Property Views
CPF logic is that the money is meant for your retirement and when used to pay for your house, the opportunity cost is the interest not earned, thus, for your own peace of mind during retirement, the interest should be paid to your CPF account.
No loss as the money could be used to buy the next property. -
thanks lee_yl
It is just that am paying for the interest whereby cpf is supposed to pay if my money were with cpf.
I understand there is no free lunch even am using my cpf money, am supposed to pay interest. -
It's still your money....just you cannot touch it until it's time for you to withdraw (in parts or whatever) from cpf.[/quote]Many pp actually deliberately don't touch their CPF monies inside the CPF a/c in order to grow their retirement wealth. This is because the current CPF interest rate 2.5% is higher than banks' prevailing loan rate 1.x~2%. You don't need to touch your CPF if your ppty's downpayment & instalments can be paid upfront - comfortably - with cash. CPF rate is definitely more attractive than any FD rate right now. You have to play by ear...
Yes, this is what I have gathered too.starlight1968sg:
[quote=\"MrsKiasu\"]
My own understanding, in short the money in CPF got to keep growing, for our future retirement use. CPFB use the money to invest, they will pay u interest and if you use the money to invest, you got to pay the interest.
The longer you keep the HDB/pvt using CPF, they more interest you got to pay.
So I avoid using cpf on housing. -
starlight1968sg:
Yes, CPF is supposed to pay you provided your money stays in the account untouched otherwise, CPF can't pay you your interest on money which is not there right?thanks lee_yl
It is just that am paying for the interest whereby cpf is supposed to pay if my money were with cpf.
I understand there is no free lunch even am using my cpf money, am supposed to pay interest.
Oh, For those who lost money in property investment, \"double whammy\". -
lee_yl:
Totally agreed on \"CPF can't pay you your interest on money which is not there right?\"
Yes, CPF is supposed to pay you provided your money stays in the account untouched otherwise, CPF can't pay you your interest on money which is not there right?starlight1968sg:
thanks lee_yl
I understand there is no free lunch even am using my cpf money, am supposed to pay interest.
Oh, For those who lost money in property investment, \"double whammy\".
But when I sell the flat, some proceeds will return to cpf. this amt includes the earlier loaned with interest (in my example,200k and 1k interest which otherwise I would receive fr cpf).
So it gives me a feeling that am paying 1k as interest to my cpf a/c. -
Yes you top it up with your own money as if the money was not used
jetsetter:
I think we are talking about 2 things here.
Ok strictly spkg, U r more accurate in terminologypirated:
Not first time buyer. Is first housing loan borrower without EXISTING housing loan. If previous loan fully paid, new loan is first loan
ABSD will take into account all your existing properties regardless whether they are fully paid or not.
TDSR only takes into account your properties that are not fully paid yet. -
ngl2010:
Ok strictly spkg, U r more accurate in terminologyjetsetter:
[quote=\"pirated\"]
Not first time buyer. Is first housing loan borrower without EXISTING housing loan. If previous loan fully paid, new loan is first loan
ABSD will take into account all your existing properties regardless whether they are fully paid or not.
TDSR only takes into account your properties that are not fully paid yet.[/quote]We talking about housing loan
First housing loan 80%,
Second housing loan 50% -
TDSR takes into account ALL your regular monthly installment payments - car loans, credit card installment, consumer credit, rental etc etc
ngl2010:
Ok strictly spkg, U r more accurate in terminologyjetsetter:
[quote=\"pirated\"]
TDSR only takes into account your properties that are not fully paid yet.[/quote]pirated:
Earlier posts were talking about decoupling to avoid ABSD. See below.We talking about housing loan
First housing loan 80%,
Second housing loan 50%jetsetter:
Not divorce but removal of one occupier's name only. I think it's possible.
HDB ownership rule can allow decoupling ?pirated:
[quote=\"jetsetter\"]Decoupling is the best way to avoid ABSD. But you need to make a calculated move and discuss with your spouse lor...If he puts the landed one or pte condo one under his name, you \"lugi\", in the event that...
But if you put yours for the more valuable ppty, make sure your income can afford to service the mortgage, if the ppty isn't fully paid up yet.
Most DW will put their name under the more expensive one
In china the decoupling of ppty ownership ended up with real divorce
http://jkfund.blogspot.sg/2014/06/hdb-decouple-topic-spr-sc-household.html
The impt thing is to get your spouse become a first-time buyer.[/quote]
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.