Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      minnie2004

I just scolded somebody else's maid this morning. And I dun even know who her employer is.

Was driving to work and heading towards a T junction when I saw a little girl standing at the edge of the pavement at that junction. Initially thought she was lost and I slowed down as I was afraid she will dash across the road. Then I noticed someone a distance away on the pedestrian walk waving and calling for the girl to go to her. The girl just stood there and refuse the move. Then suddenly the girl stepped off the curb and walked right into the middle of the road and the maid just stood where she was and just yelled at the girl to 'come'. I :x . Wound down my window and scolded the maid. Told her she cannot just leave a girl to walk alone like that. The maid argued saying the girl refuse the let her hold her hand. Told her then you walk with her! Not ahead of her! Especially when on a road, what more a junction with cars coming from 3 different directions! The maid quickly pulled the girl and walked off. I am still :x :x :x
      That's scary! The maids are just always looking for shortcuts when their employers are not around to watch them. We need more people like you so they know they're under public scrutiny!

When my maid first started, she also didn't know the importance of watching the kids while walking near the roads. She'd keep walking by herself at the front. I told her that she had to watch the kids closely at all times and hold their hands whenever there're cars nearby, be it in the streets or carparks. She's still quite young and doesn't have her own kids so this doesn't appear as natural instint to her.

minnie2004

lovekidsverymuch:

[quote=\"hquek\"]Quite sian hor. Dunno why their memory so short. But at least she listen. For me, if she take in my instructions, I'm fine. Black face, I'll turn away....and remember when thinking about how much bonus (if any) to give her. 😛

Yeah lor thats why i say they have very less memory then if u too strict they cry which I hate to my core :x

oh so true....on cue, their eyes turn red, then their noses, and then a trickle of tear will escape. I usually end with, no need to cry, just remember next time can already. Thank you. (and then turn my back and walk away). Can write auto-script already....[/quote]Yeah this is getting quite annoying. Mine would hide in the kitchen or her bathroom when her eyes turn red. Before I'd comfort her and tell her something like \"please don't take it personal\". It's usually my DH who made her cry though. When it happens too much, I just ignore that. Sometimes my DD sees her eyes turn red and she runs to the kitchen, she'll chase after her and ask \"auntie, are you crying\" :faint:

mummy of 2

peapot:
          Mummy of 2 I think with maids, you need to be very firm. No jokes and no chit chat with them. Once you start to be nice to them they will dare to show black face. Except for the previous Myanmar maid, all my other maids don't dare to show black face to me. I learn this the hard way. When they first step into your house, I do not open up to her and I treat her very business like. Why don't you try this method and see whether your new maid will still give you black face. Also, you should try to give her black face too inorder for her to know how its like.

Maybe we should also put this in as a houserule??!! Aiyo! Ha....too many rules!!
          Yes, I'm learning that need to be really firm. I'm not the type to chit chat or laugh woth maid but I don't say much, as usually leave it to ILs to teach the maid how to do housework etc.

My most recent maid - her attitude is really horrible. Just because we treat her well, she thinks we are easy-going. :x

MrsSeah

I just scolded somebody else's maid this morning. And I dun even know who her employer is.

Was driving to work and heading towards a T junction when I saw a little girl standing at the edge of the pavement at that junction. Initially thought she was lost and I slowed down as I was afraid she will dash across the road. Then I noticed someone a distance away on the pedestrian walk waving and calling for the girl to go to her. The girl just stood there and refuse the move. Then suddenly the girl stepped off the curb and walked right into the middle of the road and the maid just stood where she was and just yelled at the girl to 'come'. I :x . Wound down my window and scolded the maid. Told her she cannot just leave a girl to walk alone like that. The maid argued saying the girl refuse the let her hold her hand. Told her then you walk with her! Not ahead of her! Especially when on a road, what more a junction with cars coming from 3 different directions! The maid quickly pulled the girl and walked off. I am still :x :x :x
            Wow angry!!! I really HATE irresponsible maid. I really dislike KPO but I once scolded a maid before. I \"lun\" for numerous day than I scolded her. Every morning saw the maid bringing a little girl (look like Nursery or K1) to school, she just walk in front and the little girl walk behind. I'm fine if they are walking on the pavement but they are walking across the CARPARK!!! She just walk and leave the little girl following her behind. :x :x :x Treating the carpark like her grandfather road. 😛 When I scolded her, she also tell me the girl don't want to let her hold her hand. What a &(#*&$(@ excuse!! :x

mummy of 2

That's why I will never allow my maid to bring my kids anywhere.

hquek

Not surprised by these stories. At a queue in NTUC, I once witnessed a maid stepping on a pencil the 1 year old baby was playing with (don’t ask me why anyone would allow a 1 y/o to play with pencil); and then gave the same pencil to the child to play and put in the mouth…she didn’t even wipe!!! :x :x

Was so angry that I told her loudly she never clean…and she started scolding me. So I gave it back to her and called her ‘dirty maid’ to her face. So angry that I could only go into a spiel about karma in my mind…speechless.

My mum ever see maids standing around and chatting, and the kids they mind playing near a BIG DRAIN…

All these stories why I would never ever trust a baby (or a young child who couldn’t talk) to a maid. There are good ones around - but I don’t want to encounter a bad one.

happychick

lovekidsverymuch/Andaiz/hquek : thank you for your views !!!

dont really have much time to write a longer response to your replies, but in essence, once the kids has a bedtime routine (be it me, or any helper), the kids sld stick with it, and not change according to the helper - that is my \"problem\" here - the helper tends to stay till he is fast asleep then continuing to do her work - i dont have an issue with it, cuz she doesn't need to do much at home, but i'm afraid my boy gets too used to it, and cant fall asleep on his own.
                  On the other hand, my 4 yr DD is terrible !! she doesn;'t nap in the afternoons - so i've sorta given up on her ... heehee i say that in a loving way 🙂
                  Happy midweek all !!

happychick

exactly 🙂

was just posting in another thread that my DD 4 yrs refuses to sleep in the afternoon - and i dont want the helper to \"force\" her to nap ... already she has a \"fear\" of napping ...

sigh

Andaiz

happychick:
                      exactly 🙂

was just posting in another thread that my DD 4 yrs refuses to sleep in the afternoon - and i dont want the helper to \"force\" her to nap ... already she has a \"fear\" of napping ...

sigh
                      happychick, each kid's different. My dd2 stopped having naps at 4 yo as well. Now that she's on extended day in K2, she comes home deadbeat and power naps for about 1/2 to 1 hour from 4pm till early dinner time.

Bottom line is don't fight them! 😉

happychick

Andaiz : wow !!! what activities does she do in school ??

if she naps till dinner time, what time does she sleep at night ??

yah, the more you fight, the more they will fight back !!! these little creatures :love:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 192 / 1032