BOOK Fairs
So, what's your damage from MPH this time, hquek?
I didn't get to go eventually..
All of us unwell.
Popular Malaysia sale! :!:
:drool: -
It was the worst ever - damage done to my card.So, what's your damage from MPH this time, hquek?
I didn't get to go eventually..
All of us unwell.
Popular Malaysia sale! :!:
:drool:
I think I went berserk at the idea that things were cheap, also needed shopping therapy, so vented it during mph.
oh dear! I hope you all get well soon.
My wish also....they have that once a year thing in KL - like the one in suntec. I'm waiting to see if I'm crazy enough to go there for the sale (plus the food lah). -
Yah man! Can imagine.. two favourites in one haunt.
Books AND food! Lotsa food! :drool:
Aye, mebbe BA can organize a retreat.. all BAs take
big excursion bus and go kai kai in KL? Come back
all cards dry and need some time to recover so can
resume rehabilitation.. :lol: -
Big excursion bus?? Enough to put the loot meh? BA members leh. Must have container attached. :lol:
Aye, mebbe BA can organize a retreat.. all BAs take big excursion bus and go kai kai in KL? -
Oh no, wallet get lighter while we get heavier :!:Yah man! Can imagine.. two favourites in one haunt.
Books AND food! Lotsa food! :drool:
Aye, mebbe BA can organize a retreat.. all BAs take
big excursion bus and go kai kai in KL? Come back
all cards dry and need some time to recover so can
resume rehabilitation.. :lol: -
I spend a lot on books too! Can keep me posted on any sales? Why buy from Malaysia popular cheaper? Is it because in SG it cost SG7 and Malaysia RM7? Or because there is sale?
Any other good book sales coming up? Also, who is cheaper? Borders? MPH? Popular? Any tips appreciated. Thanks in advance. -
lifestylelink:
Got this thread, I'm sure we'll keep it well and alive. Guess you missed our earlier conversation...but main points is that MPH sale is good value for money (my 2nd very positive experience in a row - so I consider it tried and tested). I don't have good impression of Borders sale (variety and price being of concern) - am awaiting to see if they surprise me in the next sale coming up end of this month.I spend a lot on books too! Can keep me posted on any sales? Why buy from Malaysia popular cheaper? Is it because in SG it cost SG7 and Malaysia RM7? Or because there is sale?
Any other good book sales coming up? Also, who is cheaper? Borders? MPH? Popular? Any tips appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Quite many chinese books are printed in Malaysia, so I'm guessing that it's cheaper. It's not like MYR7 versus SG7 so drastic, but I'm fairly sure there is some difference. Have to go back and see those I have to do effective comparison. I just 'love' (not) it that they don't dare print the retail price in MYR - chinese books have that so it's easy to compare. I would buy books in malaysia mainly cos it's nearer and quite cheap.
FYI, books in china are the ultimate cheap; but quality may be of concern. I have quite a few Dora titles (the english/chinese dual language ones) and some pages are falling out (NOT due to misuse, it's the inherent quality that is problem). -
BA = books anonymous. Supposedly something that should help book crazed pp along. But seems like all we are (or rather I am) doing is to egg each other on by sharing where got best deals. :?:
Yes, please tell us whenever there is good deal
Thanks to your posts here, I went to both Twinkle Twinkle and MPH sale... and the damage to the credit cards on both occasions (or maybe thrice since I went to Twinkle 2 times already)... :moneyflies:
For me, 3 boxes from MPH sale :sick: , mostly hardcovers as I don't have the patience to go through the paperbacks one by one plus have many of them already... On the way back home, kinda wished that I had the guts to check those boxes lying around as indeed, there could be good finds in there :siao:hquek:
... as I was making decision on whether to buy certain books in my boxes, someone came to ask me if those boxes belong to me. I was like thinking :? why she asked me such a funny question huh?Well, if you find everything a mess; one tip. Follow the staff unloading new books - there may be something you want. If they are unpacking from pallet even better. OR, resort to looking through the discarded boxes. There may be good finds in there that pp don't want. Please check if the box belongs to anybody first....dunwan to cause a fight.

Hope that was not you :lol: :lol: -
Busymom:
Yes, please tell us whenever there is good deal
No worries, I like to share good stuff. Was a bit worried this mph sale if there will be stiff competition....hmmm, guess not many pp siao like me.Busymom:
I betta hide from your DH...dun wan kena :spank:Thanks to your posts here, I went to both Twinkle Twinkle and MPH sale... and the damage to the credit cards on both occasions (or maybe thrice since I went to Twinkle 2 times already)... :moneyflies:
Busymom:
Dun worry, I get that jitters too; that's why I keep mulling if I should go back to expo...I know what you mean - I went through the paperback section and I thought I was going blind. :shock:For me, 3 boxes from MPH sale :sick: , mostly hardcovers as I don't have the patience to go through the paperbacks one by one plus have many of them already... On the way back home, kinda wished that I had the guts to check those boxes lying around as indeed, there could be good finds in there :siao:
Busymom:
Honestly, it could be me. But then, a lot of pp just sort the books they want and leave those unwanted lying around. Since the staff aint going to pack, I may as well help them by taking those that I want. I only go to those 'unguarded' ones and pray very hard no one come screaming at me. if there are pp hanging around the box, I won't attempt to go through. At least the person asked ....... as I was making decision on whether to buy certain books in my boxes, someone came to ask me if those boxes belong to me and I was like thinking :? why she ask me such a funny question huh?
Hope that is not you :lol: :lol:
Long time ago, this joker very quickly put his hand in MY box (I was just next to it) - I quickly smacked his hand and I kena scolding for it.....oei....don't just reach into boxes without checking hor. :x -
Honestly, it could be me. But then, a lot of pp just sort the books they want and leave those unwanted lying around. Since the staff aint going to pack, I may as well help them by taking those that I want. I only go to those 'unguarded' ones and pray very hard no one come screaming at me. if there are pp hanging around the box, I won't attempt to go through. At least the person asked ....Busymom:
... as I was making decision on whether to buy certain books in my boxes, someone came to ask me if those boxes belong to me and I was like thinking :? why she ask me such a funny question huh?
Hope that is not you :lol: :lol:
Long time ago, this joker very quickly put his hand in MY box (I was just next to it) - I quickly smacked his hand and I kena scolding for it.....oei....don't just reach into boxes without checking hor. :x
honestly i didn't dare to go through unguarded box around. was worried in case someone came running after me and started to scream at me...
but i may do that if i get desperate..
:oops:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.