Chope-ing (reserving) seats using tissue paper
smurf:
yalor...so the banner is meant for you to fight the \"tissue paper\" league.agreed with ks2me. but hor, they weren't even with kids leh. whereas I was with DS2. and I was holding him while holding a tray with food.
OT: pepper lunch at Scotts Isetan is really good. before you order, you just queue and then tell them how many people you have, and they will look for seat for you. I enjoy going there. no doubt, it's fast food but their service is thumb up!
yup, the 2 tissue women were eating same food. :rant:
lovekidsverymuch:
looks like it has become a national practice :!:
It is national practice so there is a business opportunity here...
lovekidsverymuch:
there r oredi lotsa ppl selling tissue paper outside the food courts and inside too :!:[/quote]I am not talking about tissue paper selling.ks2me:
[quote=\"lovekidsverymuch\"]looks like it has become a national practice :!:
It is national practice so there is a business opportunity here...
Devil’s advocate here. I like the custom of tissue choping for the following reasons:
1. when I’m by myself, there is none to help me chope seats. Then how? buy food and precariously balance it while looking anxiously for seat?
2. when I’m in a group of persons, assuming that everyone wants to eat different things. If one person stay behind to chope the seat. that fella will have to get up and look for food and queue AFTER someone else come back. Meaning there is longer leadtime for the table to be free.
But I think there should be a certain ‘code of conduct’. Meaning, one pack of belonging for 1 chair - then pp will know if the other is taken/free.
What I hate hate are those pp who will happily plonk their bags onto unused chairs in a crowded place. Hey, if that bag is balanceable, please just hang it somewhere off the owner. There are reports about bag snatchers in SG afterall…a bit not safe hor. -
Its a common practise, me and colleagues also do that, but we use umbrellas. No choice, to save time. During lunch time, its difficult to find seats + the queue is long and we only have 1 hr. If happen someone is eating the same food, that person would sit down to chop place.
But during weekends, when out for dinner with family, someone would sit down to chop while the others buy our food. -
This is a super unqiue way in Singapore. No one should stop this

so what is the practise? one pack of tissue = whole table or just 1 seat? :?
mummyjoyce:
This is a super unqiue way in Singapore. No one should stop this

Uniquely Singapore
smurf:
when i go out with ds2 alone, i try to avoid the lunch crowd/period. and if really need to eat there, i will buy take away portions and then look for a seat. it is easier to handle take away packaging than a tray, and also in case eat halfway kid need to go toilet, i can also pack and go.agreed with ks2me. but hor, they weren't even with kids leh. whereas I was with DS2. and I was holding him while holding a tray with food.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.