[Alexandra/Bukit Merah/Queenstown/Tiong Bahru] Preschools
Hi simpsons,
I recky alot of places already. I didn't check out Cherie hearts becoz it's totally out of my way to work. Now, I'm still deciding between the PCF queenstown and my first skoolhouse @ Indus road. I have to think of the logistics of sending 2 sleepy girls in the morning so I've narrowed it down to this two that are within my budget, have a direct bus to work and good teachers. Curriculum is not a major criteria for me because I'll be teaching them at home after I finish work. I think I'm the best teacher for my kids but
have to work. But I heard good reviews for Cherie hearts, you should check it out! They are in demand too so you better hurry. Plus, there's a thread on Cherie hearts, do look it up as well... Good luck on your recky! :celebrate: -
on_plus_kiasu:
yeah.. i have 'discovered' another childcare at depot ..appleland.. seems ok too... I will drop by to take a look at both childcares soon... hopefully i can get my mind fixed on which childcare to go thereafter.. wow u steady leh.. can still have the stamina to teach your gals after work.. i will only read to her and thereafter i mabok...haha..:D..btw you have twins huh?Hi simpsons,
I recky alot of places already. I didn't check out Cherie hearts becoz it's totally out of my way to work. Now, I'm still deciding between the PCF queenstown and my first skoolhouse @ Indus road. I have to think of the logistics of sending 2 sleepy girls in the morning so I've narrowed it down to this two that are within my budget, have a direct bus to work and good teachers. Curriculum is not a major criteria for me because I'll be teaching them at home after I finish work. I think I'm the best teacher for my kids but
have to work. But I heard good reviews for Cherie hearts, you should check it out! They are in demand too so you better hurry. Plus, there's a thread on Cherie hearts, do look it up as well... Good luck on your recky! :celebrate: -
yemother:
My son is in Queenstown Good Shepherd since his pre-nursery up to now K1. Generally, i think that the teachers there are caring and friendly. Most importantly, they have an immersion chinese programme after school if your child is weak in Chinese. My son benefits a lot from this programme and now he can speak to me in Mandarin very confidently.
Hi yemother
I intend to enrol my son next yr for N1 class. Besides the chinese programme, can u tell me more abt the curriculum? Thanks! -
simpsons:
No, they are exactly 51 weeks apart but they look like twins. The younger one is almost as tall as the older one and she copies the sister in everything. Now, both of them can hold a conversation with each other :lol:
yeah.. i have 'discovered' another childcare at depot ..appleland.. seems ok too... I will drop by to take a look at both childcares soon... hopefully i can get my mind fixed on which childcare to go thereafter.. wow u steady leh.. can still have the stamina to teach your gals after work.. i will only read to her and thereafter i mabok...haha..:D..btw you have twins huh?
Must have stamina one because I've seen alot of cases where the children are super smart but they are just left on their own (4-5 years old still cannot recognise alphabets and numbers and have been in childcare all their lives). I don't want my kids to be like that.
Reading is good! You are still reinforcing what they learn in school.... Even a little bit will do alot for their future. Jia yo!! :ugogirl: -
Hi
Me and my SIL are currently looking for pre-school in Queenstown for next year’s enrollment as we will be moving there by this year. My mum is taking care of the kids so I only need a pre-school and not childcare.
We have found True way presbyterian / Damien Centre & Queenstown Lutheran. I have search thru the forum but can’t seem to find much review on above schools (if I have missed them, please link me thanks!)
They are chosen cos of below points:
1) they have vacancy for both my niece, age 3 & my daughter, age 2.
2) They have school bus.
3) Timing of classes is right.
4) Fees within our budget.
Any parents here having kids in one of the above? Would like to get feedback on the schools, any feedback, no matter good or bad.
Thank you. -
KopiYing:
Any non-aircon childcare centres in this area?
YWCA at Outram, you can check it out. -
Other church based kindergartens in this area that i can think of when I search for 1 for my dd years back, and have good impression on are:
Chinese kinder at Outram
Fairfield Methodist kinder at tanjong pagar
Capstone kinder along telok blangah road
My dd didn’t end up with above kinder as the school bus took about 30-45 mins per trip so i didn’t consider them.
Other kinder yu can check out will be Faith kinder at commonwealth. Here was what i did to select the nursery/ kinder:
1) Shortlist a few and call the schools to arrange for an appt.
2) ask for the curriculum/ time table/ food menu/ teacher ratio for yr child’s age group
3) ask to have a tour around the classroom - check the space, ventilation, light, dining area, toilets…etc
4) call bus operator if your child is taking school bus so you can check the est. travelling time. You don’t want yr poor child to spend so much time on the road at such a young age. Check the cost and the number of children on the bus/ mini van. Less chn means shorter travelling time but more costly lor.
Hope this helps. cheers! -
Thanks Blue-march
We called many, in fact about 30 kinder/childcare already. Faith is out of budget so we are not considering. We are not specifically looking for church schools, just so happen these 3 have vacancy, school bus and quite near to our house.
Have not tried the 3 you mentioned, I shall check out Fairfield tmr since it’s near my office, initially its not in my short-listed cos i think the journey for school bus will be abit far.
Anyway, no harm asking. Thanks again -
lazymummy:
Hi lazymummy,Thanks Blue-march
We called many, in fact about 30 kinder/childcare already. Faith is out of budget so we are not considering. We are not specifically looking for church schools, just so happen these 3 have vacancy, school bus and quite near to our house.
Have not tried the 3 you mentioned, I shall check out Fairfield tmr since it's near my office, initially its not in my short-listed cos i think the journey for school bus will be abit far.
Anyway, no harm asking. Thanks again
You're welcome :celebrate: -
on_plus_kiasu:
No, they are exactly 51 weeks apart but they look like twins. The younger one is almost as tall as the older one and she copies the sister in everything. Now, both of them can hold a conversation with each other :lol:
Must have stamina one because I've seen alot of cases where the children are super smart but they are just left on their own (4-5 years old still cannot recognise alphabets and numbers and have been in childcare all their lives). I don't want my kids to be like that.
Reading is good! You are still reinforcing what they learn in school.... Even a little bit will do alot for their future. Jia yo!! :ugogirl:
O.. so they have very close age gap ya.. so sweet that they can communicate with each other.. imagine them using their baby language.. sweet...:D
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.