All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
      mashy

tyeogh:
      Double E:

Tyeogh
      My son scored 78 for his IQ test, below average but the doctor said it could be due to his listlessness cos he could score high on certain segments and said he should be able to get above 85 points. So having said that, she said he is suitable for either Pathlight or Mainstream and encouraged us to give Mainstream a shot but have to inform the school on things to look out for him such as sit at the first row, get him to write down instructions to bring home, have a buddy etc.

Husband and I decided to let him try mainstream pri. The two schools that I am interested in have Allied Educators too and they seem supportive, though the first thing they asked is has he been diagnosed? what was the doctor's advice? Like they hope to hear me telling them that he is not suited for mainsteam but I insist to try, so that they can advise me to take the doctor's advice. Haha! maybe I am just being sensitive.

Initially I had the idea like you, to apply for mainsteam and pathlight then decide later. But we decided not to apply for pathlight cos my husband didn't want to subject him to more screening since we have more or less decided on mainstream.

Talking abt spelling, thankfully my son has been cooperative so far. Always get full marks for both Eng and Chinese spelling. In fact, for his Eng spelling, he didn't need to learn any of the words, somehow he can spell them but the words are very simple, 3-4 letter words. For Chinese spelling, I only need to spend about 30mins with him to go through the strokes and he will be able to write them.

His weakest link now is comprehension, which will be a major headache if he doesn't improve on this. After reading a passage, he has difficulty answering questions about it. I am drilling him on this area now, only 6 mths left for me to do so, time is running out. Because no point knowing how to spell but cannot comprehend and apply. And of course, other areas like buying food and wearing pants with buttons. He just learned how to clean his bottom after pooping.

I feel that your child knows the words, just that he doesn't want to do it, he has a very strong mind of his own.

And I do have a good news this week, he can finally swim decently! after learning swimming for almost 2 years. 2 years!! Well, better late than never.

DoubleE,
      Your post prompted me to look at my son's Autism report again. Previously, it was just a bunch of words I didn't understand.

If we are referring to the same thing, my son's Full Scale IQ is 80. He is in the Low Average bracket of 75-86. The report highlighted the FSIQ \"could not be meaningfully interpreted due to the unusually large discrepancy between the highest (PSI) and lowest (VCI) index scores\". I have no idea why our weather's PSI reading is included and what these actually mean. To me, it means the IQ test is not accurate but here's one anyway. Or maybe its still a bunch of words I don't understand. So yea, our boys are sama sama.

Pathlight's admission requirement is \"non-verbal IQ of 70 and above\". Your son qualifies. Just a fyi thingy. I share your husband's view on the screening part. That was/is still my foremost thought. If I am too lazy on June 2, heck it. LoL

There are not many schools with Allied Educators. My son is going to St Andrews. Yours? Our sons could be classmates!

Good job on the spelling! I am blasè on the chinese spelling. Can do, fine. Can't do, no skin off my back - just flash out his exemption letter. He is still in Berries because his mom wants it. I added I-Can-Read because I want it. We put him in CMA Abacus because we both want it. Our children are our dolls. We mess with them whatever way we want it. LoL. His mom wants to add in art classes. I need to find time (and energy) to make that happen. This boy can draw! Anyone with recommendations to art classes?

I wouldn't worry about comprehension. That's way above P1 level. I'd figure the cleaning poop part towards the end of this year. He has no problems wearing his uniform and getting on the school bus alone. He does that now.

The Allied Educators I spoke with are welcoming. Didn't give me the impression they were selective. Apprehension maybe, for yours. Who wouldn't be? Hahaha.

Well done on the swimming!! 2 years?! Wow. You are patient! That's something I always wanted. Problem is with me, not him. Too lazy to teach. He just jumps in the adult pool without care or fear. Too well trained by his EIPIC to like water. Scares the shxt out of me sometimes. What if no adults are around? My P3 boy just got independent swimming in the adult pool alone. I think my breed takes a longer time to figure this part out.

My son had the same \"could not be meaningfully interpreted due to the unusually large discrepancy between the highest (PSI) and lowest (VCI) index scores\" in his report.

He didn't even get a full scale IQ score. Till now I've no idea what's the number. Maybe I should ask the dr next time we see her.

Niu2009

Double E,

Congrat! My son passed his first taekowando grading exam after half year he attended the class. I still remember clearly when first go class he even can’t stand still and follow the instructions. Felt proud of him!

Talking about IQ test, we haven’t done yet. Most possibly let him go mainstream P1 next year. Btw, what kind of comprehension question you let him do?

• tyeoghT Offline
          tyeogh

Double E:
          Tyeogh

Your replies are always peppered with humour. I like. haha
          Yes, I think our sons are similar. Now my son learnt how to use my words against his sister. When I asked her sis \"what are u waiting for?\" when I chide her for eating so slow, my son will say \"U waiting for me ah?\"
          Or when I only give him a \"umm..ummm\", reply, he will chide me and say \"don't keep saying umm ummm umm!\"

I am not the one patience with his swimming, is his swimming coach! This is the second coach I got, the last one taught for a year , no progress so I changed to this. And this one took a year to get my son to swim. He is very patient indeed. Is really God's grace for blessing him with angels who can help him.

And no, my son is not going St Andrews. Too far from my place. He will go to a co-ed neighbourhood school. FYI, all primary schools have at least 1 allied educator. Also, do you know that you can request KKH to release information about your boy to the school so that they can better understand and help him? I may do that.

I think I am more strict than you in academic. Haha! I expect him to do well in his chinese just as well as his Eng and Maths. I know I m not realistic but try lah, On drawing, my boy changed from one who can't draw nuts to one now who can draw really nice trains! but mainly still objects, he is not into drawing living things. And he also draw things like digital clock, the digital buttons on my washing machine and CD player cos he is just too into numbers.

Mashy
          your boy has adapted so well in primary school , hope my son can too.
          DoubleE,
          Ya, I like you too. LoL. Our sons talk alike. Mine talks a bit too much though. Some times he fails to differentiate between talking to kids vs adults and gets rude to my helper or his mom. \"Why must I listen?! Huh huh huh! You go away! I don't like you!\" he shouts at my helper, hands on his hips with an angry look. My cane flies out immediately. Have to correct slowly. As in painfully slow. No meltdowns. Just that he's not exactly a quick learner like his siblings.

Well, at least you bother to throw him to a swim coach. I gave up after a while. I didn't know every school has Allied Educators. I'd get NUH to release info to the school. Thanks for info.

You are probably more kiasu on the education part....like my wife. I am coming to terms with what he is. He is more a visual person. Loves to draw. I told (nag at) my wife, Lets be practical. He is not going to be a doctor, lawyer or engineer. Think along the lines of cartoonist, Playboy magazine photographer, graphic designer, interior designer, architect, in that order of progression. Wait. I think Playboy magazine photographer should be at the top of the hierachy after architect. LoL. Your boy could have the same visual abilities like mine.

• tyeoghT Offline
            tyeogh

mashy:

My son had the same \"could not be meaningfully interpreted due to the unusually large discrepancy between the highest (PSI) and lowest (VCI) index scores\" in his report.

He didn't even get a full scale IQ score. Till now I've no idea what's the number. Maybe I should ask the dr next time we see her.
            Hahaha! Ya! Why must make it so cim?! I don't feel so stupid now. LoL. Just tell us what is happening can liao. Go mainstream or go Pathlight. Write till so difficult. Like he got some major problem. I think you should look for a number between 70 to 100 in that report. Mine really got many numbers sia!

mashy

tyeogh:
              mashy:

Hahaha! Ya! Why must make it so cim?! I don't feel so stupid now. LoL. Just tell us what is happening can liao. Go mainstream or go Pathlight. Write till so difficult. Like he got some major problem. I think you should look for a number between 70 to 100 in that report. Mine really got many numbers sia!

No leh, no numbers at all. Coz the report says since it isn't meaningful, they can't give the score. Duh!

mashy

Double E:
                Tyeogh

Your replies are always peppered with humour. I like. haha
                Yes, I think our sons are similar. Now my son learnt how to use my words against his sister. When I asked her sis \"what are u waiting for?\" when I chide her for eating so slow, my son will say \"U waiting for me ah?\"
                Or when I only give him a \"umm..ummm\", reply, he will chide me and say \"don't keep saying umm ummm umm!\"

I am not the one patience with his swimming, is his swimming coach! This is the second coach I got, the last one taught for a year , no progress so I changed to this. And this one took a year to get my son to swim. He is very patient indeed. Is really God's grace for blessing him with angels who can help him.

And no, my son is not going St Andrews. Too far from my place. He will go to a co-ed neighbourhood school. FYI, all primary schools have at least 1 allied educator. Also, do you know that you can request KKH to release information about your boy to the school so that they can better understand and help him? I may do that.

I think I am more strict than you in academic. Haha! I expect him to do well in his chinese just as well as his Eng and Maths. I know I m not realistic but try lah, On drawing, my boy changed from one who can't draw nuts to one now who can draw really nice trains! but mainly still objects, he is not into drawing living things. And he also draw things like digital clock, the digital buttons on my washing machine and CD player cos he is just too into numbers.

Mashy
                your boy has adapted so well in primary school , hope my son can too.

Can! He will!

My boys has another classmate who is also asd. He too has adapted well. And he takes school bus to school! I think pri school will benefit your boy!

Couragemom

Hi DoubleE,

Woah, my son is also very into numbers leh. I used this to encourage him to do handwriting exercise for Chinese! I said to my son ’ xxx, you finish doing your Chinese strokes then you can write 1-10 on the paper!’ Haiz…

Hi tyeogh,

Any idea what type of jobs a boy with obsession with numbers can do?

Hi parents,

My 3.5 years old son finally know how to be a tattletale (at least at home)! Nowadays he will tell me what bad things his older sister did - ‘mama, Jiejie never eat her dinner!’ Not bad right? Hee… Hee…,

• tyeoghT Offline
                    tyeogh

Couragemom:

Hi tyeogh,

Cashier, accountant, maths professor, Playboy magazine photographer :evil:

mashy

tyeogh:
                      Couragemom:

Hi tyeogh,

Lol.

My son was obsessed with spinning and things that are round.
                      I managed to get him to love the solar system (coz the planets are round and spins), molecules (yes, they are round too!) and it simply evolved to include many sciences.

A boy obsessed with numbers - teach to calculate. Or if he just likes the look of it, to write them differently. Teach him roman numerics. There is so much potential in a boy who loves numbers. Calculate the distance between train stations, teach him statistics. He is going to be such a Maths boy and Singapore loves Maths children.

Niu2009

mashy:
                        tyeogh:

[quote=\"Couragemom\"]
                        Hi tyeogh,

Lol.

My son was obsessed with spinning and things that are round.
                        I managed to get him to love the solar system (coz the planets are round and spins), molecules (yes, they are round too!) and it simply evolved to include many sciences.

A boy obsessed with numbers - teach to calculate. Or if he just likes the look of it, to write them differently. Teach him roman numerics. There is so much potential in a boy who loves numbers. Calculate the distance between train stations, teach him statistics. He is going to be such a Maths boy and Singapore loves Maths children.[/quote]My boy too! Love numbers and solar system. I just let him do IQ math. He quite enjoy!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 689 / 794

MandyLibM
                        MandyLib
                        iworkI
                        iwork