Club Seng Kang
Definitely those chair lifts would be a cheaper alternative - it's prob abt $2K c.f. to abt $100K for the lift, plus the maintenance fee. but it's like not so good for my mum now if we need her to sit on chair to lift up. plus it's quite bad to spend so much money to get a landed place, ask my parents to move in, then face a situation where they (well, now it's only my mum, but sooner or later, it'll happen to my dad too) are discouraged from going upstairs because of the stairs...
Yes. Sometimes it's also about the no. of missed opportunities. Had a friend who started looking around before us 2005 onwards and it was only this year that they finally decided on the landed in NE too. They actually bought somewhere nearer to the secluded YCK area but it eventually didn't happen. Imagine the no. of missed opportunities they had. It come to a point (end of last year) that they told me that they believe the price will go up further, then just get in now rather than later. They were also sourcing for a house nearer to school. They were looking at realty park but too bad nothing suitable came along in terms of budget and needs.
I recalled that in our case, we didn't have intention to get the current place. We went to look at some 4 bedrooms unit in the same development that we stayed in. It was quite cheap then and there was a unit up for auction in the same block. Except that I saw that they hang ba kua on all windows left me feeling uncomfortable.... Then pils asked us to consider landed and we only look around during dec 2006 holidays and we firm the deal around 2 jan 2007.
It is really fate as I tried calling the hp of the agent but just couldn't get connected for some reason. I persisted and eventually I got her the next day. I could have given up and move on. We saw less than 20 houses in the entire search of around 2 weekends. We were initially keen on a unit at li hwan drive but land is smaller and it was tenanted. We also considered another 3 storey house at ubi area as it has a nice no. and it's walking distance to kid's school.
But it's the size of the realty park that made us go for it. It's funny, we didn't even check out the transport (mrt, bus), schools,etc... It was after staying at the place then we realised how convenient that place is. It was really old and has been vacant for years as the previous owner moved to a condo. They have been renting out the place. Without reno, I cannot imagine staying in the house. The original ceiling reminds me of my primary school ceiling eg. those with small holes. Also, the owner has been selling for years asking for 1.1MM. By the time he sold to us, it was like minimum negotation. Hubby said sometimes it probably fate, it's just waiting for us to appear :lol: For us, this is long term place. Hubby talked about selling it and I am like.... I don't think we can find something at this price, this size and that is so convenient. Our plan is for our son to take over the house one day.
I am not sure if lift is a good option. Had a relative who bought a 5 storey cluster house that comes with lift. It's about 1.5 yr. All the kids asked during CNY this year if they can visit them as they were fascinated with a lift in the house. They took the lift up and down. Very suaku you know :roll: I heard that they've \"close\" their lift and the yearly maintenance for the lift is around 1k. I saw on some ads that they do have those chairs that are fitted to staircase. I believe this is used in public area too. Not sure if that is a cheaper alternative.
There are not many cluster houses with lift leh - which one is your relative staying in? In any case, cluster houses are usually v small in terms of land size so rooms are all small too, as you had pointed out.
In fact, we're willing to compromise and settle for a good 4-bedroom condo if it's not too old or small, and fits more/most of our requirements, but again that's not easy in this market. prices are just crazy...
talk abt missed opportunities... -
atrecord:
They are at Amanusa. The development might have changed name as I read there is some legal case on the name. It is near teacher's estate further down. But that part is quite ulu. Yes, the rooms are terribly small. Mastermbedroom can only put 1 queen size bed and that's it.There are not many cluster houses with lift leh - which one is your relative staying in? In any case, cluster houses are usually v small in terms of land size so rooms are all small too, as you had pointed out.
In fact, we're willing to compromise and settle for a good 4-bedroom condo if it's not too old or small, and fits more/most of our requirements, but again that's not easy in this market. prices are just crazy...
talk abt missed opportunities...
It appeared to be quite challenging to find a 4 bedroom condo. My hubby's dream is to move back to high rise. He finds it stressful to stay in landed. Must ensure doors and windows are locked,etc... in high rise, only need to lock 1 or 2 doors and u can go out. -
Hi , dropped in ....
Don't worry lah atrecod, the rite house will come along. That is what DH and I believe in.
We were also aggressively looking for landed property last yr. The best deal so far was one w/i Braddell Heights estate, freehold, 3500 something land area (for us that is more impt than built in) double story semi-D. It was going for 1.68M. Owner lived there for 40 yrs. That was the most reasonable (but that doesn't mean we agree to the px lah) among all the houses that we had looked at. The only prob was late 80s early 90s deco. Had to renovate. But good thing is that 5 mins from ILs.
But DH kept hedging lah ... say this wrong, that wrong, very hot as land not elevated land (true, when we went to view in the aft, wah, v v warm lah). Didn't like the longkang behind etc ... :roll: :roll:
Finally it got sold.
Now my DH can still tell me that we shd have bought it and flipped it :!:
Anyway, the thing is, I agree with my DH that if that hse is meant to be yours, you will somehow get it at the rite time and px
So we are now taking a break as DH thinks property pxs are really ridiculous .... :siao: -
Arrhh... that one. it's called Atilla (dunno 1 or 2 'L') now. went there before it was built to view as was attracted by the lift option, plus it's near my in-laws. the show flat didn't reveal the small size of the rooms, but we felt it was too inconvenient anyway.
They are at Amanusa. The development might have changed name as I read there is some legal case on the name. It is near teacher's estate further down. But that part is quite ulu. Yes, the rooms are terribly small. Mastermbedroom can only put 1 queen size bed and that's it.
It appeared to be quite challenging to find a 4 bedroom condo. My hubby's dream is to move back to high rise. He finds it stressful to stay in landed. Must ensure doors and windows are locked,etc... in high rise, only need to lock 1 or 2 doors and u can go out.
Then 2-3 mths ago saw got pple sell this Atilla cluster house say got lift, went there see, it's actually Amanusa... this time saw the rooms. the other bedrooms put one single bed only, finish...
I think the recent/new condos are rediculously designed and therefore not worth the (crazy) money (they are asking for). I need more useable space because of my family dynamics -- while I want to stay with my parents (and it was DW who suggested it), I'm well aware of the need to have enough space of our own to avoid unnecessary or potential conflicts.
Then all the condos give you lots of balconies, bay windows, planters, aircon ledges, etc., complete with huge (and many) toilets. The rooms, living rooms/area, dining, etc. are as a result, tiny... I actually did some measurement, and for a 17++ sq ft 4-BR condo, the unuseable space amounted to about the size of 2 bedrooms added up :x
how to buy...
but we know the trade-offs betw condo vs landed: security/amenities vs space/no need maintenence fees, etc...
Anyway, tough... -
ha ha... how familiar. guess all guys are like that? DW also kept complaining that my hesitation resulted in all the lost opportunities, and if only we had bought one back then...Hi , dropped in ....
Don't worry lah atrecod, the rite house will come along. That is what DH and I believe in.
We were also aggressively looking for landed property last yr. The best deal so far was one w/i Braddell Heights estate, freehold, 3500 something land area (for us that is more impt than built in) double story semi-D. It was going for 1.68M. Owner lived there for 40 yrs. That was the most reasonable (but that doesn't mean we agree to the px lah) among all the houses that we had looked at. The only prob was late 80s early 90s deco. Had to renovate. But good thing is that 5 mins from ILs.
But DH kept hedging lah ... say this wrong, that wrong, very hot as land not elevated land (true, when we went to view in the aft, wah, v v warm lah). Didn't like the longkang behind etc ... :roll: :roll:
Finally it got sold.
Now my DH can still tell me that we shd have bought it and flipped it :!:
Anyway, the thing is, I agree with my DH that if that hse is meant to be yours, you will somehow get it at the rite time and px
So we are now taking a break as DH thinks property pxs are really ridiculous .... :siao:
Our biggest regret in this is not so much that we lost the chance to buy something at lower price, but more so that with my parents getting on in years, there might not be that many years for them to live a ilttle better even when we finally can find a place that is suitable/affordable... -
atrecord:
Then 2-3 mths ago saw got pple sell this Atilla cluster house say got lift, went there see, it's actually Amanusa... this time saw the rooms. the other bedrooms put one single bed only, finish...
Yes, it's really small. They paid $1.6MM for it. They are quite well off financially and I actually wondered why didn't they get a original state house and rebuild to 3 storey,etc... at that point. They could well afford it as they have 2 other properties which they sold off and there will be so much space. 8 of them as well. Heard their face turned really black when they first took over the unit. When we visited their units, only the kids were fascinated with the lift. The adults were like.... not enough place to sit down.atrecord:
You must be a sensitive new age men :udaman: It's true. When we were in the condo, I would usually stay in the room. Everywhere you go, you end up seeing each other due to space. But now, I feel that I don't come face to face with my pils so often due to space. I am usually in the room while they are in the living room,etc... Or I could be in study room so we don't have to bump into each other.I'm well aware of the need to have enough space of our own to avoid unnecessary or potential conflicts.
But seriously, don't give up. You never know if you come across something decent. With the market volatility, you never know. -
We would not have even gone to view it if we knew it was the old amanusa... and better still, was told the maintenance was abt $800 a mth.Yes, it's really small. They paid $1.6MM for it. They are quite well off financially and I actually wondered why didn't they get a original state house and rebuild to 3 storey,etc... at that point. They could well afford it as they have 2 other properties which they sold off and there will be so much space. 8 of them as well. Heard their face turned really black when they first took over the unit. When we visited their units, only the kids were fascinated with the lift. The adults were like.... not enough place to sit down.
You must be a sensitive new age men :udaman: It's true. When we were in the condo, I would usually stay in the room. Everywhere you go, you end up seeing each other due to space. But now, I feel that I don't come face to face with my pils so often due to space. I am usually in the room while they are in the living room,etc... Or I could be in study room so we don't have to bump into each other.
But seriously, don't give up. You never know if you come across something decent. With the market volatility, you never know.
err... not sure abt new age - only know age is catching up
but not only for consideration for DW, even I would like to sometime not have to face my parents. In fact, my feeling is that after living their lives in a way for so long, they might not appreciate us being too near them too, so I made it a point to ask their opinion first - and i made it clear I hope to have some time/space of our own too.
I remember the unit we saw at realty park has a fairly large family area or cosy corner type at level 2, just besides the staircase and before it leads to the bedrooms. Do you have that? It would be ideal for serving as a 'safe haven' other then going into the 'rooms', which sometimes might be viewed as avoiding them. can put another telly there then use excuse of the need to be there cos watch different channels
Been waiting (in vain) for price to correct leh... singapore full of rich pple, so dunno when - if ever - price will drop... -
atrecord:
[We would not have even gone to view it if we knew it was the old amanusa... and better still, was told the maintenance was abt $800 a mth.
I thought the maintenance was much cheaper but for the lift, there is an additional maint cost of $800-$1k per year. Quite an amount to maintain when you retire.atrecord:
Yes, we still have a family area on 2nd floor. As we did rather extensive A&A works (short of rebuilding), we also created a rather sizeable balcony so indeed there are alot more places to go to without having to bump into each other. It's great because my hubby has a big family and they come to our place every month. So the space is good for everyone to engage in different activities. Our only regret is not building 1/2 storey more then we can stay on last floor away from all :lol: But not likely to happen as it's really troublesome to do so. Neighbours changed their roof and did some minor works recently and they moved out for a month plus.I remember the unit we saw at realty park has a fairly large family area or cosy corner type at level 2, just besides the staircase and before it leads to the bedrooms. Do you have that? It would be ideal for serving as a 'safe haven' other then going into the 'rooms', which sometimes might be viewed as avoiding them. can put another telly there then use excuse of the need to be there cos watch different channels
atrecord:
It's funny. I always make this comment whenever I see a ferrari or maserati on the road and it's just getting so common.... So now my ds will say... wow spore got alot of rich people when he see those luxury cars.singapore full of rich pple
I thought the maintenance was much cheaper but for the lift, there is an additional maint cost of $800-$1k per year. Quite an amount to maintain when you retire.
I feel this amt is not too prohibitive lah, considering that it works out to less than $100/mth, while most condos would require ~$300/mth for maintenance. if can get that type of convenience in return, it's quite worth it.MMM:
oh, yah. partial reno is also messy and troublesome.
Yes, we still have a family area on 2nd floor. As we did rather extensive A&A works (short of rebuilding), we also created a rather sizeable balcony so indeed there are alot more places to go to without having to bump into each other. It's great because my hubby has a big family and they come to our place every month. So the space is good for everyone to engage in different activities. Our only regret is not building 1/2 storey more then we can stay on last floor away from all :lol: But not likely to happen as it's really troublesome to do so. Neighbours changed their roof and did some minor works recently and they moved out for a month plus.
To have 3.5 flr means exclusivity and more privacy for you, but it also means more exercises going up/down :lol:MMM:
That's when I would take the chance to encourage kids to study hard now and work hard in the future if they aspire to be like that :celebrate: but this might stress them prematurely...
It's funny. I always make this comment whenever I see a ferrari or maserati on the road and it's just getting so common.... So now my ds will say... wow spore got alot of rich people when he see those luxury cars. -
Hello all!!
Just dropped by to say hi, just joined today staying in SK too.
Cheers
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.