Chope-ing (reserving) seats using tissue paper
Buds,tree nymph:
Buds, I think the idea is good. But what if you are alone in a very crowded food court like during lunch time?
Irregardless. I stand by my principles. I have not choped with tissue
before and i won't start just cos it's crowded and what nots. It's just
not considerate. Period. If i... with the baby and another toddler plus
all my battle gear and purchased items can do without chope-ing till
today... then shame on those young ones who hafta stoop to such so
-called practices right? Likewise for bagagge free patrons, who can
just easily queue up in line (not squeeze here & there like me going
excuse me.. excuse me.. with my whole load of stuff) with only their
wallet and umbrella to get their food... but instead choose to chope
with tissue paper. Can imagine?
I will seriously consider your views. -
I simply find it selfish and inconsiderate.
I agree with buds on this.
[quote]If dining with others family or colleagues, we take turns to get our food... or one person can buy for another friend or family member, who sits. [/quote]I do the same too.
[quote]When i see people who have finished eating and won't move butts, i would smile and politely ask, \"Are you still using this seat?\" [/quote]Very nice and civilise way of doing thing.
[quote] I'm the sort who doesn't mind if in groups, we don't necessarily hafta eat together.. if lunch time is short then just get yer food and eat where there is space. Chit chat later when walking back to office. Important thing is lunch time is for makan...so just makan loh. [/quote]Absolutely, right thinking ! Just hope that eveyone think the same as you and do the same. And if a big group occupy the table during busy time, it is also not the right thing to do, especially for those got urgent things back in office, cannot find a table, look at a group of people keep chatting and laughing, as if all the others are transparent. Feel like pour soup on them...
\"In short, i'm not in favour of this ridiculous tissue paper reservation practice.\"
Indeed, reidiculous. I fully support your opinion. -
tree nymph:
I do agree that chope-ing seats has becoming a national practise. I've seen ANG MOH expariates doing the same thing!!! :!: :!:
when in rome, do what the romans do :celebrate: -
Yusof:
....Absolutely, right thinking ! Just hope that eveyone think the same as you and do the same. And if a big group occupy the table during busy time, it is also not the right thing to do, especially for those got urgent things back in office, cannot find a table, look at a group of people keep chatting and laughing, as if all the others are transparent. .....
agreed. Likewise for students studying, adults reading newspaper or surfing internet during busy time totally inconsiderate. -
smurf:
if I bring toddler and rushing, I definitely won't use this service. it's too troublesome. where got so much time doing SMS.?? :?
and imagine, you just bought the food and is trying to find the reserved seat, then the timer ends, you have to fumble and try to do SMS. and while you do SMS and hold the food, the food drops, how?
Then you miss the point altogether. Too high tech for you.
The idea is, while you walk to the foodcourt, you send the SMS. It gives you about 10 mins to go straight to get the food, and go the seat reserved for you.
It is not meant for you to buy the food first, then send the SMS. -
well that's the thing. while you are still queing for your food, the seat you have choped could be used and vacated by someone oredi. But instead, it remains unused.ChiefKiasu:
To solve the problem, can simply have a ticketing machine at the entrance for people to press and print out a chope-ing coupon with the time on it. So you can use the coupon to chope for the next 10mins.
You ever queue for that lor mee in Old Airport road market? need I think 3 coupons....
auntieM:
Elderly and foreigners how? Very stressful to eat in such a place leh, a lot of procedure to follow.. ...
Auntie,
Elderly and guai-low go to busy Shenton Way, Raffles Place during lunch time for what ? If they really want to 'kuay-sio' (squeeze hot) then so be it.
The use of the seat reservation system is optional. Not say every one must use it.
The display with timer, is more 'formal' and proper than a silly pack of tissue paper. For all you know, the inconsiderate person can leave the silly pack of tissue paper there for years, and nobody is suppose to sit there just because of that ? Absolutely no logic.
Having a timer is to be fair for the others. The reservation of seat during a busy hour, cannot be indefinite. -
Let me quote one example, do not hammer me.
4 people going lunch. Found a table with 4 seats. All the 4 are eating different food.
Option 1
1 person sits down, to chop the table. The rest 3 go queue to buy food. When anyone is back with food, then its the sitting person's turn to go queue for food.
Option 2
Put 4 packets of tissue, all the 4 go queue for food.
Whats the difference? :?
Ultimately, all the 4 have to queue to get their own food. -
Understand the frustration that comes in when you eye that unused seat. But if there is one person sitting there blocking other pp from using those same empty seat, and faithfully waiting for her friends to come back after searching the entire available stores, making up their minds and then queueing and buying the food back; and then she gets up to do the same.....I think the efficiency counter also fails.
well that's the thing. while you are still queing for your food, the seat you have choped could be used and vacated by someone oredi. But instead, it remains unused.
I can only say that it all boils down to the particular circumstance, and it's best if everyone practises consideration for other fellow beings. -
daisyt:
Different scenarios different outcomes lah. No hammering, this is a forum...we're expected to differ in our views. :celebrate:Let me quote one example, do not hammer me.
Imagine everyone agreeing....aiyoh....not fun liao. :love:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.