2016 PSLE Discussions (Born in 2004)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    4.5k Posts 16 Posters 962.3k Views 1 Watching
      Pen88n

randwick:
      janet88:

jialak...2nd time facing psle and still don't know banding.

All this grading/banding is just a guide. It gets thrown out the window as no ones really knows how they convert the kids' actual marks into T scores. Depends largely on the whole cohort that particular year.

Janet, does your dd's school churn out statistics for parents to see where their kids stand for the subjects in terms of percentiles? My kids' school used to do that and I know where roughly where they stand but the school stopped that practice.

Some schools provide the statistical mean and standard deviation for each subject. If you have these, you can use the T-score formula to compute the T-score based on your school's cohort performance:
      T-score of subject = {(Your score - mean)/standard deviation}+50

Some schools do some tracking on their own against national average and they will be able to provide an estimate of kid's T-score for PSLE if they perform at the same level as their prelim standard. I heard of schools which are above national averages telling parents to add 5-10 points to their total computed school prelim T-score and that will be their kid's estimated PSLE T-score.

Pen88n:

I heard of schools which are above national averages telling parents to add 5-10 points to their total computed school prelim T-score and that will be their kid's estimated PSLE T-score.
        heard of that before...hubby told me some colleagues said add xx points to their child's prelim t-score to get a rough gauge.

now must wait to see what kind of questions were set for math and english....but must learn to relax.

• G Offline
          Giggler1

Janet88, I also told my dd to focus on revision and don’t think of results now. No time for that!

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

nicnac:
            janet88:

[quote=\"MrsKiasu\"]
            in 2019. Not only dd need to learn. I also need to learn. I heard of Band A but in my mind I really don't know from what marks lor..and paiseh to ask also. From P1 to P6, the band A will be of the same range? And since 70-75 will be A, the band A will be from 70 onward?

Oh gosh, my dd is not only weak at one area. I can only hope that she could catch up by starts of P5.

3 years time. so she is in p3 this year.
            no need to feel paiseh...we are all learning something new everyday...at the rate MOE changes regulations. grades are moderated according the results of students taking psle that year.

I think in P3-P4, they use Band 1, 2 ,3.
            Band 1 _ 85% and above
            Band 2 - 70%-84%
            Band 3 -n50%-69%
            Band 4 - below 50%

But in P5 and P6, they go by A*, A, B, Cs

A*- 91% above
            A - 75%-90%
            B- 60%-74%
            C - 50%-59%
            D - 35%-49%
            E - 20%-34%
            U - below 20%[/quote]Thanks nicnac, this is exactly what a want. Now I will have an idea of the marks when people tell me which band they are at :oops:

Giggler1:
              Janet88, I also told my dd to focus on revision and don't think of results now. No time for that!

I don't want to think of results.
              effort is what I want to see. I know schools will set killer papers. I filled in answers for an open-ended section in 1 year exam paper yesterday...last night, went through those answers with her. She brought the completed ones to school to read before the CA.

Tonight, time out at nearby mall.
              Maybe tomorrow can go for ayam penyet lunch in Orchard after school.

beebyboopyboop

Just some tips from your really bored senior 🙂

English papers are one of the hardest to score at but the easiest to complete.
                English compo:
                Don't panic and rush to start the paper. Instead, first read through the question and write out a quick story plan.
                Even if you can't remember good phrases etc, the most important factor to a good story is a detailed and well linked story not very chim chim words.
                English oral:
                When you get the passage, read through 2 times (minimum) in your head and if possible mouth it out to get a feel of how it would sound like. Vary your tone, pause appropriately, articulate your words.. just a make sure you aren't monotous and you aren't speaking so fast that your teacher can't hear you 🙂
                For the picture, when you get it, think about evey single thing in the photo (even like the small ballon and the edge of the paper for e.g) , think about possible questions and also think about any prior experience. Always link back your answers to the question!
                English papers:
                These are easy I'm sure you'll breeze through.
                When doing grammar MCQ, think about the subject verb agreements and think about what the grammar word is referring to. For vocabulary MCQ, always always ALWAYS read through your spelling list before the exam. But during the exam, if you are still unsure of the meaning of the words, cancel out the definitely wrong answer which should usually leave you with two more options. With the two options, think about the way the question is phrased and similar words to the two options. When doing editing, grammar questions are easy so just breeze through them again. For spelling questions, if you know vaguely what the word is, write out all your options in pencil and pick the one that looks the most right (hehehe). For compre, if you have enough time, annotate the text. It really helps a lot even if you feel it's a waste of time and resources.

For science open ended questions, the teachers are looking for key words to answer the question. Do not write a whole chunk of unnecessary words. For example: Why is the hot bun moist? (the bun is in a closed box) The key words to answer the question are words from the topic condensation. Before you attempt the question, write the topic of it next to the question 🕺 to be able to think of key words faster. Then key words teachers are looking for are words like condensation, evaporation, lose heat, water vapour, water droplets, touch cooler surface etc... 🕺

kiasuFoo

A mummy whose dd just finished psle last year( or chinese tutor) is popping by… Chinese or any other subject is actually not difficult to score as long as your dc is willing to read and memorize every word from the 词语手册。Take note of the pinyin and 搭配. For compre, you may wish to try to ask dc to circle the words they don’t understand and check the dictionary. Understand the passage first and the questions will be easier to answer. Techniques in answering are really just picking up key words in the questions and searching for them in the passage. The rest will be practice. I always believe in practice makes perfect. The grades will jump when they practice more in the correct way. Don’t ‘protect’ your dc too much, they need to learn it the hard way. I always have parents who speak up for their dc when I give them ‘too much’ homework but if the children themselves don’t try, and always rely on their parents,they will really become the so call strawberry generation… They can’t finish their work,it is their problem. They must learn to explain to their teachers themselves but not turn to their parents for help.

randwick

The tips look great. Problem is when my dd is in the actual examination surroundings, nerves set in and many of these "ought to do" steps are thrown out the window. Timing is also the cause of nerves as they rush through and make careless mistakes or not reading the question carefully.

The Math Paper 1 is only 50 minutes, the kids don’t even have time to think properly. The pupils who are strong in Math breeze through this Paper 1 and even have ample time to check their work. But for the weaker ones like my dd, to be able to finish all questions is a feat already, let alone have accuracy. So I just remind dd that Paper 1 consists of the easier questions, she must try to focus as at the end of the day, the marks in this Paper can save her from failing. I have to keep telling her she can do it.

• sembgalS Offline
                      sembgal

randwick:
                      The tips look great. Problem is when my dd is in the actual examination surroundings, nerves set in and many of these \"ought to do\" steps are thrown out the window. Timing is also the cause of nerves as they rush through and make careless mistakes or not reading the question carefully.

The Math Paper 1 is only 50 minutes, the kids don't even have time to think properly. The pupils who are strong in Math breeze through this Paper 1 and even have ample time to check their work. But for the weaker ones like my dd, to be able to finish all questions is a feat already, let alone have accuracy. So I just remind dd that Paper 1 consists of the easier questions, she must try to focus as at the end of the day, the marks in this Paper can save her from failing. I have to keep telling her she can do it.
                      Hi, you can set timer 50 mins and allow your dd to practise completing the Booklet A with speed and accuracy. This tip was shared by a Math teacher.

The surrounding should be quiet when dd is doing revision or mock test papers. Younger siblings are a great distraction and no tv, music, anyone walking around the house, vaccum house etc. It should be mimicked as close to the natural exam environment as possible.

After the mock test of Booklet A, mark your DD's test paper and explain to her step by step how to solve each question. Cover up the question and get your dd to show you the written steps of doing the questions.

On another piece of paper, get your dd to copy down those questions that she made mistakes in, leave sufficient space for working and let your dd do all the questions that she has made mistakes on another day, preferably the next day to check if she still remembers how to solve the questions.

I am not an expert but sharing with you how I usually go about doing this as a parent. You cannot expect the tutor to use this method as it is very time consuming. It is up to the parents how much they want to go about helping the child.

randwick:

The Math Paper 1 is only 50 minutes, the kids don't even have time to think properly. The pupils who are strong in Math breeze through this Paper 1 and even have ample time to check their work. But for the weaker ones like my dd, to be able to finish all questions is a feat already, let alone have accuracy. So I just remind dd that Paper 1 consists of the easier questions, she must try to focus as at the end of the day, the marks in this Paper can save her from failing. I have to keep telling her she can do it.
                        the environment she does the mock paper plays a part...i set a timer for 50 minutes. hubby always reminds her to move on to next question after 2 minutes if she can't do the question. when throw in speed AND accuracy, it's a different ball game. so timing starts from now.
                        i expect killer papers for prelim...but the 2 teachers must have been instructed to set killer ones for CA1 as well :faint:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 148 / 450