Club PTWP

156 Posts 33 Posters 190.1k Views 1 Watching
      blue-march

No helper on weekends, everything is DIY. Sometimes even need to double up as babysitter to look after nephews/ nieces ๐Ÿ˜ข

Housework? wait till i catch enough 'beauty sleep' ๐Ÿ˜› wahaha :rotflmao:

blue-march

To be able to come here to post or just to read is already a 'luxury' liao...I still have a couples of books that I bought last year and most of them are half read. :oops:

mathsparks

ermm blue-marchโ€ฆmaybe you wanna create a new topic all for yourself so other members can welcome you too.

blue-march

mathsparks:
            ermm blue-march..maybe you wanna create a new topic all for yourself so other members can welcome you too.

hi mathsparks,

I can't remember if I've reported at newbies thread, I think I did leh... :?

Dinah

Hi blue-march,

I thought you are in the most ideal situation โ€“ work PT and take care of your gal. This also enables you to return to FT work when your gal is older and independent.

Did you negotiate with your employer to convert your FT job to a PT schedule when your gal goes into P1? Or you found a PT job through agency/recruitment page? Itโ€™s rare to find PT jobs through the latter channel.

BTW, are to share which industry/trade are you in?

blue-march

Dinah:
                Hi blue-march,

I thought you are in the most ideal situation โ€“ work PT and take care of your gal. This also enables you to return to FT work when your gal is older and independent.

Did you negotiate with your employer to convert your FT job to a PT schedule when your gal goes into P1? Or you found a PT job through agency/recruitment page? It's rare to find PT jobs through the latter channel.

BTW, are to share which industry/trade are you in?
                Yes, I agree this is the most ideal arrangement, for now. However, there are people who feel I sacrifice too much for my dd. Everyone has their priority and I must say my priority now is my dd. When she enters into her teens and do not need me this much, then I'll change my focus and go have a life. :love:

I intend to go into FT when my dd is in P3, since she'll be spending more time at school for CCA and supplementary classes. However, subject to change as it depends how she develops, her maturity and how well she copes with her school work.

I have been working PT for about 3 years and was being offered to work FT along the way. I've to decline the offer as I am not confident to juggle between family and FT work as you know, being in FT will mean more OT and I do not want to sacrifice my quality time with my dd with that extra half a month's pay check.

I got this job thru' the classified ad and must say I'm really lucky :celebrate:

Counting my blessings ๐Ÿ™

blue-march

Hi Dinah,

I've replied to your PM, pls check. Cheers!

blue-march

blue-march:
                    Hi Dinah,

I've replied to your PM, pls check. Cheers!
                    Hi Dinah,

Saw yr reply, i've PM you again. Take care!

soup

Hi! Can I join here?

I am a PTWM with a almost 4 year-old son. Was SAHM for 3 years, only found a part-time job since late last year. I work from 9am to 1pm, 4 days a week. I leave my kid in a kindergarten when I am at work. He takes lunch there and I pick him up at 2pm to bring him back for his afternoon nap. ๐Ÿ˜„

It sounds like an ideal arangement. Except... problems at work that arise due to the part-time arrangement, so I wondered if any of you here have encountered similar situations:

- The job started off with the agreement to let me off at 1pm (as I need to have lunch and pick up my kid at 2pm). After all, I am only paid to work 4 hours. Then, gradually, more and more workload, some coming in at 12.30pm, which is impossible to clear by 1 pm. End up me finishing at 1.45pm most of the time, having to skip lunch and reach the kindergarten late. Spoke to boss and he said, okay, the most I pay you overtime lor. But that's not the issue here.:x I NEED to leave on time!

Lately, told me there will be even more workload from mid-July onwards, as one staff is quitting and I am supposed to take over some of her work. What does that mean? I got to stay till 3pm or 4pm to clear the work??? :x I do not have parents or in-laws' help. My child is a special needs child who needs me to bring him for physiotherapy 2 afternoons a week. He is not suitable for full-day childcare because of his condition. My boss and colleagues do not understand the difficulties. If I can do overtime, I would have worked full-time, right?

- Colleagues who work full-time - any of you get sarcastic comments from them?
                      \"Wah, so lucky, can leave at 1pm, the rest of us got to slog til 6pm\" (excuse me, that's why your pay is 3 times mine, and you get benefits whereas I don't!).
                      \"Taking leave again? Kindergarten closed today? Don't know why you still bother to work. Might as well stay home and be a tai-tai lah!\" (I don't get paid for the days that I don't work. And before I started work, the agreement was that whenever the kindergarten is closed, I can't work as I am the sole care-giver of my kid. At least my boss had kept to this agreement so far.)

Anyway, I am glad for the pros of part-time work - more $$ for the family, chance to meet other people (thankfully not all my colleagues are nasty). But if the above issues are not resolved, I may have to quit and return to SAHM, or look for another part-time job.

Thanks for letting me ventilate here! :celebrate:

mathsparks

soup:
                        Hi! Can I join here?

Of course you can, and :welcome: and so sorry for the late welcome. Forgotten about the club. :oops: Could you add your details to #13?
                        Here's list of the ptwps:
                        01 / Mathsparks (mummy)/ DD1 (1992) DS1 (1997) / Yoga, climbing hills n stairs, reading, sudoku
                        02 / Blobbi (mummy) / DS1 (2003) / Reading, shopping, pilates, baking, massage
                        03 / Yen715 (mummy) /DS1(1997) DS2 (2006)/ reading, surf the net, watching tv
                        04 / Mwchua (mummy)/ dd (2003) / Reading, brisk-walking, idling
                        05 / Girlmum (mummy) /DD1 (1996)/ DD2 (2001) /reading, watching TVB series, shopping, dancing
                        06/ Schweppes (mummy) / DD1 (1997), DD2 (1999) / Reading, swimming, retail therapy, creative writing
                        07/ all.in.one (mummy) / DD1 (2002) / Reading, teaching, tell stories, make and eat sushi, make new friends with mommies, surf net
                        08/Elaiine (mummy) / DS1 (2007) DD1 (2009) / ??
                        09/Dinah (mummy) / DD1 / exercise, reading, travel, photo album, experimenting cook recipe.
                        10/Carebear(mummy) / DS1 (1997) / DD1 (1999) / ??
                        11/2ppaamm(mummy) / DS1(1994)/DD1(1996)/DD2(1997)/DS2(2000)/DS3(2003)/baking, sewing, gym, collect recipes, travelling, musical instruments, sleeping (most important)
                        12/blue-march (mummy) / DD1 (2003) / reading, cycling, music, cooking (depends on mood) sleeping (favourite)
                        13/soup(mummy)/DS1
                        soup:
                        I am a PTWM with a almost 4 year-old son. Was SAHM for 3 years, only found a part-time job since late last year. I work from 9am to 1pm, 4 days a week. I leave my kid in a kindergarten when I am at work. He takes lunch there and I pick him up at 2pm to bring him back for his afternoon nap. ๐Ÿ˜„ It sounds like an ideal arangement.
                        Sure sounds like an ideal arrangement. I've been working part-time since my girl was in nursery.
                        soup:

Except... problems at work that arise due to the part-time arrangement, so I wondered if any of you here have encountered similar situations:

I NEED to leave on time!
                        No such nonsense coz I always leave on time; so that I can fetch them home from school; even though nowadays they mostly stay late, you won't see me working even a minute after 1pm.

But difficulty arises when I'm supposed to have meetings in the afternoon or full day trainings which I'll try my best to :siam:
                        soup:
                        He is not suitable for full-day childcare because of his condition. My boss and colleagues do not understand the difficulties. If I can do overtime, I would have worked full-time, right?
                        I firmly believe it's family before career (for us mummies) and I've gladly sacrificed my career without any regrets. 2 of my part-timing colleagues didnt work out and they quitted.
                        soup:
                        - Colleagues who work full-time - any of you get sarcastic comments from them?
                        \"Wah, so lucky, can leave at 1pm, the rest of us got to slog til 6pm\" (excuse me, that's why your pay is 3 times mine, and you get benefits whereas I don't!).
                        I get them all the time and I'll just say \"Ya, I'm indeed so lucky, but my pay is half of yours. But I wouldnt trade it for anything coz my afternoon hours are MINE!\" I'm kinda fortunate coz I get full benefits from the company.
                        soup:
                        Anyway, I am glad for the pros of part-time work - more $$ for the family, chance to meet other people (thankfully not all my colleagues are nasty). But if the above issues are not resolved, I may have to quit and return to SAHM, or look for another part-time job.

Thanks for letting me ventilate here! :celebrate:
                        Ya, definitely lots more pros than cons. But if the arrangement doesnt work out, move on, for the sake of your son.
                        Ventilate as much as you want, that's what we do here to keep our sanity! :lol: see ya around!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 14 / 16

MandyLibM
                        MandyLib
                        WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards