Letterland

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    140 Posts 26 Posters 73.6k Views 1 Watching
      spring

Hi buds.....

yupz. Thanks for always being here in helping me in teaching my dd phonics. Ohh ya...u did mention b4 that u r moving to another place rite... but i guess shd be stil in e west side ya... i rem seen somewhere u did mention tat montessori is more focused n takes shorter period when its comes to blending part which i tink is beta. šŸ˜„ yup... look forward to ur input on this, cant wait to progress to next stage. šŸ˜„ but im sil tinking is it too early to teach my dd blending now? Shes now 30mths. Do i need to wait for her to be more mature for this? Also to check wif u, for e letter sound 'a' n 'e', 'c' n 'k' sound similar, how to differentiate them more clearly?

Another thing is recently she is always trying pretending to read. Everytime i read books to her, i wil always use my pointer to point at words as i read, n now she is trying to do this but nt doin it correctly, n when i try to guide her holding her pointer, she simply rejected n continue to pretend n do her own way. May i know how can i guide her regarding this?

Ohhh... if u r really teaching in pcf... den e kids will be so blessed to hav such a wonderful teacher.. how i wish my kid will hav one like u šŸ™

mummy of 2

I might just wanna work part time with PCF to learn how

they have changed and grown over the years once i've settled down with the move

and say... mebbe work ad-hoc or part -time cos i have chanced upon their adverts

requesting for relief. :evil: Nothing's confirmed yet. Everything in the planning

process and in consideration. Kiddies are getting bigger and think it's high time i

spring back into action.
        hi buds

do consider teaching at tiong bahru pcf. then i can ask you for more regular updates on DS's progress via KSP :idea:

spring:
          Hi buds.....

Well hello again, spring. :peekaboo:
          spring:
          yupz. Thanks for always being here in helping me in teaching my dd phonics.
          My pleasure really. šŸ˜‰ Keeps me stimulated. Thanks! :celebrate:
          spring:
          Ohh ya...u did mention b4 that u r moving to another place rite... but i guess shd be stil in e west side ya...
          Nope, it ain't gonna be in the west anymore hun..
          I'm going to really miss being a westie. http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php

I find that i have everything here in the west side, minus the crowd.
          And i do like it like that.. well moving on does have its sacrifices lah..
          So, i hope this move will do me and my family some good. :love:
          spring:
          i rem seen somewhere u did mention tat montessori is more focused n takes shorter period when its comes to blending part which i tink is beta.
          Yes, it is dear.. at least in my own personal opinion.

The method prides itself in using the interactive approach
          with its many and varying materials / teaching aids to apply
          its techniques. Definitely very hands-on, systematic and clear
          in its instruction. Works well with kinaesthetic and visual learners.
          spring:
          šŸ˜„ yup... look forward to ur input on this, cant wait to progress to next stage. šŸ˜„ but im sil tinking is it too early to teach my dd blending now? Shes now 30mths. Do i need to wait for her to be more mature for this?
          I'm afraid my answer wud be yes.. too early. You see, spring.. i have not
          personally assessed her to know or to be able to properly advise you that
          moving on to the 3-letter stage is a good go-ahead as of now. I cannot
          personally tell if she is truly ready.. plus, yeah.. she is only 30mths now.

Cos when children move ahead prior to perfecting the initial basic skills well,
          it may show later, the repercussions of the lapses of what the child may have
          missed out on and it wud be very very challenging to back-track or worse šŸ™
          touch wood.. to re-teach the basics all over again. By then, the child wud hv
          the ability to read more words, longer words and more difficult words & thus
          would not be open to go back to the \"baby\" stages. There will be some
          resistance and wud prove to be detrimental to the child's progress (in
          some cases slow them down..) from then on and may also make the
          child lose the interest somewhat, in building up the reading skills. It
          will not be fair to the child if this happens.

For now though, what can be done is to tap on the listening skills. During
          daily routine insert impromptu exercises of listening to sounds in words..
          Like for example, when taking the bus.. you may wonder aloud.. \"Hmm...
          wonder what sounds are in the word b-u-s.. do you know? Cos i can only
          hear /s/..\" Or... hey, do you think the baby will be a baby brother for you
          or a baby (s-i-s)... /s/... /i/.. /s/? Work on simple words that you encounter
          or use everyday, like a stroll in the park and you see a cat... use that as a
          spontaneous sound-listening-skill. Or even m-u-m or d-a-d.. :love:

This activity will indirectly & eventually assist the child in the blending of 3
          letter words and above plus provides the skill for the child to decode sounds
          in many many other words independently.

Other areas to work on would be soft skills and pre-writing skills.
          Don't lose out on this. Reading is only part of what the child has to learn
          in his or her life. Expose and encourage children to do a host of other kiddie
          activity as well... and do remember to give them some time to sweat it outdoors
          too. šŸ˜‰
          spring:
          Also to check wif u, for e letter sound 'a' n 'e', 'c' n 'k' sound similar, how to differentiate them more clearly?
          I will PM you the details okie? šŸ˜‰
          spring:
          Another thing is recently she is always trying pretending to read.
          This is a fantastic display of interest! Build on it and it will bear fantastic results!
          spring:
          Everytime i read books to her, i wil always use my pointer to point at words as i read, n now she is trying to do this but nt doin it correctly, n when i try to guide her holding her pointer, she simply rejected n continue to pretend n do her own way. May i know how can i guide her regarding this?
          Ask her if you cud hold both your fingers together (yours and hers) when
          pointing. You may show her different sets of books ie. For example, you
          compromise that she can do the pretend pointing when reading her all
          time favourite books, but she needs to follow your finger when you
          read with her your readers collection.. say mebbe Peter and Jane
          series and the likes..

When she points, you may ask her like...
          \"Which word says clever, darling? Can you point to the word for mummy...\"

As opposed to...
          \"Hey, that's wrong! That's not the word clever you're pointing to! Here!
          I show you! THIS is clever.\"

Can you sense / see the difference... šŸ˜„
          spring:
          Ohhh... if u r really teaching in pcf... den e kids will be so blessed to hav such a wonderful teacher.. how i wish my kid will hav one like u šŸ™
          If only you stay nearer, mebbe got chance. šŸ˜‰

Thanks for your compliments. :love:

I am still learning.. :celebrate:

mummy of 2:

I might just wanna work part time with PCF to learn how

they have changed and grown over the years once i've settled down with the move

and say... mebbe work ad-hoc or part -time cos i have chanced upon their adverts

requesting for relief. :evil: Nothing's confirmed yet. Everything in the planning

process and in consideration. Kiddies are getting bigger and think it's high time i

spring back into action.

hi buds

do consider teaching at tiong bahru pcf. then i can ask you for more regular updates on DS's progress via KSP :idea:

When i DO move, Tiong Baru would be outta the way for me liao sweetie..
            Now where i am, still not too bad. šŸ˜‰ Updates via KSP? :faint: Die arh.
            Later i kenna mark by my boss! :!: :siam:

mummy of 2

When i DO move, Tiong Baru would be outta the way for me liao sweetie..

Now where i am, still not too bad. šŸ˜‰ Updates via KSP? :faint: Die arh.
              Later i kenna mark by my boss! :!: :siam:
              Care to share which part of the island you moving to? Can PM me if you do not want others to stalk you šŸ˜›

Does that mean no more delivery if I buy other stuff from you in future? Still waiting for you to post items for sale leh šŸ˜‰

Ok i will let you in on it via PM. šŸ˜‰

Yep.. won't be possible to meet up all
                the way to Tiong Bahru anymore. It'd
                be postal delivery from then on.

No more time to kai kai liao. :lol:

spring

Nope, it ain't gonna be in the west anymore hun..
                  I'm going to really miss being a westie.
                  I find that i have everything here in the west side, minus the crowd.
                  And i do like it like that.. well moving on does have its sacrifices lah..
                  So, i hope this move will do me and my family some good. :love:
                  Im sure u wld hav made a gd choice. šŸ˜‰ But yea...guess u will need times to adapt to a new environment.

I'm afraid my answer wud be yes.. too early. You see, spring.. i have not personally assessed her to know or to be able to properly advise you that moving on to the 3-letter stage is a good go-ahead as of now. I cannot personally tell if she is truly ready.. plus, yeah.. she is only 30mths now.

Cos when children move ahead prior to perfecting the initial basic skills well,it may show later, the repercussions of the lapses of what the child may havemissed out on and it wud be very very challenging to back-track or worse šŸ™touch wood.. to re-teach the basics all over again. By then, the child wud hv the ability to read more words, longer words and more difficult words & thu would not be open to go back to the \"baby\" stages. There will be some resistance and wud prove to be detrimental to the child's progress (in some cases slow them down..) from then on and may also make the child lose the interest somewhat, in building up the reading skills. It will not be fair to the child if this happens.

For now though, what can be done is to tap on the listening skills. During
                  daily routine insert impromptu exercises of listening to sounds in words..
                  Like for example, when taking the bus.. you may wonder aloud.. \"Hmm...
                  wonder what sounds are in the word b-u-s.. do you know? Cos i can only
                  hear /s/..\" Or... hey, do you think the baby will be a baby brother for you
                  or a baby (s-i-s)... /s/... /i/.. /s/? Work on simple words that you encounter or use everyday, like a stroll in the park and you see a cat... use that as a spontaneous sound-listening-skill. Or even m-u-m or d-a-d.. :love:

This activity will indirectly & eventually assist the child in the blending of 3
                  letter words and above plus provides the skill for the child to decode sounds in many many other words independently.

Other areas to work on would be soft skills and pre-writing skills.
                  Don't lose out on this. Reading is only part of what the child has to learn
                  in his or her life. Expose and encourage children to do a host of other kiddie activity as well... and do remember to give them some time to sweat it outdoors too. šŸ˜‰
                  Thank you buds for tis informative advice. šŸ˜„ things u mention really does make sense. I wouldnt want my dd to lose interests in reading! It does sound scary. :scared:

Will try out e activities on tapping on e listening skill. It does sound more appropriate for her age now. hehe.... :ugogirl:

Hmmm... soft skills? Actually wad r they huh? :? U mean e.g social skill, selp help skill? Craft work like tearing, pasting, colouring n cutting, r they consider as prewriting skills? Im doin quite alot of tat with my dd, n also finger tracing of letters, n now she has started to trace letters with crayons. šŸ˜„ anymore activities u wld suggest on improving e writing skill? :

I will PM you the details okie? šŸ˜‰
                  Okie.... U pm me ya.... šŸ˜Ž

This is a fantastic display of interest! Build on it and it will bear fantastic results!
                  šŸ˜„ :thankyou:

Ask her if you cud hold both your fingers together (yours and hers) when
                  pointing. You may show her different sets of books ie. For example, you
                  compromise that she can do the pretend pointing when reading her all
                  time favourite books, but she needs to follow your finger when you
                  read with her your readers collection.. say mebbe Peter and Jane
                  series and the likes..

When she points, you may ask her like...
                  \"Which word says clever, darling? Can you point to the word for mummy...\"

As opposed to...
                  \"Hey, that's wrong! That's not the word clever you're pointing to! Here!
                  I show you! THIS is clever.\"

Can you sense / see the difference... šŸ˜„
                  Okie... i will try when she tries to pretending reading again. For now, i hav not read to her any readers collection. Do u tink i can try e peter n jane series to her? Must she knows word blending before i can read to her e sight word method using e peter n jane series? Or any other readers u wld recommend for her age?

U make me v curious of ware u r staying.
                  Care to share? šŸ˜‰

spring:
                    Im sure u wld hav made a gd choice. šŸ˜‰ But yea...guess u will need times to adapt to a new environment.

Adapting to the environment part, i know i can handle. What i cannot
                    envision is the daily cycle of sending the girls to school to and fro! :!:
                    Not planning to change schools for them unless if really terribly forced
                    to make that decision..

We'll see.. :xedfingers:
                    spring:
                    Thank you buds for tis informative advice. šŸ˜„ things u mention really does make sense. I wouldnt want my dd to lose interests in reading! It does sound scary. :scared:
                    Once again, you're welcome. :hugs: I suppose i can make sense of it as i
                    have seen children fall back into a distant level of interest when this skill
                    is tackled inappropriately and though i cud reduce the damage when i
                    troubleshoot it, a lot of precious time is wasted back tracking and re-
                    learning, whereas it cud have been done right from when it first began.
                    spring:
                    Will try out e activities on tapping on e listening skill. It does sound more appropriate for her age now. hehe.... :ugogirl:
                    Actually it is the most appropriate exercise to do right after perfecting the
                    single letter sounds stage. Also ensure your girl knows which letter each
                    sound represents when you pronounce any sound to her. If she oredi
                    knows how to write or trace even better.. can get her to write the letter of
                    the sound you say out to her. šŸ˜‰ Very helpful for future verbal and
                    written spelling skills as the child can distinguish between letter names and
                    letter sounds and also know each corresponding letter shapes at an instant!

Just to let you in on something.. i'm currently helping a fren to sell off her
                    Large Moveable Alphabet (A Montessori Material) used during Montessori
                    Phonics lessons. It aids the child in recognizing letter shapes with given
                    corresponding letter sounds. The LMA can also be used for those listening
                    skill activities i shared in my previous post. šŸ˜‰

You may ask the child to pick out the letter that makes the sound /b/ as in
                    the beginning sound of bus... then ask her to listen to other sounds in the
                    word bus... after she manages to pick up all three letters from the LMA, u
                    show her how individual letter sounds put together can make a word. šŸ˜„

We use this in our classrooms up till Blends and reading up to 6-letter
                    phonetic words like your nick for example... spr-ing! You can check out
                    the material here at this link! šŸ˜‰ > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10176

Let me know if you are keen. Specially for you, i will include a freebie item
                    as well, if you decide to purchase the item from me.. Great for your girl and
                    can keep for when your #2 grows a lil' older too.. :love:
                    spring:
                    Hmmm... soft skills? Actually wad r they huh? :? U mean e.g social skill, selp help skill? Craft work like tearing, pasting, colouring n cutting, r they consider as prewriting skills? Im doin quite alot of tat with my dd, n also finger tracing of letters, n now she has started to trace letters with crayons. šŸ˜„ anymore activities u wld suggest on improving e writing skill?
                    Yes Yes! Soft skills like saying please and thank you, table manners, setting
                    the table.. sorting cutlery.. She can use her dolls or teddies to organize a tea
                    party and tackle social attributes in an inviting set up. Uh-oh.. teddie spilled
                    his tea? What should we do? Is teddie a bad bear, should we scold him or
                    how can we teach teddie to be more careful... Or monkey is naughty, always
                    bullying the other animal friends.. How can we help teach monkey to be at his
                    best behaviour? (etc)

Activities that strengthens finger muscles and the pincer grip for writing can
                    be using the scissors.. sorting colour balls using a spoon.. learning to use a
                    chopstick.. picking up stamps using a small tweezer.. pegging clothings..
                    (etc) šŸ˜‰

If you have sand, moist it and put it in a box or container and get her to
                    trace alphabet shapes in it, apart from the typical pencil or crayon and
                    paper.. Use play dough to curve little roll-outs into letter shapes.. (etc)

Veggie stamps you can create with potatoes and carrots with either letter
                    shapes, simple shapes (square, triangle, circle & rectangle) that you can
                    use with paint or even cut out sponges too!

The possibilities are endless really! :celebrate:
                    spring:
                    Okie... i will try when she tries to pretending reading again. For now, i hav not read to her any readers collection. Do u tink i can try e peter n jane series to her? Must she knows word blending before i can read to her e sight word method using e peter n jane series? Or any other readers u wld recommend for her age?
                    It can wait till mebbe when she's 3 or 3.5yrs.. but if you think she is mature
                    enuf to handle such readers go ahead. Different children have different
                    temperaments hence there is no hard and fast rule to age introduction..

Readers are repetitive and work on the sight words. There are many in the
                    market other than Peter & Jane these days.. you'll be spoilt for choice.

spring:
                    U make me v curious of ware u r staying.
                    Care to share? šŸ˜‰
                    Okie dokie, sure thing! šŸ˜‰

I'm still looking for some stuff to show you on how you cud
                    move on from the Letterland phonics and have yet to find
                    them.. sollie. :salute: Hope i can dig it out soon. :oops:

Keep in touch & you take care.. :hugs:

spring

The LMA seems like gd stuff! šŸ˜Ž But is ur fren willing to lower e price to ard $120? I cant see e picture clearly. R u able to send e pic to my email?

Wow.... u really does hav los of ideas of improving writing skills! :ugogirl: Especially e one of collecting sand in a box, nv tot of tat before. For using chopsticks, my dd is recently keen on learning also, may i know hw shd i teach her on tis? Also for e veggie stamp, u mean cutting e carrot or potato into e specific lette shape?

Also, regarding e letter sound of 'a' n 'e', 'c' n 'k', lookin forward to ur pm soon ya.... šŸ˜‰

spring:
                        The LMA seems like gd stuff! šŸ˜Ž But is ur fren willing to lower e price to ard $120? I cant see e picture clearly. R u able to send e pic to my email?

I've asked her liao.. She's willing to part @ SGD $130.00 when i mentioned
                        you bought from me before. If you can self-collect better, so will not incur
                        any delivery costs.. but no freebie item la for this discount. Sollie. :salute:

PM your email address and i will send the same picture to you. No problem.
                        spring:
                        Wow.... u really does hav los of ideas of improving writing skills! :ugogirl: Especially e one of collecting sand in a box, nv tot of tat before.
                        Ideas are built up over time. šŸ˜‰ You would have too! By the time you
                        have your baby #2 you would have accumulated ideas enough to run yer
                        own class! šŸ˜„
                        spring:
                        For using chopsticks, my dd is recently keen on learning also, may i know hw shd i teach her on tis?
                        You can read my article on it at this link here. šŸ˜‰
                        > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3607&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
                        spring:
                        Also for e veggie stamp, u mean cutting e carrot or potato into e specific lette shape?
                        For carrot and potato stamps i suggest shapes as in 2D shapes like circle,
                        triangle, square, (etc) cos not too much trouble to cut. For letter shapes,
                        better with sponges. Easier to cut.
                        spring:
                        Also, regarding e letter sound of 'a' n 'e', 'c' n 'k', lookin forward to ur pm soon ya.... šŸ˜‰
                        Ok, can. I PM-ed it to another forumer before . Will try to scour my over
                        loaded inbox to see whom i sent it too and will forward it to you. Cos she
                        broached the same questions you had in mind. šŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 14