BOOK Fairs
:idea: if demand is high, I think I ask the staff to cordon off an area for KSP BA members :!:
:idea: Arrange private preview for BA members
actually if my dh and 2 ds are not in the book sale, tink i may cart home more books. My 2 ds were sitting in a corner reading, they kinda of look tired, i got no heart to contd searching for books.
Me too, luv visitg KL popular bookshop. My dh will start yawning. Almost yearly, we will be in kl for food and shopping. It is true that books over in popular there are cheaper, i ever bgt a chinese left and right brain activitiy book there at half price of what is selling in singapore.
Yah, now DH also scared of me when going Malaysia. I borrowed other pp's popular card the last time round.tree nymph:
I also buy my kid's piano books from Malaysia's Popular too. its cheaper and can still get a discount using their popular card.
Little Men books at $1.80 per book??? gotta kick myself!

It's ok lah, they will have that again I'm sure....have seen the LMLM series quite many times.
2wks ago, a neighbour lend me some chinese storybooks, best w/o hanyu pin yin, which her mum brought it back from malaysia. My ds luv it, so tis year i will definitely try searching for chinese storybooks in kl.
For the mph sale, it was my 1st time gg on the 1st day. Its good,has more variety n neater but the payment queue was horrible. For the prev sale, i often go on the last day, usualy messy and no good find. Indeed a lesson learnt. -
Any idea in KL besides popular bookshop, any other places to buy chinese books?
What about JB? Any good hunt for books?
I only know of 1 Harris book store in JB. Not exactly that cheap compared to Singapore. -
I am trying to ban myself from buying books until further notice... :oops:
Not if you are coming to this thread! :laugh:
Come lah, let me do the siren song and invite you to join BA. :celebrate: -
My feel only. In general, books in MYS are cheaper - but I'm only looking at Chinese books (story books etc). Will keep buying English books from expo sales and overseas websites.
Now that I have learnt, I do make it a point to visit the local Popular bookstore. I THINK, there is one Popular in JB City Square - better to check off the web where are the locations first.
I find that in comparison, MYS books are a bit more local in our context and the quality is good. Books from China are cheap, but I am very wary if they try to provide english words also cos the spelling can be a bit out, and the quality is not great.
All said and done, I'm looking forward to when DS2 catches up with the reading....then I can organize my own lelong (or maybe subcon to Buds) to sell off those kiddy books ---- so that i can go out and buy MORE books. HA HA HA :siao: -
pokemon:
actually if my dh and 2 ds are not in the book sale, tink i may cart home more books. My 2 ds were sitting in a corner reading, they kinda of look tired, i got no heart to contd searching for books.
That's why I left DH and DS2 at home :evil: ....else they be bugging me to go back. DS1 likes to read...I just grab/ask him to grab some books of interest....then he can retire into one corner. But there were a couple of times when he got worried when he cannot see me. -
Hi Hquek,
Thanks again for your mail. Can your 4 yo kid reads?
Hi All,
I like story books from the agent Novum. It is call " tong ye fan" in chinese. The books are nice eg: Idioms, some nice chinese chapter books.
Wondering where are the cheapest way to get these books? I went to Mβsia Harris, not cheap thought, same price as Singapore.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.