Scary:
no helper for the past 6 years. such a relief.janet_lee88:
in any case, I still admire you to do without a helper.
Janet,
I thot you don't have helper too long time ago? It's so difficult to get good helpers nowadays. Having a helper can be as good as having another kid, remind remind and remind. The worst is, you can't even scold and offend her.
and yes, pay maids so much but cannot offend them for fear of being fed soap powder or chopped up. -
Joyfulhands:
Housework closed 1 and 3/4 eyes. Mainly laundry and cooking. Coaching some outsourced, some DS manages himself. I can only help in some areas for certain subjects.
You super mom! So you still have to do housework and coach your son's studies right?Scary:
Need to work, plus my health is not gd. Also, we don't have car and helper, so bo bian. In fact, we know some of his classmates both boys and girls already on their own. They are the first/second generation fr China.
I do get my boy to call me once he reaches his enrichment place.
I do know of a P3 gal taking the public bus home after school & another P3 boy walking on his own to his enrichment centre which is about a 5-mins walk. When I asked DD whether she can also walk there on her own, but she wasn't ready now.
There are a no. of schoolmates going home themselves since last yr P2. Mainly boys. However, more girls joined in this year. There is one P3 boy who will go home by bus and switch to train. He doesn't live near school. The mum is the ang mo type.
If your DD is not ready, don't let her do it. It depends on the character of the child. Mine cos boy so need to be more garang. Also, I realised I need to train early for my situation. -
[quote="JoeeYee"]Anyone heard anything about the relocation? 2016 going single session, no time liao!!
Most likely to the current holding school of NYPS, after they move out (heard from reliable sources).
Wow, good news. Convenient for us. My younger one will be P1 in 2015.[/quote]
I haven’t post for a while. How’s everyone? Great news for me if the holding school is going to be there! Hope there will be more details during the orientation. -
Scary,
How are you?
Hey even with housework closed 1 and 3/4 eyes, laundry and cooking is no joke for a FTWM. Your boy is in the morning session. Where does he go after school? -
I wish to ask the PH parents here if most of the students attends enrichment classes ? Is it a must to have?I believe in let my child play as much as she likes and do what she likes. My daughter loves Rthythmic gymnastics and swimming. So our weekends are taken up by these sports plus piano and art. I work long hours so there is little spare time for me to add other classes. I managed to squeeze in Berries Chinese( cos PH requires higher MT and we dun really speak chinese). I think i am maxed out. Not my kid, but myself.
My friends warned me i better buck up and send my kid for english and maths lessons too cos the students in PH relies on tuition and not the school teachers. I am worried and of course alarmed. Do i need to be so kiasu ? Please share with me. I am lost. Should i work part time now , and devote time to fetch her to and fro on weekdays? -
bluechinc:
Not just students in PH rely on tuition.
My friends warned me i better buck up and send my kid for english and maths lessons too cos the students in PH relies on tuition and not the school teachers. I am worried and of course alarmed. Do i need to be so kiasu ? Please share with me. I am lost. Should i work part time now , and devote time to fetch her to and fro on weekdays?
Most schools test students more than what is taught...never depend on teachers to help your child pass exams. With so many kids in the class, teachers are not able to reach out to everyone...especially the weaker ones. You can coach your child until you can't handle. -
That's true. Parent's guidance is important even if the child has tuition.
Not just students in PH rely on tuition.bluechinc:
My friends warned me i better buck up and send my kid for english and maths lessons too cos the students in PH relies on tuition and not the school teachers. I am worried and of course alarmed. Do i need to be so kiasu ? Please share with me. I am lost. Should i work part time now , and devote time to fetch her to and fro on weekdays?
Most schools test students more than what is taught...never depend on teachers to help your child pass exams. With so many kids in the class, teachers are not able to reach out to everyone...especially the weaker ones. You can coach your child until you can't handle. -
Hi everyone,
I will like to ask is it very difficult to get selected as PV for PH ? If we are free thinker , do we still stand a chance ? -
dyh:
That's true. Parent's guidance is important even if the child has tuition.[/quote]Yes, I agree too that parents' guidance is important but sometimes, coaching our own kids will make us vomit blood or increase our blood pressure and voice volume/lung expansion!
Not just students in PH rely on tuition.janet_lee88:
[quote=\"bluechinc\"]
Most schools test students more than what is taught...never depend on teachers to help your child pass exams. With so many kids in the class, teachers are not able to reach out to everyone...especially the weaker ones. You can coach your child until you can't handle.
My gal is in P1 now and next year, I might send her for extra tuition towards the 2nd half of the year, depending on how she can cope and whether her daddy and myself have extra time to coach her.
But for the lower primary level, I still feel that we don't have to push them too hard, too fast... let them enjoy learning first.
mommy2two:
Just ensure they are consistent in their work will be sufficient.
My gal is in P1 now and next year, I might send her for extra tuition towards the 2nd half of the year, depending on how she can cope and whether her daddy and myself have extra time to coach her.
But for the lower primary level, I still feel that we don't have to push them too hard, too fast... let them enjoy learning first.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.