Chope-ing (reserving) seats using tissue paper

81 Posts 17 Posters 21.3k Views 1 Watching
    • Y Offline
      Yusof

[quote]
      Option 2
      Put 4 packets of tissue, all the 4 go queue for food.
      Whats the difference? :?
      Ultimately, all the 4 have to queue to get their own food.[/quote]Not hammer you. Just to reason with this option 2.

When I come and see an empty table with 4 packs of tissue, I would wonder, how long have these \"reservation\" take place already ? If I am one person, and I already got a tray with food, I can finish very fast usually less than 10mins. So, shall I seat or not ?

See ? If one person is still there, then I can ask, \"excuse me, are these seats taken ?\", \"yes, all four\", \"I can finish my food in 5 mins, before they come back, can I use one of the table ? \" (because the 3 of them won't come back immediately, even so, the 4th person still got to go and buy food. I certainly can make use of that 1 space to eat up my food.

Get it ?

I am not hammering you. Just let you see the picture.

hquek

Yusof:

That is right, if you install this system at HDB's hawker center, then of course it is like the Americans...this is targetted for the busy foodcourt at CBD area.

The major stream of revenue is not from the reservation fee charged. It is the advertisement that keeps running on the table !!
        [quote]To solve the problem, can simply have a ticketing machine at the entrance for people to press and print out a chope-ing coupon with the time on it. So you can use the coupon to chope for the next 10mins.
        But this is waste of paper. The small little display does the job. The display is not movable. The paper will fly away, maybe other people will take the paper away and claim that they have the seat.

If there is no reservation fee, if the ticketing machine is like getting a queue number at a bank...then this system is going to fail because too many coupon is going to be issued, that will overwhelm the number of available seats.

There must be a small fee charged. If you are paying at the machine, then there will be another queue. Sounds stupid too. So the best is SMS, and the reversation fee deducted from the phone account. Simple and clean. The SMS reply confimation gives you the seat number. There is no way another person can claim it over you.

You got your confirmation, while in the queue to buy food, if the timer is left with 1 minute, another SMS will come, and if you reply to extend the time, another small charge is applicable. Of course, this extension timing got to be calculated properly, otherwise the customer is going to get very pissed off with the food court operator.

Another revenue making option for this system is, once I know this customer (phone number) always frequent which food court, I can use this information for marketing purpose. I can get the food court to do promotion and I have the customer's details in my database.[/quote]Yusof, I see you have a lot of ideas how to make this work. good for you. But for me personally, I pray we never have to resort to this. Already prices are going up up up. If I got to pay to get a table, I may as well stay home. And who you think will kena fleeced for having those wee displays on tables??

SMS only good for tech savvy person. My parents don't do sms....liddat nonid to eat? Also, imagine if you are a tourist. I think it'll be a further put off to have to incur international roaming charges to get a seat?

Knowing pp's penchant, it's likely that such displays will kena scratched, kena soup all over or just vandalised with x love y. In that case, a lot of money may go into maintaining this system.

Lastly, already I kena phone calls from insurance co and banks to buy this or take up that loan. As much as possible I try to avoid leaving my hp number. If foodcourt also have my number, I would wonder if they will sell that information, or if I'm going to get call from foodcourt asking me to visit more often? :!: Marketing wise is good for co, but it may backfire easily if not used properly.

carebear

That’s why i pack food to work, so don’t have to join then mad rush for seats during lunch time.

My family seldom eat out for that reason.
          We eat out only if we have no choice ( no food at home to cook, maid sick). If we eat hawker food, we tah pao back. I don’t like to eat in hawker centres or food court. I can’t enjoy my meal there.

• tankeeT Offline
            tankee

lovekidsverymuch:

wow Raffles place ... so nice !

wats so nice :? though lotsa food choices :love:

there everyone will dress proper & nicely. Can do some jalan jalan or shopping too. Got MRT ...

where I work, everyone is so casual (some border sloppy)... 😞

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

Yusof:

[quote=\"tankee\"]I have seen people \"booking\" table using those free newspaper.

I pity the poor aunties and uncles who have to clear up... :x

Aunties and uncles happy coz can sell the newspaper.[/quote]not when you have to pick up piece by piece and some wet ones ...

lovekidsverymuch:

[quote=\"tankee\"]wow Raffles place ... so nice !

there everyone will dress proper & nicely. Can do some jalan jalan or shopping too. Got MRT ...

where I work, everyone is so casual (some border sloppy)... :([/quote]If you work there everyday, you won't like it, everyone is rushing, everywhere is packed, your dollar shrinks faster....

Work in suburbs, you can be the best-dressed!! Why not?

• tankeeT Offline
                  tankee

If you work there everyday, you won't like it, everyone is rushing, everywhere is packed, your dollar shrinks faster....

I recall when I reported for work the first day in tie ... got ridiculed by the old-timers & seniors :x

• tankeeT Offline
                    tankee

lovekidsverymuch:

[quote=\"lovekidsverymuch\"]

where I work, everyone is so casual (some border sloppy)... 😞

Yeah I agree with formal thingi... everyone always in tie and coat etc then lotsa ang moh also... shopping well sometimes I over shop 😞 things I dont need also buy... which are u work?[/quote]
                    just outside CBD, but totally different world ... so near yet so far.

If you work there everyday, you won't like it, everyone is rushing, everywhere is packed, your dollar shrinks faster....

I recall when I reported for work the first day in tie ... got ridiculed by the old-timers & seniors :x

Actually they are the one having problem.. Singaporeans are known to dress the worst in Asia cities.... 😉

Hahn-norh... :politebleah: Just because some majority are

sloppy dressers, doesn't mean all of us are. :roll: So, here's

to all the well-dressed people out there! :celebrate:

Chief is definitely leading in this elite category.. he's always

extremely smartly dressed everytime i see him. 😉

:udaman: Clothes maketh the man they say.. and so 4

him in this case, clothes maketh the good Chief. 😎

Eh wat happen to our tissues chope-ing? Settle liao harh? :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 9

mylulaoshiM
                        mylulaoshi