All About Kids' Eye-sight
mathsparks:
hi peggy and 2 ppaamm, any idea if 12 yo are suitable for otho-k at > 500 degress? thinking of putting son on this.[/quote]It is not the age nor the degrees, it is the shape of the cornea, so it is necessary to get the eyes scan. There is range where it is suitable for ortho-K. If it is not within the range, then Ortho-K is not suitable for the eyes.peggy:
[quote=\"mathsparks\"]This aint no magical pill, of course stabilize only; which is good enuf for us. To cure must go lasik la. not sure if the otho-k that 2ppaamm mentioned can cure myopia.
My son has been on otho-k for the past 2 years. It does not cure myopia. His deg. went up too fast - 100 deg within 6 months. So need to put on otho-k to stablise it and prevent from increasing too quickly. And the beauty is that he has perfect vision throughout the day without anything on. Less worries for me as he is physically very active. -
thanks, ks2me. will see how long he can tahan w his glasses while running around in the field.
mathsparks:
thanks, ks2me. will see how long he can tahan w his glasses while running around in the field.
if your reason is same like mine to control the rate of increase which is phenomenal for my case, then suggest don't delay the check. I also recently found out mine has special cornea shape which is causing the increase to be rapid aggravated by poor reading habits. I regretted not doing it last year to curb the rate of increase. -
Fortunately his is stabilised with help of the eye relax. So itβs more for comfort .
2ppaamm:
Hi 2ppaammI am a layman, so what I say is from a user's point of view only. It is best you get a qualified optician to advise.
Here goes:
1. DS1 started using at 10, DD1 at 8 or 9, DD2 at 11, DS2 at 8.
2. You wear those lenses to sleep and take them off in the morning.
3. The eye sight is about 6/6 for the whole day. DS1 can get to 6/5.
4. You must be vigilant in ensuring the lenses are absolutely clean - for safety.
5. I bring to service every month. It is free of charge, anyway, so diligence counts.
6. Bring kids in to check their eye sight every month also, to ensure things are ok.
7. For DS1, the eyesight improved. For the rest, they never increased.
Hope this info helps.
I think children's eye sight will continue to deteriorate up to puberty, or at about 13 or 14. So if you stabilize their eye sight till then, it is unlikely their myopia will worsen. For DD2, for example, she is almost perfect eyesight, with one eye at 75 degrees. So, I believe if I arrest the problem , put her on the lenses until she is about 15, then she can enjoy good eye sight without glasses.
For the rest, DS1 is at 150 or so, so I believe he can also operate without glasses after army. DS2's astiq is a 'baby' condition. When a child grows, sometimes these cure themselves. I'm waiting to see. He has no myopia.
For DD1, she hardly wears her lenses and still maintain at 150+ or so. So, I guess she can also go off lenses when she is out of uni.
Having a good eye sight without glasses is a blessing. I strive hard to help my kids achieve that. Hopefully, they will also have the opportunity to live lives without the dependence on optical aid one day. I enjoyed this blessing all these years, and I hope they will too.
O, and you are not bothering me. I am happy to see children running around free of specs. Quite a number of my friends have put their kids on Ortho-K through the years. After 7-8 years, they are still on them. I guess they are happy?
I am a newbie here and had been following this tread, can u kindly PM me the contacts of yr optometrist? -
mathsparks:
tks mathsparks. I very geram. Look away for awhile only ... :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
Definitely not a good reading posture coz the book is too far from the eyes. Mine lagi worse, lies prone on the floor and read with the book on the floor.Blobbi:
Does anyone know about reading positions? My son now likes to look downwards when reading, ie he puts the book on the floor and reads while seated (on floor) facing down.
Will this worsen myopia? Tks. -
You're welcome, blobbi. simi geram? :?
Actually, I'm lazing by the pool in a resort in a remote location. I hv no tel service but have free internet, hehe.
Geram.
Pronounced ger-rahm.
Definition:
1. Buay song.
2. Grrrrrumpy
3. :frustrated:
:). Too much sun so gone wonky liao. -
Blobbi:
Have fun Blobbi :celebrate:Actually, I'm lazing by the pool in a resort in a remote location. I hv no tel service but have free internet, hehe.
Geram.
Pronounced ger-rahm.
Definition:
1. Buay song.
2. Grrrrrumpy
3. :frustrated:
:). Too much sun so gone wonky liao.
But not too much sun, bad for the skin wor
Tks guys!
I'm in the shade everyday plastered in sunscreen (this one definitely health related so we not so ot hor). But hv to get off my butt every few hours to take turns playing catching with all the kids here (so many!). All the parents here are very cooperative :).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.