All About Autism
Couragemom:
Yo Couragemom! Contact lens can pop out meh? No wonder you bak jiu ta stamp also dunno. Eyesight problem. LoL.Hi tyeogh!!!!!!!!
Wait, let me pick up my contact lenses which have just popped out from my eyes! Woah, you really did manage to 'engineer' your son to K2! Totally amazing and a salute to both your determination and your son's quantum learning leap! Hopefully your son will lose his PDD-NOS label in Feb and you will be forced to get your darling son to learn Chinese (which I think your wifey is the one with foresight!)
Regarding dating, I just watched my first movie with my husband last year after my older daughter turned 4.5 years old! You are such a nice hubby because my husband is the wooden block who totally believe marriage is a partnership and romance is overrated! Haiz.... My bak-jiu ta stamps (eyes got stamps) during dating time.
Yea, I engineered him back to K2. Pleaded and begged, short of kneeling. Principal kept telling me otherwise, that its better for him to stay back, she has no slots, he is late Dec child so its fine to stay back etc. I kept saying next year K2. Buy what for K2, what I need for K2 ah, K2 got what difference, fill what form to go K2 etc. Come on, I am a parent of a ASD child. Super thick skin.
I give you an advice on getting your wooden block to change. Deny him something. LoL. :rotflmao: -
Double E:
Sis, you got some right beliefs! Wonder where you got it from? LoL. I was beginning to think I was abnormal. Quite evident whats our common denominator. :evil:Tyegoh
I do date with my hubby often. Like you, we will go on couple trips to Bangkok and last year to New York as well date nights on Friday.
I think dating is very important for every married couple with children, not just those with special needs. But I know not many can do that if they do not have family help. I am thankful that my mum can help me when I need a break from the kids. But I think the overseas couple trips will be history soon cos my sis is going to give birth soon and it will be too much for my mum to manage.
I don't go as far off as NY but I do go nearby. Every time we discuss more than 5 days away from our kids, we drop the plan. Sigh. Parenthood.
Keep the date nights going. Let tomorrow worry about the logistics
tyeogh:
Why go see movies when there are real life heros here *wink wink slmkhoo*.
Well, that was one of our \"dates\"! I didn't realise that Turing was being portrayed as Aspie until I saw the film, but it was interesting. The reason we went was because my husband was a mathematician, so he HAD to go and see this film. -
slmkhoo:
Ah. Then I approve. Go date. I am quite a maths geek myself. Think I will go check out the show then. Does it explain differentiation or binomial distribution? :scratchhead:
Well, that was one of our \"dates\"! I didn't realise that Turing was being portrayed as Aspie until I saw the film, but it was interesting. The reason we went was because my husband was a mathematician, so he HAD to go and see this film. -
tyeogh:
Hi tyeogh,Hi seoulover,
Happy to have helped. Many kind parents helped me here years ago so I wish to pay it forward.
I cannot tell you what to do so I will tell you what I did.
My son started AWWA EIPIC with 2 days a week. Then, they did not have a 3 days program. I wrote in to ask for more days and I believe, with similar requests from other parents, they surveyed, found their demand and organized a 3 days program the next year.
You are right about keeping the other free days to do \"homework\" on her. You can't rush such things. The only other public EIPIC I am aware of that offers 4 days is ARC. It shares the same campus with Pathlight and offers direct access into Pathlight at Primary 1. By direct, it means ARC students need not go through Pathlight assessors again since they share assessors and therefore get priority. I did apply and was offered a place in ARC. I turned it down because they did not offer a transport solution.
When my son was 2.5 y.o., he attended mainstream kindergarten in the morning. Then he goes for AWWA in the afternoon with my helper. My wife and me work, so we can't send him there.
According to his mainstream kindy teachers, he was a nightmare. They called him \"opposition party\". He wouldn't comply. Likely because he could not communicate and he wanted things his way. So he will whine, cry, bang his head on the floor etc. We insisted on keeping him at a mainstream kindergarten for the same reason your KKH OT suggested - to let him interact with NT kids. We avoided his kindy teacher each time she wanted to complain. What to do? She and her principal eventually recommended DS to stay back 1 year in Nursery level else they will refuse us a place. I readily agreed. He is now back to his age appropriate class at K2 because of his rapid progress.
On your question of a private ST, being a bona fide kiasu parent, we got him private ST at 2.5 y.o. It was a tumultuous journey. We sent him to Olive Tree at United Square. They kept changing ST. ST kept resigning after targets were set and DS got acclimatized. By the 4th ST, I gave up. Looked up Dynamics. Found that pretty German blonde's CV. She was equipped with PROMPT qualification. She taught my son well. Then, she had to go back to Germany to get married. (More of industry high turnover norm than Murphy's Law). Her replacement was an Aussie woman. She set goals that sounded more like grammar than speech. By then, I realized DS was more or less talking enough and it was not worth paying ST rates to learn grammar so I stopped it. I think DS was 4 y.o. then.
I never considered Dynamics EIPIC because I didn't think it would match up to AWWA's.
Yes, compliance was an issue I had with my son. However it should not be an issue for an experienced ST. You are right in not getting the full mileage out of each session. That's how the cookie crumbles for people like us, unfortunately. Sigh
Thanks for your detailed sharing about your experiences with EIPIC and ST. I actually took two weeks to come to a decision on my choice of EIPIC and feel affirmed after your sharing.
Thanks for sharing on ARC too. I've heard rave reviews on ARC and may consider switching there. Any idea if a clinical diagnosis of ASD is enough or is a psychological assessment compulsory?
I wish your boy all the best. It's heartening to know that he has progressed much. -
tyeogh:
For general audiences, that would be too much Maths! It's more about the person and his life; the solving of the Enigma code was incidental. There's a film about Stephen Hawking that my husband wants to watch too.
Ah. Then I approve. Go date. I am quite a maths geek myself. Think I will go check out the show then. Does it explain differentiation or binomial distribution? :scratchhead:slmkhoo:
totalstranger:
Hi jme.
I have set up a trust fund for my autistic child with SNTC. I think it is very good. You should set this trust fund for your child. You don't need to put in a lot of money initially. You should ask how much is minimum amount that you need to put in for opening an account there.
You need to have a will to put your asset or fund into this trust fund when you and your husband are not here. Beside, your can also nominate your child's account in SNTC as the beneficiary for your CPF account when you are not here.
Thanks totalstranger
will meet the officer to find out more then decide from there. Minimum sum is 5k. I think it should be good since it is under govt. will have peace of mind.
Hi Autumnleaf,
had just helped you check the latest charges, at Child Guidance clinic, Health promotion board (HPB : beside SGH, Outram Park mrt)
Child Guidance clinic (HPB) -
cater to Primary 1 to Primary 6 students.
for Sg citizen -
- if come via Polyclinic with a doctor referral letter, consultation : $ 38 (without medication)
for PR -
- if come via Polyclinic with a doctor referral letter, consultation : $57
But, if walk in directly as private, without going through the Polyclinic -
whether you are Sg citizen or PR :-
charges per visit : $ 90 to $130
To book an appointment, contact telephone : 6389-2200
You ask the staff : when is the earliest appointment, for my child ?
they will ask you : under Private, or under Polyclinic subsidized rate ?
Then, they will inform you when is the earliest date of appointment, accordingly. -
Just sharing a brochure from SISTIC that I happened to see:
Raun K. Kaufman
Autism Help: New Tools To Help Your Child Now
Source:
http://www.sistic.com.sg/events/cautism0215
There is also the below FREE event as stated on the brochure:
An Intimate Evening with Raun K.Kaufman
- A meet the author event
13 Feb 2015 (Fri) 6.30pm
National Library Building, Level 5
--> Admission is free, limited seats. To enquire for availability, please email:
[email protected]
Venue Sponsor: National Library Board
Note: This event does not admit children. -
Hi all mummies and daddies,
I am very happy to find this thread. This is my first time in this forum. Let me introduce about my son.
He is 27 month old and has high risk of ASD according to his doctor at CDU. So he was referred to hearing test, ST, OT and dietitian. He has seen all the therapists and done the hearing test as well. Since he is not a PR (even though we both are PRs), he can't get any subsidy. So Dr suggested to go for a private special school. Private schools are very very expensive!! and most of them are not in the west area.
Currently he is attending a 2 hr play group near our house. He is ok at school not crying nor clingy. But doesn't follow teacher's instruction and most of the time walking around or looking at posters or lie down on floor. So the teacher was telling me to look for a special school for him.
Do you have any recommendation for private school which is good and not so expensive in west area?
Thanks in advance.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.