All About Kids' Eye-sight
Blobbi:
Have fun Blobbi :celebrate:Actually, I'm lazing by the pool in a resort in a remote location. I hv no tel service but have free internet, hehe.
Geram.
Pronounced ger-rahm.
Definition:
1. Buay song.
2. Grrrrrumpy
3. :frustrated:
:). Too much sun so gone wonky liao.
But not too much sun, bad for the skin wor
Tks guys!
I'm in the shade everyday plastered in sunscreen (this one definitely health related so we not so ot hor). But hv to get off my butt every few hours to take turns playing catching with all the kids here (so many!). All the parents here are very cooperative :). -
I think this sounds crazy to parents who have children who short-sighted, but try hearing this out.
My colleague, his mum was a nurse and she believes alot that it’s a mindset that we put the children in. It’s like saying, hey, your eyes have problems and you need a pair of glasses. So, the child will condition their mind that IT’S TRUE that their eyes are ‘spoilt’ and need glasses for them.
Her children were in primary school when the nurse from school (after eye examination) told her that her children need glasses cos they are now short-sighted. And glasses need to be prescribed soon before their condition goes worse!
His mum didn’t follow this set of prescription and worked on telling her sons that their eyes are okay, and they just need to rest when their vision blurs from reading/PC.
Her children are now in their early 20s and well, they are perfect eyesight.
------------------------------------
It happened to me too when I saw my friends in Pri 6 wearing nice cool glasses and I envied them for it. Serious!
I lied to my mum that I couldn’t see what’s on the blackboard and she had to bring me to the optic to test my eyesight. I had perfect eye sight then, I told the doc that I couldn’t see. End up, the test proved that I was 200 myopic!
The day I had my glass ready, I was so very proud of it and wanted to show it off to my classmates. But once I put it on, I felt so really giddy, but I continued. Soon, I needed glasses till I was secondary school.
During teenage years, I got very vain and my plastic glasses were really ugly, so I told myself that I don’t really need it and that I could see. Secondary 4, eye test proved I had perfect eyesight.
JC came, contact lenses was popular, I tried to spoil my own eyesight again just to make sure I could wear contact lenses. Once at the optic shop, the optican gave me a pair of trial lens to test on to make sure my eyes weren’t sensitive for contact lenses, I tried it on and said I could see so clearly. And the optician told me, how can I, it’s 0 degree lens! But I told him, oh, I made a mistake, cos I couldn’t really see what’s very far away.
And soon, with lenses, my eyesight went as bad as 300 per eye.
My eyesight had normalized at 175-200 over the years and it just didn’t get any better.
Sometimes, it’s really all in the brain. -
wah winth…what an interesting sharing!!!
So my child wills herself to have poor eyesight :x …hmm…and waste so much money… sigh -
Blobbi:
envy, you leh blobbi. have fun k? geram is malay word?Actually, I'm lazing by the pool in a resort in a remote location. I hv no tel service but have free internet, hehe.
Geram.
Pronounced ger-rahm.
Definition:
1. Buay song.
2. Grrrrrumpy
3. :frustrated:
:). Too much sun so gone wonky liao. -
Came back already, Mathsparks. 5 days gone just like that, snap. Had fun, not sunburned with all that sunblock except for tip of the nose which I must have forgotten about, durn.
Hi All,
My 10yr old DD needs to get specs. Appreciate if parents with kids who have been wearing specs could recommend the best type of frames (metal or plastic) / lenses (multicoated or not, not sure whether they have plastic and glass?) to get. Thought that plastic would be better but noticed that most shops carry less than 5 models of plastic frames. She plays netball in school - not competitively though (yet!). Any other tips on managing kids with specs would be most appreciated too. Thanks.
Tried reading thru all the posts but gave up somewhere in late 2008 before skipping to the last few days! -
Bronzy, how high is her degree?
Hi Ks2me. Around 100 deg according to the first optician i went to. -
mumneedhelp:
really? which branch? is it the same as pinhole selling at guardian?Full.Cream:
here's the explanation how the pinhole works. it doesn;t correct but provide lesser distortion to the image.
Daiso sells these pin hole glasses for only $2 each pair.
anyone know how much guardian sell?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.