what bag is mummy carrying for day to day use?
daisyt,
Very ipressed with your gal too :love:
I will also make sure my DS don't have the wrong idea about 'branded' stuff.
I'm planning a trip to India couple of years time and hope he can learn from the experience then.
You lucky ladies get to pass on thingys to DD, I have to bring with me when I
XXX
:celebrate: -
auntieM:
You are forgetting that you'll have DIL...daisyt,
Very ipressed with your gal too :love:
I will also make sure my DS don't have the wrong idea about 'branded' stuff.
I'm planning a trip to India couple of years time and hope he can learn from the experience then.
You lucky ladies get to pass on thingys to DD, I have to bring with me when I
XXX
So sweet... reminds of my first BFOkie, I oso not high class.
But I like branded stuff in the sense that they must be classic. Must be able to use it still 10 yrs later lagi better. Haiz, blame this trait on my DH. It has rubbed off on me. Not that my DH is brand conscious, but to him, if you are paying $500 or more for something, must last one ....
Do own some of the brands that have been mentioned. So here's something that has not not been ...
Heard of Katherine Hamnett watches??? If you are familiar with the brand, her watches are v v dainty looking, small size with thin straps ... (*hint* *hint* Funz :D).
When I first saw the model over 10 yrs ago in the HER world magazine (and I still have the cut-out somewhere), told meself that I will get it, one day. The px of the watch that I bought has gone up for sure ... Gifted by DH.
My Gucci watch was also gifted to me by DH. It was a proposal 'ring' so to speak. I was really touched cuz we were in London then and I just happened to pass by the watch boutique and commented how beautiful the watch was. He just took it as a sign and bought it behind my back. Said later he didn't want to propose to me 'empty handed'
Rolex given to me by DH when I delivered DS. I had mentioned in jest that it shd be gifted to me if I managed to sustain a pregnancy thru full term ... DH took it seriously, bought it and said later I deserved it :love:
As for shoes, I never buy 'cheaply made' shoes. I have a phobia for blisters and bunions. I tend to purchase those made in spain as they are comfortable and durable. I have a pair of hush puppies wedges bought like more than 5 yrs ago, still going strong. As for Blahniks, will get down to purchasing them one day when I don't have to totter ard with toddler ...
So really, they may be branded, but whats more impt to me is that each of these items really have sentimental value
Oh and BTW, I hoard those freebie bags given away by HER world and such. They are so handy for putting in magazines to read while waiting or DS's stuff ....One of the clutch bags given away by the above magazine has become a personal fav for travelling - as a make-up case ....
Unfortunately, DH is not like that... he will always wait till I want to buy something and then he would sponsor it, er..sometimes.
Busymom:
You are forgetting that you'll have DIL...

Wow.... I've 2 girls and a DIL.... stressed.
lovekidsverymuch:
I too a Nikon person :hi5:[/quote]i told my DH i wanted a DSLR. He did all the homework and decided a Canon. So I just use lah. Now I'm thinking of going for a photography course so that i can use the camera well. i think i can forget about sleeping early liao!
Canon .... hhhmmm .... Nikon is more user friendly.daisyt:
[quote=\"tree nymph\"]
This year, I got a very nice gift from DH for my birthday too! Its a Canon DSLR which I've been eyeing for a few years now! :!: :!:
Yes, no joke. Cos DH really don't know what I really wanted for birthdays... I've to SPELL it out!
I am a Nikon person.
I will have 2 DILs and a gal... heheheee... equally stressed...Busymom:
You are forgetting that you'll have DIL...

Wow.... I've 2 girls and a DIL.... stressed.
yes yes, good to inculcate this value into the kids.
Thanks tree nymph. I understand where you are coming from. Yes, it not surprising to hear of teenage girls offering sex so as to buy their desired branded stuff.. So this is not the kind of upbringing we want them to have.tree nymph:
MMM,
don't mind me saying huh. But I think you have to explain to your gal about branded stuff. I've seen kids who will trade anything for branded stuff. But on the other hand, I've seen kids, who own branded stuff all their life, spending within their means and don't buy branded stuff if they can't afford it.
Having said that, branded stuff really has got good workmanship. So I guess we have to educate our kids on the value of money and they hope that they will be wise with their money.
We've humble upbringing so we also educate them that they are very lucky they have this and that. But there are also alot of people out there who don't have that. In their school, they are also surrounded by needy students so they must learn to sympathise with people who don't have much too. Fortunately, she is quite stingy with her money so far. They desire to see the number grow in their bank.
daisyt:
your gal must have a fat piggy bank by now?
I give her $30 a week and have to keep telling her to spend and eat well. She used to like this stall of fried drumstick, but would only buy when she felt that she has done something good on that week, to reward herself. The drumstick is only $1+ .... I don't understand ....tree nymph:
Daisyt,
I like your gal already! Nowadays where to find such thrifty young gals around??!!! I think maybe I can send my kids to you for a while so that your gal's thriftness can rub off on my kids... My boy is a bit too generous when it comes to money. kept saying aiyah, $100 only etc... I don't like it that he made this kind of comment. and i didn't give him a lot of allowance, only $1 a day and he got to bring his water bottle to school.
i rather my boy be like your gal.
EN:
I usually buy the bags and shoes when I'm travelling. Shoes, particularly, only when there is a sale in wherever I am, or outlets like Bicester Village in UK. Used to buy pretty cheap Bruno Magli from Isetan when they have their year-end sale, but they don't seem to carry the brand anymore. For me, nothing to do with birthday, just rewarding myself for having worked hard....kekeke.. afterall, I don't spend much on other things like hair or manicure, etc.
For the rest of the ladies that need to buy their own branded stuff unlike very lucky autumnbronze, how often do you splurge on bags, shoes, watches etc?
I usually will splurge at least once a year. My own birthday gift to myself. Err..just this year, I off track a bit. Instead of girly stuff, I'm buying myself a slightly higher end camera.
EN:
Maybe if you find good lobang on the watch, can tell me yah...I've been thinking of buying a nice blink blink Rolex. It's something I can pass down to my daughter as a remembrance. DD already started eyeing all my handbags asking if she can borrow it when she grows up. :lol:
DD doesn't know how to eye my handbags yet. She's only eyeing my nicer dresses like those long evening ones and earrings that I wear occasionally, asking whether I could let her have those when she grows up. :lol: -
DH has given up buying things for me. He said he can never get it right. He will buy perfumes that are very floral in smell but they make me nauseous, bags and watches that are small and dainty, he likes to buy bracelets or bangles but I wear only earrings and pendants.
He saw me browsing the Frank Muller website and has been pestering me to tell him which model I am eyeing. I refuse to tell him cos I find that it is too costly a watch to buy.
I donβt shop often but each time I shop I really spend. A lot of people buy branded stuff and use them βsparinglyβ, or only for special occasions then they bring it out to use. For me, I will splurge on stuff that I will use on a daily basis.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.