All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.2m Views 3 Watching
      Double E

slmkhoo:
      Double E:

Mothers who have kids in Pri, what else do I need to prepare him? And how do you train him to follow the school timetable? I will be submitting his psychology report to the school during orientation so that the school can take note when allocating a class for him.

Telling him will probably not be enough. In fact, telling him too much may stress him unduly in advance. For those skills that he needs to learn before school starts, it would be good to have him practise them from now on until they become normal to him. Start slow and you still have a few months to work them up to speed. For timetables, get him accustomed to following one by drawing one up for his days now so he will get the hang of translating what he sees on paper to his reality. Other things will be managing money, coping with clothing etc. There will probably be many things that crop up along the way, and the only advice I can give is to take each day as it comes. Don't get worked up if he doesn't learn the skills as fast or cope as well as the others; be patient and coach him and he should manage them eventually.

slmkhoo
      you are right! I have been talking so much abt the things that he needs to do in Primary school that he told me that he didn't want to go Primary school because is not fun! I had an \"OOOPPPS\" moment when he told me that. I should really take it easy and not nag at him.

• sharonkhooS Offline
        sharonkhoo

Double E:
        slmkhoo:

[quote=\"Double E\"]Mothers who have kids in Pri, what else do I need to prepare him? And how do you train him to follow the school timetable? I will be submitting his psychology report to the school during orientation so that the school can take note when allocating a class for him.

Telling him will probably not be enough. In fact, telling him too much may stress him unduly in advance. For those skills that he needs to learn before school starts, it would be good to have him practise them from now on until they become normal to him. Start slow and you still have a few months to work them up to speed. For timetables, get him accustomed to following one by drawing one up for his days now so he will get the hang of translating what he sees on paper to his reality. Other things will be managing money, coping with clothing etc. There will probably be many things that crop up along the way, and the only advice I can give is to take each day as it comes. Don't get worked up if he doesn't learn the skills as fast or cope as well as the others; be patient and coach him and he should manage them eventually.

slmkhoo
        you are right! I have been talking so much abt the things that he needs to do in Primary school that he told me that he didn't want to go Primary school because is not fun! I had an \"OOOPPPS\" moment when he told me that. I should really take it easy and not nag at him.[/quote]Yes, it's probably better if you make a list but keep it private, and get him to master them over the next few months without telling him that it's because of school. They when he goes for school orientation, you can tell him \"you can already xxx and xxx, so you'll be fine!\" and encourage him to look forward to the school experience. It's always better to make the new experience sound positive and enjoyable rather than tell him how difficult he might find it.

Double E

Couragemom:
          Hi Double E,

Congrats!!!! I personally think nowadays getting into Pri school is like striking lottery like that!

Hi double E, niu2009 and tyeogh,

Woah, all your darlings will enter P1 soon. Do come back to this forum regularly to update us! My son is in N2, hmm... It seems like he is one of the youngest? Nobody to 'graduate' pre-school together?
          Couragemom
          yes it is like striking lottery! But I think if I wasn't so keen on a particular school but just any other school, the process will be less stressful. In fact it will be a breeze.
          We parents stress ourselves because we are selective πŸ˜“

yeah... but times flies. When I first joined this thread. I think my boy was only in N1.

• tyeoghT Offline
            tyeogh

Double E:

Mothers who have kids in Pri, what else do I need to prepare him?
            Oi....fathers leh? :pokeeye:

Niu2009

Hi Double E,

Have you listed down what P1 student supposed to do? Can share? His K2 teacher now changing the class setting to like primary school and teach them how to use money buy things. For my son, my concern is he can follow multi steps instructions and not loss himself in a big group (30 people).
              Just don’ know how to train him at home.

Double E

tyeogh:
                Double E:

Mothers who have kids in Pri, what else do I need to prepare him?

Oi....fathers leh? :pokeeye:

Ok lah , u too.

• sharonkhooS Offline
                  sharonkhoo

Niu2009:
                  Hi Double E,

Have you listed down what P1 student supposed to do? Can share? His K2 teacher now changing the class setting to like primary school and teach them how to use money buy things. For my son, my concern is he can follow multi steps instructions and not loss himself in a big group (30 people).
                  Just don' know how to train him at home.
                  Don't worry too much. Even some NT kids can't cope with multi-step instructions! Just inform the teacher to watch if he is not getting it. Most P1 teachers are accustomed to coping with kids who need time to get up to speed. I would say some of the most important things are being able to ask for permission to go to the toilet, ask when things are unclear, learn to copy someone else to stay in step with the class, remember to pack up his things and not lose stuff etc. You can work with his teacher after school starts as she alerts you to additional things he may need to learn.

Double E:
                    Mothers who have kids in Pri, what else do I need to prepare him? And how do you train him to follow the school timetable? I will be submitting his psychology report to the school during orientation so that the school can take note when allocating a class for him.

Sorting out class allocation for P1 cohort is done first by school, before official letters are sent out to parents' home by post : informing them which P1 class their child has been assigned to.
                    On actual P1 Orientation day, pupils sit according to the class which they had been assigned to, seated in rows of 2 by 2, inside school hall. Form Tr and Co-Form Tr together, then lead and bring down pupils to their respective P1 classroom.

you may wish to let your school know, before class allocation is done, so as to give Principal some time to prepare & allocate an AED Teacher, to the class.

On P1 Orientation day itself, you'll get to meet other parents, same class as your son.

may join your P1 class parents chat whatsapp group (very useful to join), to alert one another inside the class, eg:
                    like which spelling lesson #x or which 听 写 lesson #y is on for next week, or what things to bring for next week Art lesson ? pupil to bring water color or bring color pencils, or bring crayon, bring apron (don't dirty uniform) plus drawing paper, etc ?

If no one take the initiative to be the group administrator to start whatsapp group in your class, can initiate.
                    Just ask parents casually around, \"Hi, nice to meet you. Have you already joined a whatsapp group, in our class ? If not, would you like to join me ? \"
                    if that parent agree, ask for her handphone contact.
                    Soon, you'll be able to gather a few like-minded parents, form a whatsapp group.

After P1 Orientation, in first week of school 2016 Term 1, P1 Form Tr will email parents, their daily class Timetable schedule.

Each day after come back home from school, may prepare a home time-table daily routine (can use Excel spreadsheet, print it out, paste onto a wall) like :-
                    start time to end time : bathe, makan lunch, makan dinner

start time to end time : complete all school homework assignment first, requested by various school Subject Tr (English, Maths, Chinese)

start time to end time : learn spelling or learn 听 写, for this week

start time to end time : prepare English / Maths / Chinese, mini byte-sized coming up tests, for zth week

start time to end time : read storybooks, play games (indoor or outdoor), cycle, swim, play piano / violin, etc

before your son go to sleep daily, guide him to follow his class Timetable schedule, like get him to pack his books for next day lessons,
                    prepare water bottle,

prepare $ for recess-time (max $2 per day will do, also put another emergency $2 spare cash elsewhere, in case he forgot to bring recess time $ one day to school, no need to approach Form Tr to borrow $ for recess). Teach your son : if need to borrow $ for recess, only borrow from Form Tr, or borrow from Co-Form Tr, do not borrow from classmates.

prepare glasses (if need be, for short-sighted pupils),

prepare jacket (if classroom is air-con, cold).

Prepare a packing list for him, to follow.
                    First time, u guide him. Subsequently, watch and observe, see whether he can pack his stuff, independently. If he does it on his own without prompting, hug him, praise him \"Good job done, son\", give him a motivation sticker, small award, etc.

After a while, he will get used to it gradually, become a daily habit, a daily routine.

Snow24

Hi

Any recommendation for social thinking programme?

Appleworm

Hi!

My boy is 3yo & i am intending to engage ST & behaviour therapy for him, appreciate if all can recommend any good therapist
                        Has anyone used ABC for aba before? Heard a friend who mention that they are certified and proven effective.
                        There are so many options but not sure who is really experienced in the therapy.
                        I am considering to put him in mainstream cc for half a day and the rest to occupy him with therapy but still uncertain where to go.
                        I tried to enrol him in rainbow however it appears that he is learning all the "wierd" stuff, am worried abt the same outcome in pte spc Sch thus resorting to pte therapy only.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 719 / 794

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies