Wanton Mee

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    156 Posts 25 Posters 51.8k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      ooptimizer

Thanks for the info. Hope to try some of them soon! πŸ˜„

VitoRelax

Chirunner:
        GEOFFREY EU'S \"MAD ABOUT MEE\"

Business Times weekend Aug 22, 2009

Koung's wantan Mee
        205 Sim's Ave (at Lorong 21A)Β 
        6748-0305
        7am-8.30pm closed Monday

128 Eating Corner
        Hong Mao Noodle House
        128 Tembeling Road

Kola Wanton Noodles
        Blk 10 #01-99 North Bridge Rd Market & Food Centre 861 North Bridge Rd
        8 pm to midnight closed Sundays

Kok Kee Wanton Noodle
        #01-06 Lavender Food Sq
        195 Lavender St
        1 pm onwards closed Thursdays

Blk 51 Old Airport Rd Food Centre
        Kallang Wonton Noodle #01-61 sister
        Cho Kee Noodle #01-04 brotherΒ 
        Hua Kee Hougang Famous Wanton Mee #01-02

Nam Seng Noodles & Fried Rice
        15 China St #01-01 Far East Sq

Foong Kee Coffee Shop
        6 Keong Saik Road
        Hong Kong style noodles n delicious char Siew. Thin springy noodles distinct from local versions above.

I haven't tried them all. Just made a note after reading the BT article.
        Good list. Thnaks.

Another one is at Geylang Lrg 13

VitoRelax

Okay, Apek, got the info for you.

The wantan mee stall that I have been telling you about :

Yi Shu Jia Shu Shi
          Blk 209 #01-57 (Upper Deck)
          Hougang Street 21
          Singapore 530209

Remember it is the stall on the right side of the staircase up from Kovan Hub, not on the left, sandwiched between Ponggol Noodles and a Vegetarian Food Stall. They use light blue plates, not green ones. Plenty of parking lots at Kovan Hub (former bus interchange).

They will open till this Friday. Close all the way from 13 to 16 Feb and reopens on 17 Feb.

Happy Eating!
          Thanks 25hourmaid,

The whole place is undergoing upgrading on 19th April 2010. So, I made the extra effort to go there today for lunch ....

There is also a note at this stall which says that they will be moving to Blk 203 from 1st May 2010 onwards.

The noodle is of good quality. I find that the wanton is good & fresh. Good find, maid ... but looks like you have to wait until 1st May to eat at Blk 203.

Cheers

Apek, so you finally made a trip there! Glad to hear that you liked the wantan mee that I recommended and thanks for posting the update on where they would move to while the hawker centre is being renovated. Will check them out at Blk 203 after 1 May.

Haha, they have decades of preparing wantan mee, so of course their noodles are of a certain standard and their wantan is fresh because they are wrapped on the the spot. :celebrate:

BTW, did I mention that I have been their loyal customer since those days when they used to sell from their dad's push-cart by the roadside? πŸ˜„

Looks like we share the same taste where wantan mee is concerned. πŸ˜‰

• E Offline
              ezmum

Thanks 25hourmaid,

The whole place is undergoing upgrading on 19th April 2010. So, I made the extra effort to go there today for lunch ....

There is also a note at this stall which says that they will be moving to Blk 203 from 1st May 2010 onwards.

The noodle is of good quality. I find that the wanton is good & fresh. Good find, maid ... but looks like you have to wait until 1st May to eat at Blk 203.

Cheers
              Hi Vito,

Glad you've made the trip to Kovan HC & tried the food there before it's closed for abt 6 mths from tmw.

Just curious, have you've tried the other stall (Ming Fa) which I've mentioned too. It's nothing personal but would be nice to hear your comments as well, as afterall they have enjoyed good TV ratings & a constant long Q of loyal customers.

It's ok even if it's not to your liking & don't worry, I won't be offended & certainly will not yell at you. promise. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

VitoRelax

ezmum:
                Hi Vito,

Glad you've made the trip to Kovan HC & tried the food there before it's closed for abt 6 mths from tmw.

Just curious, have you've tried the other stall (Ming Fa) which I've mentioned too. It's nothing personal but would be nice to hear your comments as well, as afterall they have enjoyed good TV ratings & a constant long Q of loyal customers.

It's ok even if it's not to your liking & don't worry, I won't be offended & certainly will not yell at you. promise. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
                Hi ezmum,

I am not sure which one is Ming Fa. Are you referring to the stall on the upper deck as well which starts as 51 something something .... the stall number is #01-51 ... ?

If that is the one, then I have no chance to try because it was closed yesterday. U know their opening hours ?

Is Ming Fa francise ? I think Ming Fa can be found everywhere ... in Smith Street ... in Chinatown ... etc .... is it the same Ming Fa ?

• E Offline
                  ezmum

Hi ezmum,

I am not sure which one is Ming Fa. Are you referring to the stall on the upper deck as well which starts as 51 something something .... the stall number is #01-51 ... ?

If that is the one, then I have no chance to try because it was closed yesterday. U know their opening hours ?

Is Ming Fa francise ? I think Ming Fa can be found everywhere ... in Smith Street ... in Chinatown ... etc .... is it the same Ming Fa ?
                  Yes, that should be the one on the upp deck. They are closed on Wed & Thur, and they are usually sold out by 2pm.

No, this is the one & only stall. The lady boss told me last week that they will not be taking up the temp stall(near Kovan Superbowl) & will only re-open 6 mths later.

VitoRelax

ezmum:
                    Yes, that should be the one on the upp deck. They are closed on Wed & Thur, and they are usually sold out by 2pm.

No, this is the one & only stall. The lady boss told me last week that they will not be taking up the temp stall(near Kovan Superbowl) & will only re-open 6 mths later.
                    So this is a different Ming Fa ? Wah, so many Ming Fa ....

Anyway, why they dowan to take up the temp stall ? They go on long holiday ? πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„

• E Offline
                      ezmum

Understand that many of the stallholders are not taking up the temp stalls due to high rental costs.

Anyway, 51 Ming Fa can afford to do so lah.
                      πŸ˜„

VitoRelax

ezmum:
                        Understand that many of the stallholders are not taking up the temp stalls due to high rental costs.

Anyway, 51 Ming Fa can afford to do so lah.
                        πŸ˜„
                        Alamak, temp stall also gotta pay high rental ?

Think Ming Fa should be able to afford lah after all they already make so much money...., maybe just that they wanna take a break leh ... πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„ πŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 15 / 16

excellencetuitionacademyE
                        excellencetuitionacademy