All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

Autumnleaf:
      Hi mummies, I went for the first consultation and assessment for my DS1 at Cheers learning services in Bukit batok today. They started with an IQ test today and then the next session will be in a couple of weeks which will be an achievement test and she recommended an attention screenibg (Adhd). I am actually wondering if it is necessary to do an achievement test, Afterall she said it is to compare what DS1 knows in comparison to children in the states. Any views to share on this? I would prefer to use that $500 to do an autism screen and attention screening instead.

I believe that an IQ test is necessary for helping to interpret the results of other tests like ASD screening. The various components of the IQ readings will be a kind of benchmark for other results, I think. But I'm not sure an achievement test is necessary. You can ask them to clarify.

• DesertWindD Offline
        DesertWind

Hi all,

How are you? Wow, \"Tye Kor\" is back so I am motivated to share! wink:

Firstly, I have finally settled my boy's transition to P1 mainstream school after one month! 😄

It has been such a blood, sweat and tears (plentiful of heartache already, no need to watch Korean dramas for emo-release :razz: ) during the past few years (plus repeat K2 year) that words could not express our happiness when we finally see him starting mainstream school nicely! :please:

We took the effort to send him to school every day, send him into the assembly hall, find his classroom and then go back after school to make sure he boarded the correct school bus home safely. Initially, my boy was blur like sotong in a big school but I am really pleased he finally found his way around and do assembly without much problems. During his repeat-K2 year in a church kindergarten, he was sitting at the back of the assembly hall in a pew bench and refused to join the other children for assembly. He has come a long way since!

The year of deferment is really worth it as time gave my boy the stability he needs in order to be independent in a large mainstream school. Now, even his PD and those who has worked with him before in the past commented about his stability. (Yes, the nightly prayers are crucial too, Tyeogh!)

His form teacher did share with us a couple of hiccups during the first 2 weeks like there was once he suddenly cried in class and she needed to call in an LBS teacher to handle and calm him down. Another time was his school shorts got stuck and he needed his classmates to help him.

My boy looks forward to go to school so far and he has settled into the routine. However, his teacher has suggested that we send in a shadow-teacher to help him in the classroom and although we were initially dismayed (more tears), we decided to engage one for him since we do want him to be able to get use to a large classroom environment and also the shadow teacher can feedback to us what is actually happening.

Quite a few parents here shared about money. Yes, the cost is exorbitant, state school fees is zero but shadow service almost SGD2K per month! But since my boy has already yelled down Pathlight, we got to give mainstream school our best shot.

Initially I was thinking perhaps I will only share in this forum when my boy has done some great achievement (like last time Mashy shared his boy got the \"most improved\" award in school; or like Simkhoo already gone through 18 years with her girl, now in Pre-U, wow!); or perhaps when my boy cleared all the assessments; or when my boy successfully completed many years in the mainstream primary school etc...

But the journey is a long one and we will be walking on it step-by-step, so I will share now and celebrate whatever little achievements we have made. Hopefully it can also help some parents for whatever they can gather from this sharing too.

Press on!

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

Great news!

Double E

Desertwind,

Good to hear that your son is gradually settling down in mainstream. Hope you can ‘ditch’ the shadow teacher by next term.
            Just curious, if you boy can sort of settle down in mainstream, what is Pathlight’s reason for not accepting your boy?

Desert wind,

it is good to hear that your son has eased into Term 1, well.
              Term 1 is "honeymoon" period, to let kids settle down.

Whether can ditch this $ 2k per month Shadow Tr or not -
              the Form Tr will feedback to you at end of Term 2 (after half a year evaluation).

The Form Tr will gather feedback, from the other 2 Subject Tr, plus other non-academic Tr (PE, Art, Social Studies, Health Education, etc), as well.
              Then come end of year end Term 4 : there’ll be another round of evaluation.

Hopefully by end of Term 2 or 3 :
              can release this expensive Shadow Tr once he get used to the school routine, daily.
              Train him independence : to write / log down into a handbook : what homework to submit to Tr, the next day ?
              Try not to let him submit homework to Tr, late.
              Slowly, gradually, bit by bit : guide him not to be too dependent on this Shadow Tr.

Reason -
              P1 / P2 : allow Shadow Tr, to sit inside classroom, because 30 pupils per class

• tyeoghT Offline
                tyeogh

DesertWind:
                Hi all,

How are you? Wow, \"Tye Kor\" is back so I am motivated to share! wink:

Now, even his PD and those who has worked with him before in the past commented about his stability. (Yes, the nightly prayers are crucial too, Tyeogh!)
                Mai di di wink at me lah. I tell my wife ah.....LoL

You go sister! Tell Autism who's the boss!! Remember JP taught us \"say\" appeared 3 times and \"believe\" 1 time in Mark 11:23. So say Mark 11:23 over your boy every night.

So happy for you. Let me read it again just to feel shiok. Now, even his PD and those who has worked with him before in the past commented about his stability.

• tyeoghT Offline
                  tyeogh

Cool Cool:
                  Dear Couragemom, Gifts from Heaven and tyeogh,

Thanks for the welcome and suggestion.

You suggested focusing more on intervention such as ABA or sped class, OT and ST rather than attending pre-school.

ABA or sped class is different from OT and ST? Can we attend section by section like ST or OT?

Attending pre-school means attending early intervention class?

Sorry if my questions sound silly. I am very new in this.

Thanks.
                  Since the other 2 experts have not responded, I will tell you what little I know.

Number 1, be thick skin here. You will need it in your journey with a special child. Keep asking if no one responds. There is no question too silly to ask.

Number 2, google everything. A lot of information like those you asked can be found online and in more details.

Number 3, sped class means special education. Early Intervention Program In Children (EIPIC) is the most common for young children. It is usually 2-3 hours a day and on 2-4 days a week frequency. Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA) is another sped program your young child can go through too. Google vendors to check their timings. Pre-school means school before Primary 1 and usually refers to mainstream kindergarten. Parents who cannot secure a place in mainstream kindergarten treat EIPIC as pre-school. Occupation Therapy is usually a once a week session. It can be available within EIPIC programs or at private centres. Same for Speech Therapy.

Number 4, I suggest you try for a PR for your son. Everything is going to be expensive if he is neither citizen or PR. Very.

All the best.

Michelle_Lim75

Wow DesertWind! I am really very happy that your boy has made such improvements! I hope that my boy will be able to be as independent as well..

My husband and I are suspecting that our second child might have some learning difficulties. Since we heard from our friend that there is a free workshop at the Olive Tree Educentre and I think we will head down to listen to the talk. Anyone else who is interested can head down for the talk as well!

I visited Olive Tree's Facebook page and found the details of the workshop,

http://i57.tinypic.com/dxgupk.jpg\">

Date: Thur 5 February 7-9pm
                    Refreshments and Sharing
                    Venue : Olive Tree EduCentre (OTEC)
                    1 Goldhill Plaza #03-27 Podium Block
                    (Next to United Square)

Register : Contact [email protected] 96783211 / 62525200. (Free Registration)
                    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/olivetreedevelopmentcenter

Topic: Understanding Learning Difficulties - How to help your child to cope with learning challenges

Synopsis of Talk

Does your child struggle to cope with reading, writing, comprehension or tackling a math concept? If problems are consistently, it might indicate a learning difficulty or disorder. Getting to understand their condition is the first step towards helping them to cope with their learning challenges.

This talk provides an overview of what Learning Difficulties encompasses and its indicators/signs. It is important to understanding on how the brain is wired differently for children with learning difficulties and the implication on learning processes. The talk also includes some useful strategies that can be beneficial for a child to cope with learning difficulties.
                    As we plan for an interactive discussion, we will limit the group size to only 12-15 parents @ OTEC.

I hope that all parents who are facing the same difficulties as us will be able to overcome all challenges eventually 🙂

• DesertWindD Offline
                      DesertWind

tyeogh:
                      Mai di di wink at me lah. I tell my wife ah.....LoL

You go sister!

Hi bro tyeogh,

Tell lor...you and your wifey are so romantic I gathered from your sharing that she must be quite a sweet and pretty little thing! (wink..wink..wink) :evil:

Yes, and I also proclaim \"Restoration!\"

Happy to hear that your boy has improved so much as well, tyeogh!
                      But is it because he is your youngest boy that's why you do not want to delay his P1 at all?

• DesertWindD Offline
                        DesertWind

Great news!

Thanks, Nebbermind!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 669 / 794