Literacy Circle - Discussion
HyperKiasu:
25min to answer your question? I had no idea :roll: what to ask during last assessment. Perhaps in my area, LC is the only one that I know have received positive feedback....

Hi hyperkiasu
Think I am more kiasu than you! I had a lot of questions for the teacher who was very patient with me. My concern was for my DD, she is the shy type so we talk alot about personality and my request for feedback. Of course every lesson cannot always speak to teacher but she is very honest and my DD feel comfortable with her.
I did see an improvement in my DD exam results, school teacher feedback is that she has come out of her shell a bit! :celebrate: Teacher at BT did say that perhaps it will take a few terms to see a marked diff in result but so far so good.
My review was abt 10-15 minutes for each of my two kids. For my 1st who is in K2, there were some sight words for him to read and a list of words to test his blending. He was also tested on handrwriting skills. He’s assessed to start off at Lift Off.
For my Nursery gal, she was given a few pictures and asked what is the picture and then asked what is the first sound of the pictures. She was asked to write her own name but heheh a bit paiseh cos she hasn’t learnt how to write her name yet. She’s a bit shy at first cos this is the first time she’s attending class. Assessed to be start off at foundation.
Then another 10-15 mins for the teacher to brief us on the programme & any q&A. -
Literacy circle (find the new name so difficult to remember) was on my shortlist when I was looking for a program for my K1 this year. I saw their materials earlier on and thought that it looked very solid eg. by P1, the child would be expose to comprehension and compo.
However, as my K1 is on already on phonics program with Jan & Elly (she will complete the entire course in Dec this year), I hesitated about sending her to LC as I felt that it will duplicate what she learnt. Hence, I sent her to LW since the phonics focus is lesser. Pretty interesting so far but I am not sure if they will be academic enough by K2. So I am harboring thoughts of sending my K1 to LC next year since the class size is smaller and they are also staff with native speakers.
The same applies to my P3 and P2 who are with BC. This is their 2nd year. Will observed their results before deciding to make the switch. They attended LC’s hol camp on writing previously and enjoyed themselves. I contemplated but due to 1 yr commitment with BC, we stayed on. -
Hi, i’m looking at the marine parade branch. no reviews on that branch. any mummies can help ?
ctrlaltdel:
Hi, i'm looking at the marine parade branch. no reviews on that branch. any mummies can help ?
Hi my fren has her son in MP centre. She joined one term ago the same time as I signed my DD up with BT branch. I believe MP was the first LCentral centre and it is a popular one in the east. The feedback from my fren is good so far. Her son is with the young female teacher Paula. -
My ds is with Thomson branch for liftoff last year. This year, he progress to success. When he was in p1, he can’t read well, maths can’t do properly too. Ironically, he did best in chinese even though we dun speak chinese at home.
After he enrolled, there is some progress. Not fantastic yet but to be realistic, I dun expect my ds to be a super reader so quickly. Can read properly and got more confidence. I find the liftoff workbooks very comprehensive. The success worksheets also not bad. Got different component of english to practise. Got weekly spelling too. Also, they mark the work. Better than some more expensive centres that dun really mark work.
His teacher also very friendly. Called me up and chatted about him and his progress. Also gave a lot of comments about him. I think he likes the place because it’s not a stressful environment. Dun really have those plenty of homework to do type. -
meiah:
Hi Meiah,My ds is with Thomson branch for liftoff last year. This year, he progress to success. When he was in p1, he can't read well, maths can't do properly too. Ironically, he did best in chinese even though we dun speak chinese at home.
After he enrolled, there is some progress. Not fantastic yet but to be realistic, I dun expect my ds to be a super reader so quickly. Can read properly and got more confidence. I find the liftoff workbooks very comprehensive. The success worksheets also not bad. Got different component of english to practise. Got weekly spelling too. Also, they mark the work. Better than some more expensive centres that dun really mark work.
His teacher also very friendly. Called me up and chatted about him and his progress. Also gave a lot of comments about him. I think he likes the place because it's not a stressful environment. Dun really have those plenty of homework to do type.
May I know your DS is in P2 or P1 now? How do you feel his progress after Success class ?
My P1 DS will start his Success 10 April. Currently, he dislikes reading Enghlish books. I do hope more exposures will arouse his intest.
BTW, I think LC's rate at $40 per 1.5 hrs not cheap and not too expensive.. -
meiah:
Hi Meiah,My ds is with Thomson branch for liftoff last year. This year, he progress to success. When he was in p1, he can't read well, maths can't do properly too. Ironically, he did best in chinese even though we dun speak chinese at home.
His teacher also very friendly. Called me up and chatted about him and his progress. Also gave a lot of comments about him. I think he likes the place because it's not a stressful environment. Dun really have those plenty of homework to do type.
May I know your DS is in P2 or P1 now? How do you feel his progress after Success class ?
My P1 DS will start his Success 10 April. Currently, he dislikes reading Enghlish books. I do hope more exposures will arouse his intest.
BTW, I think LC's rate at $40 per 1.5 hrs not cheap and not too expensive.. -
He's in p2 now. A bit hard to say about his progress cos he has no CA1. I will have to wait for SA1 to find out. But generally, his reading is smoother now. He used to stare at a page for a long time. Now he can read aloud by himself. For him, I don't buy storybook last year cos he's always at page 1!!! :stupid:
Ya, fee's not cheap but not very ex too. Would be more value for $ if the lesson is 2 hours instead of 1 1/2. However, it's not my intention to stress him or load him with loads of homework. I don't want him to dislike english just because he has to do lots of work. -
how big is your son’s class? when i enrolled my son for afternoon’s session, the class size was 1. my son was the one. the morning session has 4. just called LC and they said there will be other unconfirmed participants. If class size too small, duno good or not…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.