Nan Chiau Primary
Anyone who has black school shoes whose kids have outgrown and dun mind to give away to my son whoโs attending NCPS P1 in 2016? TIA.
shashachong:
HI all, I am thinking of enrolling my child into NC (due for P1 in 2017, registrating in 2016). Would like to check if there's a after school care in the school and if it's difiicult to enrol into the after school care? When can we start putting in our interest for a place for the after school care?
For parents who didnt manage to get your child a space in the after school care, what options have you taken?
There is a school care centre in school but vacancy is not many. Priority is given to P1 and low income families I understand previously. My son goes to Polaris Junior at Block 323B and they do mainly for NCPS, so that's the alternative you may consider. -
timtim:
HI Timtim,shashachong:
HI all, I am thinking of enrolling my child into NC (due for P1 in 2017, registrating in 2016). Would like to check if there's a after school care in the school and if it's difiicult to enrol into the after school care? When can we start putting in our interest for a place for the after school care?
For parents who didnt manage to get your child a space in the after school care, what options have you taken?
There is a school care centre in school but vacancy is not many. Priority is given to P1 and low income families I understand previously. My son goes to Polaris Junior at Block 323B and they do mainly for NCPS, so that's the alternative you may consider.
Do you have any feedback on their center? Can you also share how do your child go to the center from/ to school, as I am afraid that my child would lost his way? -
shashachong:
HI Timtim,timtim:
[quote=\"shashachong\"]HI all, I am thinking of enrolling my child into NC (due for P1 in 2017, registrating in 2016). Would like to check if there's a after school care in the school and if it's difiicult to enrol into the after school care? When can we start putting in our interest for a place for the after school care?
There is a school care centre in school but vacancy is not many. Priority is given to P1 and low income families I understand previously. My son goes to Polaris Junior at Block 323B and they do mainly for NCPS, so that's the alternative you may consider.
Do you have any feedback on their center? Can you also share how do your child go to the center from/ to school, as I am afraid that my child would lost his way?[/quote]You mean Polaris? I wouldn't say they are very good but decent lah. Anyway, we have no other better alternatives if you don't get to go into the school one. Don't worry about going to and fro school as the centre's staff will fetch, even if there is extra classes in the afternoon. During sch holidays, it's case by case, if too few, may have to have your own arrangement as they are shorthanded due to all students present in the centre. -
Hi hi ! my Son is also starting P1 in nan chiau in Jan 2016 ,class 1G ! any classmates here?

rac15_lee:
hihi ! may i know what class your gal is in?Dear Parents,
My gal will be attending primary 1 in Nan Chaiu next year, 2016. I would like to check out more details on their curriculum:
1. Is the school teaching higher chinese for primary 1?
2. Do the school teach accordingly to their text books (issued by MOE) or they have their own set of internal textbooks?
3. Is there any thread that I can know more about the curriculum for primary 1 in Nan Chiau?
I know I am KS, but can't help worrying..
thanks in advance
Hi all,
We stay in Sengkang and my two children are in a nearby new school, P3 & P1 (2015) respectively. I am considering to transfer both to Nan Chiau Primary next year, as it much nearer to our house; within walking distance. The present school they are attending isn't very far but have to commute via MRT.
Can any experienced parents share with me how / what are the requisites for successful transfer please. In terms of results, both have done consistently well so far. Is it too late to apply for transfer now?
Am I making the right decision for my children by transferring them out from an environment which they seemingly are already quite settled in?
Thanks in advance for sharing
Mummymama:
yes, results is the key here to enter.Hi all,
We stay in Sengkang and my two children are in a nearby new school, P3 & P1 (2015) respectively. I am considering to transfer both to Nan Chiau Primary next year, as it much nearer to our house; within walking distance. The present school they are attending isn't very far but have to commute via MRT.
Can any experienced parents share with me how / what are the requisites for successful transfer please. In terms of results, both have done consistently well so far. Is it too late to apply for transfer now?
Am I making the right decision for my children by transferring them out from an environment which they seemingly are already quite settled in?
Thanks in advance for sharing
bear in mind the academics demand fr sch is high. No harm trying next yr to transfer. i am not sure which sch u are in now, but nc and rv are both very demanding sch in this area, esp to the top classes .
the rest of the sch academic drive may b more relax compare to the above two sch -
Thanks Mypillow!
Yes, you are quite right in saying NC is strong in academic area. My kids do not have a lot of homework and they are usually quite free to have time to do assessment books that I prepare for them. My DS seems to be rather complacent with his results. He was selected for the 1st round of the GEP exercise, but did not get through the 2nd round. Despite that, I feel there is still room for improvement. Iโm also getting a little worried with his complacency. Kiasu or kiasi as I may seem to be, I feel the present school is not developing them as much as I want them to. So it is really true that "all schools are the same"? hahaโฆ -
Are the children in NC allowed to take up only one CCA? Or can they take more than 1?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.