to talk.
                  Well said!!! My mildly demented Mil was ill-treated by the 2 maids (sisters) that were looking after her. They were very good actress too and we were deceived by their looks and behavior before us. Good thing this was discovered sooner than later and they were all sent home. Do not leave kids or elderly who are not able to express or defend for themselves in total care of the maids. Must always keep a lookout for their well-being and signs like do they look like their usual self?

hquek

tamarind:

The problem is whether the maid is motivated to work or not.

My current maid is very motivated to work. She wants to send her daughter to university. She takes a lot of initiatives to keep the house clean, and even observe what I like or dislike, I don't need to tell her at all.

Is your maid single ? If she does not have a family to support, then she may be in Singapore for a holiday only 😛
                    She's single and fairly young - got boyfriend back home. I think (rather, I hope) she is motivated - once when we talked, she talked about debts her father accumulated and that's why she's here. She said openly that she'll only work here 2 years.

Generally she's ok, she doesn't want day off cos she feels it's just to spend money. But, she can happily yak on the phone to her family (she pays for her own phone cards - I will go bankrupt if I sponsor her this) for hours and hours (even with me hanging around the same room).

But this is very dependent on person, I know some maids who have dependents, yet are not motivated at all to work.

I told my mum that next time, we should take mothers (pref without hubbies) cos they should be very motivated. But a fear would be, would she ask for money to send for ??? reasons? This all is unknown lah.

madinked

I need advice.

This morning, I wanted the maid to use the juicer. Being careful, I personsally took apart all the parts and left them in the sink for her to wash.

As for the motor part, I left it on a side table and told her to use a cloth to clean. I didn’t put it in the sink. Minutes later, I saw the maid washing the motor part. Needless to say, now the juicer can’t work. In an angry fit, I told her that after using the hairdryer to blow it for 2 months and the juicer still can’t work (come May), she will have to pay half for the juicer.

I know we can’t demand payment for spoilt items. But this is what I’m thinking. She has been with me for about half year. Since this year, we have been giving her every Sunday off, without any deductions in her salary. All in goodwill. But I’m thinking of taking away her off days in lieu of the deduction for the juicer. Can I do that? Since she cares about her off days so much, I thought this would be the best punishment.

hquek

madinked:

I know we can't demand payment for spoilt items. But this is what I'm thinking. She has been with me for about half year. Since this year, we have been giving her every Sunday off, without any deductions in her salary. All in goodwill. But I'm thinking of taking away her off days in lieu of the deduction for the juicer. Can I do that? Since she cares about her off days so much, I thought this would be the best punishment.
                        hi madinked,

Understand you must be hopping now. But consider this, if you take away what she treasures, what will become of her attitude?

Story: my friend's maid burnt down half his kitchen...but he forgave her and treated her kindly. She was so grateful and they enjoyed a good working relationship for many many years. All depends on the maid I guess.

A lot of times I had to write off things that are spoilt. Perhaps she didn't hear properly, perhaps you didn't tell her (putting one side not considered hor, she may have been 'false clever' to wash that motor part). Anyway, once dunked, I dun think can rescue...using hairdryer will only increase your electrical bills.

My personal take is that if this happened to me, I'll definitely tell her off. But if I fine her, my worry will be that next time anything goes wrong/spoilt, she'll hide (this to me is even worse). I would just write off and teach her what can/not be put under water. Consider as even we ourselves will also make mistakes lah.

If you really cannot take this lying down, by all means get her consent, what she spoil, she has to make up for it (deduct salary etc). But I can't say what will happen to her attitude and also how happy she is in working for you.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 168 / 1032