Different religion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    95 Posts 54 Posters 47.2k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

Viewing some of the youtube posts on Pastor Rony’s sermons, I now understand why my MIL is behaving the way she is behaving now.

About 3yrs ago, FIL felt tightness in his chest and was breathless. His doctor referred him to a cardiologist and found that his arteries are blocked and it was recommended that he go for the ballooning procedure. MIL insisted no need to go for surgery and wanted FIL to go to church for her pastor to pray over him. She firmly believed that FIL will be healed that way. And she got her sisters to add pressure on FIL and DH by supposedly calling and counselling them. Well FIL went for the surgery and all went well. And MIL did not visit him at the hospital until DH blasted her and ask her if her so called GOD told her to forsake her husband.

Then about 6mths after that, we found out my dad had to go for a triple bypass. And again she called my mum and told my mum dun let my dad go for surgery. She wanted to bring her Pastor and her gaggle of church going fellas to my parents’ house to pray over my Dad. Saying that that will heal him. I told DH to stop MIL from doing such things cos my Dad will definitely chase them away.

I myself though not baptised have been greatly influenced by the Catholic faith. I believe in God. But I think what some representatives of some churches are doing is damaging and for people like my MIL, bordering on dangerous, even. She has stopped taking her high blood pressure meds saying prayers will help heal her. And the even scarier thing is, she is not alone, her sisters who are all converts and attending the same church share the same thinking in varying degrees.

tree nymph

Viewing some of the youtube posts on Pastor Rony's sermons, I now understand why my MIL is behaving the way she is behaving now.

About 3yrs ago, FIL felt tightness in his chest and was breathless. His doctor referred him to a cardiologist and found that his arteries are blocked and it was recommended that he go for the ballooning procedure. MIL insisted no need to go for surgery and wanted FIL to go to church for her pastor to pray over him. She firmly believed that FIL will be healed that way. And she got her sisters to add pressure on FIL and DH by supposedly calling and counselling them. Well FIL went for the surgery and all went well. And MIL did not visit him at the hospital until DH blasted her and ask her if her so called GOD told her to forsake her husband.

Then about 6mths after that, we found out my dad had to go for a triple bypass. And again she called my mum and told my mum dun let my dad go for surgery. She wanted to bring her Pastor and her gaggle of church going fellas to my parents' house to pray over my Dad. Saying that that will heal him. I told DH to stop MIL from doing such things cos my Dad will definitely chase them away.

I myself though not baptised have been greatly influenced by the Catholic faith. I believe in God. But I think what some representatives of some churches are doing is damaging and for people like my MIL, bordering on dangerous, even. She has stopped taking her high blood pressure meds saying prayers will help heal her. And the even scarier thing is, she is not alone, her sisters who are all converts and attending the same church share the same thinking in varying degrees.
        the first thing that comes to my mind after reading your account... Your MIL and her sisters and some of her church mates:

走火入魔!

Sorry, didn't mean to offend anyone. But I feel they are superstitious liao!

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

tree nymph:
          the first thing that comes to my mind after reading your account... Your MIL and her sisters and some of her church mates:

走火入魔!

I agree loh. There was once at dinner after hearing her spouting Pastor XXX said this and that and this and that, I cannot tahan. I asked her who is God for I am getting the impression that Pastor XXX is her god. Nowhere in the entire monologue was there a mention of Jesus but throughout, it was Pastor XXX is very powerful, he very devout, he can cure people of their illness, blah blah blah.

In any case, she has been trying to get FIL and DH to go to her church. Saying that she wants all of them to be together in the afterlife.

WeiHan

insider:
            She is furious and added if she were to be a Christian subsequently, she will definitely not be in his church.
            Do you think there are many churches in Singapore that are not like THAT?!

hquek

In any case, she has been trying to get FIL and DH to go to her church. Saying that she wants all of them to be together in the afterlife.
              Sorry, but I wonder where she is headed in the afterlife. Glory should only be to God, to Jesus...and definitely not the person.

It's not which church they attend that will affect where they are going but rather what they believe. Judas iscariot was in Jesus' \"school\" but look what happen to him. One of the thief who was crucified alongside Jesus...he believed and was saved - didn't go school, didn't go church.

God allowed bad bad things to happen to Job - lost all his kids and wealth in a second, and later his health. I don't think that going to church means wealth and health, and definitely don't subscribe to anyone being able to heal all diseases with a wave of the hand. That time has passed.

• 3 Offline
                3Boys

tree nymph:

走火入魔!

I agree loh. There was once at dinner after hearing her spouting Pastor XXX said this and that and this and that, I cannot tahan. I asked her who is God for I am getting the impression that Pastor XXX is her god. Nowhere in the entire monologue was there a mention of Jesus but throughout, it was Pastor XXX is very powerful, he very devout, he can cure people of their illness, blah blah blah.

Unfortunately there is quite a lot of unsound theology going around.

As my Pastor says, you are in this world, even if you are not of it. In other words, the laws of physics, chemistry, biology all apply (finance too, I might add!), and equally to all, regardless of faith and religion.

Two rules I live by as I walk the line of 'this world' and 'the other world', 1) Render unto Caesars what is Caesar's and to God, what is God's, and 2) Do not put the Lord your God to the test.

Live and let live.

Religion is a personal experience and walk with your divine’s beliefs.

One should not base your beliefs on someone else’ experience but perhaps a combo of your own and theirs, IF they apply.

No one is free from worldly things and infallible, just as we have found the wrong-doings of Ren Ci Ming Yi and perhaps more to be uncovered from other religious organisation? So are we going to stop believing in our Divine because of them?

Stay focused if you have beliefs in your own personal experiences with your Divine one.

Mrsbongz

Hmm.. I used to think religion doesn't matter, and dated guys of different faith.. but as we progressed, he found it difficult that I had to attend church and I couldn't tahan all their superstitions and rituals..

Later when I was dating DH and we went for marriage preparation courses.. I realised that being of te same faith has advantages.. Cos we definitely grew up in different family cultures.. but having a common belief helps binds us when we have disputes.. when we disagree.. the bible decides.. 🙂 so I will usually encourage my friends to date guys of the same faith.. less conflict, more understanding..

cluelessmom

insider:

I think for my this daughter, I can sort of expect her to be able to analyse instead of taking any teachings in a literal sense and to surrender herself with childlike innocence without any questioning. She will have to find herself a suitable church that preaches meaningfully if she wants to be a Christian in the later part of her life... If she so chooses to follow blindly, then so be it as by then she is no longer really a child. I really do expect my kids to be thinking individuals who dare to question even religious leaders, be it a pastor or a monk...
                      This is wat I hope for my dd as well :celebrate: I have long delayed disussion on the topic of religion with her until she recently had an expressed interest on the subject .... Wondering if u had any recommendation for a very basic easy-to-comprehend buddhist literature tat captures the essence of Buddhism?

Busymom

insider:

The book is雪中足迹:圣严法师自传(the original of this book is in English – “Footprints in the Snow”)。圣严法师is a very respected monk in Taiwan who passed away last year. I find the book very easy to read (like a story)
                        Thanks, insider, for the recommendation of the book. I've been looking for books on Buddhism that is easy to understand, but no success so far. Will look for this book and see if it is available to buy online.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 10

Jennifer0903J
                        Jennifer0903