2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      schen

Wesim:
      Jialat....my dd's school has not started Chinese compo yet. But Berries has started \"training\" them. Just one picture and literally she needs to write with 3/4 paragraphs. But not every week though. So, I am training her to construct sentences.

As for English compo, her school only gets them to write Journal once a week. But it's ok, she is writing one compo almost every week at The Writer's Place 😓

But how to improve comprehension (both English and Chinese)? Any suggestion? I get her to do almost every week, but some answers still not there leh....very stress liao as I need to prepare her for Science this coming June. Yep, I'm a very KS mum.
      Hi, may I know which writer's place centre do you send dd to? How do you find it?

Wesim

My dd is at the Woodlands Galaxy branch. She is doing well - learn a lot of vocab, sentence construction etc. She will continue to attend this class until she completes her PSLE. Sometimes, they do have Grammar, Comprehension or Oral program during the school holidays. I intend to sign her up, especially the Comprehension.

sean wife

Wesim:
          Jialat....my dd's school has not started Chinese compo yet. But Berries has started \"training\" them. Just one picture and literally she needs to write with 3/4 paragraphs. But not every week though. So, I am training her to construct sentences.

As for English compo, her school only gets them to write Journal once a week. But it's ok, she is writing one compo almost every week at The Writer's Place 😓

But how to improve comprehension (both English and Chinese)? Any suggestion? I get her to do almost every week, but some answers still not there leh....very stress liao as I need to prepare her for Science this coming June. Yep, I'm a very KS mum.

Hi can share how do u intend to prepare your child for science? As in going through the school materials?

Wesim

I have bought some assessment books and P3 Science guide from Popular. Will start from there. I don’t like to go thru the school materials. Let the teacher do it.

Currently, my dd is reading the Science magazines (Young Scientist, Science Adventure, Etc) to get her interested in the subject. She has been reading them since K2. She was homeschooled before entering primary school. So, walking in the park or beach is part of her curriculum. Science has always been one of her subject since she was one.
            Hopefully, all these will help.

• sembgalS Offline
              sembgal

We should bring our children to places like the supermarket, library, Gardens by the Bay, S.E.A. Aquarium, Botanic Garden, NEWater Centre, Butterfly Lodge, park, beach, playground etc to expose them to real Science in real life situation. Despite the fact that the kids are turning 8 years old this year, it is not too early to introduce basic Science concepts to them. As parents, we can read up Science guide books or textbooks and we guide our children by providing them the info when they question due to their natural curiosity.

Take for example the visit to the library or supermarket, we can guide our children about classification. This is very relevant to Science as classification is a topic by itself when children learn about the diversity of living and non-living things in this world. We can teach our children about living and non-living things. Non-living things can be classified as once alive or never alive. Take the library book for example. It it a non-living thing that was once alive as wood comes from tree and is used to make books. Take the supermarket for example, children can go to the fruits and vegetables section to learn about fruits. Do the fruits have one seed only, a few seeds or many seeds? Are the seeds edible? Which fruits have edible seeds? What are the texture of the fruits? Are they smooth or rough?

We can expose them to learning of the animals in the zoo, S.E.A. aquarium, bird park. Children can learn about how the animals can be classified into mammals, fish, birds, reptiles, amphibians and insects groups, the characteristics of the animal groups, their body coverings, the type of food they eat, classified them into herbivores, carnivores or omnivores. How do the animals reproduce? By laying eggs or giving birth alive? How do the animals move? Are the animals considered an endangered animal? Why? Take the polar bear for example. Can introduce the body structural adaptation of the polar bear. From there can introduce about global warming, melting of ice at the poles and how it affects the polar bears. The animal show will explain these in small details.

As for the plants in Botanic Garden or Gardens by the Bay etc. , the children can learn about flowering and non-flowering plants, how plants reproduce, parts of the plant, functions of the parts of the plants etc.

We can expose them to NEWater plant to learn about water cycle too.
              We can bring them to Butterfly Lodge to learn about life cycle of the butterfly. We can bring them to playground to learn about gravity, friction, forces such as gravitational potential energy, kinectic energy. The swings, see-saw, slide, merry-go-round, spider web climbing structure, monkey bar are able to provide these learning points for children to learn.

Science is alive and we shouldn’t just restrict it purely to the textbooks. There is endless possibilities of what one can do to stretch the learning of Science to be fun for children.

• SerendipityS Offline
                Serendipity

sembgal:
                We should bring our children to places like the supermarket, library, Gardens by the Bay, S.E.A. Aquarium, Botanic Garden, NEWater Centre, Butterfly Lodge, park, beach, playground etc to expose them to real Science in real life situation. Despite the fact that the kids are turning 8 years old this year, it is not too early to introduce basic Science concepts to them. As parents, we can read up Science guide books or textbooks and we guide our children by providing them the info when they question due to their natural curiosity.

Take for example the visit to the library or supermarket, we can guide our children about classification. This is very relevant to Science as classification is a topic by itself when children learn about the diversity of living and non-living things in this world. We can teach our children about living and non-living things. Non-living things can be classified as once alive or never alive. Take the library book for example. It it a non-living thing that was once alive as wood comes from tree and is used to make books. Take the supermarket for example, children can go to the fruits and vegetables section to learn about fruits. Do the fruits have one seed only, a few seeds or many seeds? Are the seeds edible? Which fruits have edible seeds? What are the texture of the fruits? Are they smooth or rough?

We can expose them to learning of the animals in the zoo, S.E.A. aquarium, bird park. Children can learn about how the animals can be classified into mammals, fish, birds, reptiles, amphibians and insects groups, the characteristics of the animal groups, their body coverings, the type of food they eat, classified them into herbivores, carnivores or omnivores. How do the animals reproduce? By laying eggs or giving birth alive? How do the animals move? Are the animals considered an endangered animal? Why? Take the polar bear for example. Can introduce the body structural adaptation of the polar bear. From there can introduce about global warming, melting of ice at the poles and how it affects the polar bears. The animal show will explain these in small details.

As for the plants in Botanic Garden or Gardens by the Bay etc. , the children can learn about flowering and non-flowering plants, how plants reproduce, parts of the plant, functions of the parts of the plants etc.

We can expose them to NEWater plant to learn about water cycle too.
                We can bring them to Butterfly Lodge to learn about life cycle of the butterfly. We can bring them to playground to learn about gravity, friction, forces such as gravitational potential energy, kinectic energy. The swings, see-saw, slide, merry-go-round, spider web climbing structure, monkey bar are able to provide these learning points for children to learn.

Science is alive and we shouldn't just restrict it purely to the textbooks. There is endless possibilities of what one can do to stretch the learning of Science to be fun for children.

:goodpost:

• sembgalS Offline
                  sembgal

http://www.motivationgenome.com/positiv ... egies.html

Positive Teaching® for Primary & Kindergarten Parents
                  There is a popular misconception that earlier exposure to PSLE format, rubrics and material will help children score at the PSLE. This is the reason why many parents assign pages of assessment worksheets to their children, and attempt to expose their children to PSLE-like challenges in Lower Primary. Another school of thought advises against that. You would not feed a baby adult food because babies are not stage-ready to deal with adult food. Hence, perhaps one should not teach skills for the Upper Primary to Lower Primary children who are not stage ready.

This Seminar is designed to help parents lay a strong foundation for PSLE content from ages 3-8. The teaching strategies taught are designed to leverage on the child's subconscious learning capacity instead of conscious learning capacity. In Lower Primary, the effective and extensive learning required to build a foundation for PSLE requirements can be achieved through methods far more effective than Assessment Books.

A must-go workshop that is value for money. Places running out fast. Thank goodness I have signed up early.

Conducted by Petunia Lee (Chenoceau) http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/blogs/chenonceau

lovinglife

sembgal:

A must-go workshop that is value for money. Places running out fast. Thank goodness I have signed up early.
                    I went when my DS was K2. 😉

schen

lovinglife:
                      sembgal:

I went when my DS was K2. 😉

What is it about? Good?

FantasyLandDreams

Alternatively, can borrow the petunia lee book from library to read .

http://catalogue.nlb.gov.sg/cgi-bin/spy ... /3395469,1

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 45 / 866