Compare RGS vs NYGH
haha … give chance lah. Maybe the way it’s phrased is not music to your ears but I am sure she was just being candid.
rains:
haha ... give chance lah. Maybe the way it's phrased is not music to your ears but I am sure she was just being candid.
ok lah, hm.... candid but better more 正能量 :yikes: ...
your face very big :salute: ... ok ok liao.
:imsorry: :offtopic: :siam: back to moon cake thread... -
GLORYmum:
Yes, picking a CCA you like is important. At the same time, do keep an open mind and have a back up CCA just in case.KitKat Cat:
Choosing is going to be hard.

You may also like to have a look at the CCAs offered to better your choice.
My dd didn't get her 1st choice CCA (audition for that CCA was too competitive)
Luckily she is happy with her current CCA though not her initial choice. -
Thanks everyone for all your advice. But CCA wise the decision isn’t much clearer. I’m a gepper, and before I transferred I used to play in my schools chinese orchestra as part of the school team. Currently I take modern dance, again as part of the school team and used to be part of our school’s one year debate programmed. I intend to take debate as my CCA but I’m not really sure if that helps much since both schools have strong debate teams. Currently k might be leaning a bit more to RGS as it will give me a more global kind of education rather than just China centric, though I u deist and nygh also has international partners that are not China.
KitKat Cat:
Thanks everyone for all your advice. But CCA wise the decision isn't much clearer. I'm a gepper, and before I transferred I used to play in my schools chinese orchestra as part of the school team. Currently I take modern dance, again as part of the school team and used to be part of our school's one year debate programmed. I intend to take debate as my CCA but I'm not really sure if that helps much since both schools have strong debate teams. Currently k might be leaning a bit more to RGS as it will give me a more global kind of education rather than just China centric, though I u deist and nygh also has international partners that are not China.
NYGH will be going through major construction at its current premises and RGS will be moving to new campus at Braddel-Westlake in two years time... Is this part of your consideration?
You must be a very smart girl where both schools want to \"chope\" you. -
Nah, I’m not really that smart. It was a miracle that both schools accepted me. Once RGS moves it will be much closer to my house, and I don’t really mind the construction. I took these into consideration as well when making my choice. I’ve been asking around to see if anyone has studied there to find out more about the school culture, which is pretty important to me. When I first transferred from my old school I had a lot of trouble adjusting because the culture was so different and I was the only girl who was selected for the GEP in my school that year so I didn’t know anyone in my new school. So school culture wise, RGS is more sisterhood based, but nanyang seems less competitive.
KitKat Cat:
Nah, I'm not really that smart. It was a miracle that both schools accepted me. Once RGS moves it will be much closer to my house, and I don't really mind the construction. I took these into consideration as well when making my choice. I've been asking around to see if anyone has studied there to find out more about the school culture, which is pretty important to me. When I first transferred from my old school I had a lot of trouble adjusting because the culture was so different and I was the only girl who was selected for the GEP in my school that year so I didn't know anyone in my new school. So school culture wise, RGS is more sisterhood based, but nanyang seems less competitive.
If you want to know about school culture, you might be better off asking your seniors in those schools rather than here, where we are mostly parents! I think adjusting to a school is pretty much dependent on yourself, so if you have any particular likes/dislikes, then you should ask specifically about those areas. Every school caters for a fairly wide range of \"types\". -
I’m aware that most of you here are parents, but I’ve heard what my seniors have to say and it’s really quite biased. I was hoping that since most parents help their children select a school you all might be able to help me make a better choice based on a better criteria. My cousin chose her school because the uniform was nice. I don’t want to make decisions like that so I wanted to tap in on the wisdom of the parents.
KitKat Cat:
I'm aware that most of you here are parents, but I've heard what my seniors have to say and it's really quite biased. I was hoping that since most parents help their children select a school you all might be able to help me make a better choice based on a better criteria. My cousin chose her school because the uniform was nice. I don't want to make decisions like that so I wanted to tap in on the wisdom of the parents.
RGS thinked that GEP students suite their curriculum very well. That is why they select a lot of GEP students through DSA... I think.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.