All About Abacus Training

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    360 Posts 166 Posters 437.7k Views
      Agilemaths

CC is equally good, more sessions - cost effective but the main question is can our child benefit from big class. The break between each level before they get enough students to open next level is not certain. The trainer may be engaged by 3rd party so possibility of turnover is there.

CMA on the other hand, uses a lot of multimedia to teach, I do not feel the personal attention there. 14-17 modules (I can’t remember) to complete is too long, time consuming and taxing for both parents and child. Paying 70 bucks for that T-Shirt and materials are too expensive.

So, pros and cons.

jogan

my dd is attending abacus at neighbourhood RC, im paying S$50 per mth. Sounds cheap however keep paying for materials, almost every mth is paying S$20 - 30 for materials. im poundering if it is worth it. din see much progress and no schoolwork, best part keep buying ‘thin’ revision books.

lately had an encounter, they kept changing the abacus 3 times. current 3rd time is charging me ‘1/2’ price for trade-in S$9 and also S$20 materials (less than 15 pages book - 2 books). wow liew… really cant stand it! just wondering why they are so uncertain and keep changing abacus and also trade-in? :!: Is this a common practise for abacus lessons?

Anyone can recommend any cost effective abacus at east area for my DD who is 5 yo… thanks

Agilemaths

[Editor's note: Topic selected for http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/abacus-mental-arithmetic-good.]

I teach abacus/mental arithmetic and I'm always asked, is it good?

Yes, I would answer \"It is good because you'll learn to handle big problems fast with good guesses, within a certain percentage of error or so\".

You'll learn to do arithmetic fast, in that way you can spend your time thinking about what the numbers mean. Use that rapid arithmetic skill in the examination battlefield and you know you have the right weapon.

But, I must warn you. Learning abacus is boring. It involves plenty of calculation. It requires persistency and consistency as well as patience to practice daily. Once you stop training your brain, your brain function will begin to decline slowly again.

So to learn or not to learn? That is the question.

Well.... abacus is not the only aid in town. There are other methods on brain training, flash memory. Again, once you stop, memory fades away.

But because abacus/mental arithmetic requires you to calculate sums quickly, it activates the largest region of the brain. Your Prefrontal cortex is actively working.

Preforontal cortex = frontal lobe (also known as motor function - foundation of creativity, memory, communication, and self-control).

Putting aside this medical term and scientific research, my humble thoughts is that once kids achieve good mental calculation skill, they will attain confidence in exam and self-esteem in their life skill.

Agilemaths

I teach abacus/mental arithmetic at home in Sengkang. If it is near your area you can pm me. But then… you’ll need to buy new abacus as I use 9 beads abacus. 😎

• G Offline
              girlmum

jogan:
              my dd is attending abacus at neighbourhood RC, im paying S$50 per mth. Sounds cheap however keep paying for materials, almost every mth is paying S$20 - 30 for materials. im poundering if it is worth it. din see much progress and no schoolwork, best part keep buying 'thin' revision books.

lately had an encounter, they kept changing the abacus 3 times. current 3rd time is charging me '1/2' price for trade-in S$9 and also S$20 materials (less than 15 pages book - 2 books). wow liew... really cant stand it! just wondering why they are so uncertain and keep changing abacus and also trade-in? :!: Is this a common practise for abacus lessons?

Anyone can recommend any cost effective abacus at east area for my DD who is 5 yo... thanks
              Hi Jogan,

My DD2(P3) has been attending abacus lessons since K2 at a nearby CC at pasir ris. Currently in the advance stage 2. She has NEVER change her abacus before, been using it since she started. Paying abt S$ 130 for 12 lessons (1.5 hrs per wk) Only need to change books when she is abt to finish it or upgrade to a higher level. Books are only $5 each.

She also need to take exams every 2 - 3 mths (optional) Exam fees abt $20 - 35 depending the the level.

It's good to start yr child at the age of 5. If u r staying around this area, let me know if u need the details.

jogan

Hi Jogan,

My DD2(P3) has been attending abacus lessons since K2 at a nearby CC at pasir ris. Currently in the advance stage 2. She has NEVER change her abacus before, been using it since she started. Paying abt S$ 130 for 12 lessons (1.5 hrs per wk) Only need to change books when she is abt to finish it or upgrade to a higher level. Books are only $5 each.

She also need to take exams every 2 - 3 mths (optional) Exam fees abt $20 - 35 depending the the level.

It's good to start yr child at the age of 5. If u r staying around this area, let me know if u need the details.[/quote]

Hi girlmum

Thanks so much for the information. I will PM you.

Cheers
                esther chua

DecJan

I’m a strong supporter for abacus lessons for preschooler. Both my kids attended abacus at Crestar (civic centre, woodlands),Took about 3 yrs for my DD to complete up till "Duan Wei". Helps a lot in lower primary, especially in the MCQ section of maths papers. And also don’t have to worry about multiplication tables when they enter P1.

I like the teacher in that she is very flexible. In her class, you can find students of different grades - she can manage. She also encourages the children to try and complete as much and as fast as they could, cos she understands that if the lessons drag too long, the child might lose interest. Cost fee 3 yrs ago was about $50-60 per month for beginners and progressed to about $70 over per month for advanced. Cost fee is collected per term. Hv to pay for the workbk supplied by the centre for each level (beg, intermediate and advance) of the course. We also bought Taiwan printed practise book for each grade(grade 12 to Duan Wei) from the Taiwanese Teacher (was $5 per book then). Very useful .

abacus_trainer

Hi, I am a abacus trainer from CMA. Saw some earlier questions on pricing and difference in fees between different centres.

There is 2 different scheme of fees. Scheme A is the lower one ($250/term), scheme B is the higher one ($280/term). Its due to the location and rental. Lower rent - scheme A, higher rent - scheme B. If I am not wrong, most centres are scheme B, except for Bishan, Toa Payoh, Tampines, Kovan and Yishun.

1 term is 10 lessons, a cap of up to 5 books included in the fees (no need to pay for books unless your child exceeded 5, additional books cost $8 each). For the once a week, $250 or $280 will last 10 weeks or 2.5 months time. For the twice a week, $180 or $200 will last 5 weeks or slighly more than a month. If the lesson falls on public holiday its not counted.

There are 4 graded examination every year, not compulsary but recommend to take at least once a year. $20 for abacus, $20 for mental, $15 for aural.

Registration $70, comes with bag, abacus, t-shirt, picture and number cards. Deposit $50, refundable if given one month notice for withdrawal.

If your child missed the lesson, you can arrange for a makeup class.

If you ask me.. I think the charges are reasonable. I signed my kid for a weekend class, registration $70+ (with nothing at all), deposit $70+, on top of that I need to purchase the t-shirt and shorts separately. No makeup or refund for missed classes.

I won't say CC are no good. It all depends on the teacher. Even signing up with CMA does not gurantee a good teacher. I guess the only thing you can be sure of is there is some quality control on books used, they are all originated and shipped from Taiwan, written by the founder. To find out which is better... Its up to you to talk to the teacher, understand how is it conducted, what's the class size, look around at the environment, etc.

Abit lor soh... I do believe abacus/mental arithmetic provides a strong foundation for math. I have seen P1, P2 children who still can't do simple addition, subtraction without using their fingers. After learning, they calculate faster, more sensitive to numbers and are more confident. Mental arithmetic also excercise and trains the right brain when they learn to visualise the virtual abacus. Improving their memory, concentration and calculation speed. Its not limited to only +,-,x,/.

:lovesite:

HappyAvon

abacus_trainer:
                      Hi, I am a abacus trainer from CMA. Saw some earlier questions on pricing and difference in fees between different centres.

There is 2 different scheme of fees. Scheme A is the lower one ($250/term), scheme B is the higher one ($280/term). Its due to the location and rental. Lower rent - scheme A, higher rent - scheme B. If I am not wrong, most centres are scheme B, except for Bishan, Toa Payoh, Tampines, Kovan and Yishun.

1 term is 10 lessons, a cap of up to 5 books included in the fees (no need to pay for books unless your child exceeded 5, additional books cost $8 each). For the once a week, $250 or $280 will last 10 weeks or 2.5 months time. For the twice a week, $180 or $200 will last 5 weeks or slighly more than a month. If the lesson falls on public holiday its not counted.

There are 4 graded examination every year, not compulsary but recommend to take at least once a year. $20 for abacus, $20 for mental, $15 for aural.

Registration $70, comes with bag, abacus, t-shirt, picture and number cards. Deposit $50, refundable if given one month notice for withdrawal.

If your child missed the lesson, you can arrange for a makeup class.

If you ask me.. I think the charges are reasonable. I signed my kid for a weekend class, registration $70+ (with nothing at all), deposit $70+, on top of that I need to purchase the t-shirt and shorts separately. No makeup or refund for missed classes.

I won't say CC are no good. It all depends on the teacher. Even signing up with CMA does not gurantee a good teacher. I guess the only thing you can be sure of is there is some quality control on books used, they are all originated and shipped from Taiwan, written by the founder. To find out which is better... Its up to you to talk to the teacher, understand how is it conducted, what's the class size, look around at the environment, etc.

Abit lor soh... I do believe abacus/mental arithmetic provides a strong foundation for math. I have seen P1, P2 children who still can't do simple addition, subtraction without using their fingers. After learning, they calculate faster, more sensitive to numbers and are more confident. Mental arithmetic also excercise and trains the right brain when they learn to visualise the virtual abacus. Improving their memory, concentration and calculation speed. Its not limited to only +,-,x,/.

:lovesite:
                      Hi

Totally agree....My girl joined CMA in Oct 2009 and I find that its a good programme....She is now very confident in numbers and is starting to count much faster...Calculation speed is definitely improving....One minus point is alot of homework...to practise at home....Luckily she did not complain but enjoying it....

pokemon

HappyAvon:
                        Hi

Totally agree....My girl joined CMA in Oct 2009 and I find that its a good programme....She is now very confident in numbers and is starting to count much faster...Calculation speed is definitely improving....One minus point is alot of homework...to practise at home....Luckily she did not complain but enjoying it....
                        my son also from cma but we stop last yr since he has finish level 1, we did not contd with duan wei. Till now, i still pract with him aural mental daily and in his sch work, he need not used his fingers for counting, juz stare at the number and able to give the correct answer even to number over 100. Im still trying to get some abacus books or material for him to cont pract, exercise his brain at home, anyone knows where can i get such books?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 36

MandyLibM
                        MandyLib