All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.2m Views 3 Watching
      belachanbabe

Hi folks!

Long time no chat liao. :please:

In all honesty, all laziness on my part as my boys have somewhat settled in their respective primary standards. Course there are obstacles here and there but largely manageable. Only biggie decision to be taken is whether to go for MT exemption coz older one still flunking.

Good to see that your kids are progressing well even to the point of settling in mainstream.

Couragemom: wavering attention is standard for every kid la, I would be creeped out if any young child is able to sit still for long, machiam Poltergeist *shudder*

Mashy, Double E: You are both cool parents, hope to grow up to be like you 

Mr Taiko (Tyeogh): still keeping that dry sense of humour. that the attitude goes a long way in NOT going insane.

Slmkhoo: bow down to your Oracle greatness, if I come here at all, it’s to listen to your great advice and experience.

keep Boogie-ing folks :boogie:

• tyeoghT Offline
        tyeogh

Couragemom:
        Hi parents,

Just got my son's half-yearly progress report from his pre-school. Not too bad except for the inability to sit properly and wavering attention. Hee... Hee... V thick skin mommy here hor? Like that also can but I have come to term with my son's condition and I know he will get better but it takes time.
        I got mine too. His new mainstream teacher marked all his categories poorly, presumably in comparison to his K2 NT peers. She being new to him and new to the system. She rattled on as to how P1 is so different and challenging these days, and how these kids must prepare for it. Blah blah blah.

I just asked one question. Whether he is disrupting her class. She replied No. That's all I wanted to hear. Ignored the rest of what she said. Kept beaming happily throughout. We aspie parents have thick skin and selective hearing! LoL

• tyeoghT Offline
          tyeogh

Heya Belachanbabe, how’s the kids going? Yea, insane to the brain for me and Oracle for her. Blah. Are you my friend?!

Double E

tyeogh:
            Couragemom:

Hi parents,

Just got my son's half-yearly progress report from his pre-school. Not too bad except for the inability to sit properly and wavering attention. Hee... Hee... V thick skin mommy here hor? Like that also can but I have come to term with my son's condition and I know he will get better but it takes time.

I got mine too. His new mainstream teacher marked all his categories poorly, presumably in comparison to his K2 NT peers. She being new to him and new to the system. She rattled on as to how P1 is so different and challenging these days, and how these kids must prepare for it. Blah blah blah.

I just asked one question. Whether he is disrupting her class. She replied No. That's all I wanted to hear. Ignored the rest of what she said. Kept beaming happily throughout. We aspie parents have thick skin and selective hearing! LoL

I went for the parent teacher meeting today for my kids too! lol all around this period.

So far, all is well for my son except that he seldom initiate play but will join in the group to play together or rather parallel.

alhana14

Hi everyone. I’m new to this forum and thread. My son is turning 5 later this year and was diagnosed with ASD early last year. During his last review with his doc at KKH, she suggested that we put him in EIPIC after observing him having difficulties in writing the alphabet (he doesn’t like to write). However, I understand the wait time for the program at the centres we are being referred to have 9-12 month wait times. As such, SG Enable has suggested that I check out the Private Intervention Centres that offer subsidies for approved EIPs. My question today is, is/has anyone here sent their child to Kids Cove at Upper Paya Lebar Road? Also, my son is now currently studying at Seeds D’Learning House in Katong. I understand that they also have early intervention program for literacy and math, and wonder if anyone here has sent their child for this program. Any feedback on both (esp Kids Cove) is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Couragemom

Hi balachanbabe,

Thanks for the encouragement! My little rascal’s backside got ants bite lah, simply just fidget while sitting. Haiz…

Hi tyeogh,

You are the man!!! This is exactly the objective I am working towards to by the time my son reaches P1 mainstream (as least that is what I assume!) - non-disruptive to the rest of the class so as to avoid activating the radar sensor of the teacher!

I guess in a classroom with 30 students, as long as a student don’t misbehave too much and understand lesson taught, teacher will leave the child alone.

Couragemom

Hi alhan14,

Nope, I don’t have experience with both so i can’t advise. I work together with my son’s OT (occupational therapist) to work on my son’s handwriting skill. Initially he was very resistant towards writing due to his weak fine motor skill. I went to Popular bookstore to buy Kumon write-and-wipe alphabets (both capital and small) and numbers cards. Then I buy thick whiteboard markers for him to practise on the cards.

Let handwriting exercise be an enjoyable exercise for your son. Let him choose the marker colours and let him wipe the cards himself! I also put a big container of potato chips (his favourite snack) in front of him every time we practise writing and reward him everytime he writes well. Another tactic I learnt and used is to give him constant play break as a reward too. The whole handwriting exercise may be just 15mins in total but I took 30mins and break down to 5 mins writing follow by 5mins play break where I allow my son to play with his trains and cars then come back to the desk to write again.

The key to success is perservance. My son whined, cried and anyhow doodled and drew on bad days but I never relented. Another key factor is to use thicker (or bigger) size pencils/crayons and colour pencils, you can easily get them at Popular stores (big ones not the smaller stores!). I started with rubber pencil grips (you can buy from ryseltoy website) but found them not as effective as thicker writing pencil.

I hope you find my advice useful in teaching your son proper handwriting skill! My 3.5 years old son can now write his alphabets and numbers free-hand but quite ugly and his colouring skill is really bad but it took me almost a year to achieve that so I am v proud of my son no matter what his N2 teachers think about it! Hee…hee…

• sharonkhooS Offline
                    sharonkhoo

alhana14:
                    Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum and thread. My son is turning 5 later this year and was diagnosed with ASD early last year. During his last review with his doc at KKH, she suggested that we put him in EIPIC after observing him having difficulties in writing the alphabet (he doesn't like to write). However, I understand the wait time for the program at the centres we are being referred to have 9-12 month wait times. As such, SG Enable has suggested that I check out the Private Intervention Centres that offer subsidies for approved EIPs. My question today is, is/has anyone here sent their child to Kids Cove at Upper Paya Lebar Road? Also, my son is now currently studying at Seeds D'Learning House in Katong. I understand that they also have early intervention program for literacy and math, and wonder if anyone here has sent their child for this program. Any feedback on both (esp Kids Cove) is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

My daughter has poor fine motor skills and had very poor handwriting all the while, up till now. She didn't really write legibly until around P2-P3. To improve fine motor skills, you can also get him to do more things with his fingers, like playdough, Lego etc, get him to use clothes pegs and bulldog clips, tearing paper (for arts and crafts) etc. It's more fun than just writing.

Niu2009

slmkhoo:
                      alhana14:

Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum and thread. My son is turning 5 later this year and was diagnosed with ASD early last year. During his last review with his doc at KKH, she suggested that we put him in EIPIC after observing him having difficulties in writing the alphabet (he doesn't like to write). However, I understand the wait time for the program at the centres we are being referred to have 9-12 month wait times. As such, SG Enable has suggested that I check out the Private Intervention Centres that offer subsidies for approved EIPs. My question today is, is/has anyone here sent their child to Kids Cove at Upper Paya Lebar Road? Also, my son is now currently studying at Seeds D'Learning House in Katong. I understand that they also have early intervention program for literacy and math, and wonder if anyone here has sent their child for this program. Any feedback on both (esp Kids Cove) is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

My daughter has poor fine motor skills and had very poor handwriting all the while, up till now. She didn't really write legibly until around P2-P3. To improve fine motor skills, you can also get him to do more things with his fingers, like playdough, Lego etc, get him to use clothes pegs and bulldog clips, tearing paper (for arts and crafts) etc. It's more fun than just writing.

I used the Kumon cars too when my boy was 3. We start from numbers as he loves it. Try to follow their interest then add in something they need to learn. Step by step and be consistent, you will see the difference.

• tyeoghT Offline
                        tyeogh

alhana14:

No knowledge of Kids Cove or Seeds D'Learning. The things that struck me strange was you discovered ASD 1.5 years ago and the doc suggested EIPIC now only because he has difficulties writing? Er....the dots are not connecting.

I was told 9-12 months too for govt EIPIC but got it in 3 months. You may want to wait it out since you waited 1.5 years and it is only a handwriting problem? Meaning the child should be fine minus handwriting?

Some have given good suggestions on how to improve fine motor skills. I used Lego too. The small pieces kind. Before Lego, he couldn't write. Now he will not stop drawing. On wardrobes, furniture, sofa, walls. My OSIM chair also don't give chance! Zzzz.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 694 / 794

Xoso66ettcomX
                        Xoso66ettcom

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations