Tutor MathsGuru: Ask me for your burning Maths questions!

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    4.3k Posts 374 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching

KoalaMummy:
      i need an urgent answer to this question, by tonight.. hope you don't mind...

A book cost $12 more than a magazine. 2 magazine and 5 books cost $110. Find the cost of a book and a magazine.
      You can draw the following models:
      M + 12
      M + 12
      M + 12
      M + 12
      M + 12
      M
      M

So 7M + (5*12) = $110
      so M = 50/7
      There a magazine costs $50/7=$7 1/7 while a book costs $(50/7 + 12)=$19 1/7

You should check the numbers in the question. The answer looks strange.

KoalaMummy

KoalaMummy:

A book cost $12 more than a magazine. 2 magazine and 5 books cost $110. Find the cost of a book and a magazine.

M + 12
        M + 12
        M + 12
        M + 12
        M + 12
        M
        M

So 7M + (5*12) = $110
        so M = 50/7

ya, i think the answer look strange too... will ask my son to ask his teacher la...i've tried my best...'give-up\"... maths problems these days are :frustrated:

tianzhu

Hi

Hope this helps

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4013/4540290449_16f1dc1b79_o.jpg\">

Please check figures.
          Best wishes

• G Offline
            Guan Hui

KoalaMummy:

[quote=\"KoalaMummy\"]i need an urgent answer to this question, by tonight.. hope you don't mind...

M + 12
            M + 12
            M + 12
            M + 12
            M + 12
            M
            M

So 7M + (5*12) = $110
            so M = 50/7

ya, i think the answer look strange too... will ask my son to ask his teacher la...i've tried my best...'give-up\"... maths problems these days are :frustrated:[/quote]Hi koalamummy,
            I made this video for you hope it helps...
            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScY86Ezm2KU

p.s. your kid hug you like koala when they are small? Imagine and thought it was super cute=D

david59

KoalaMummy:

M + 12
              M + 12
              M + 12
              M + 12
              M + 12
              M
              M

So 7M + (5*12) = $110
              so M = 50/7

Ya, normally where got this kind of answer with $7 1/7 leh. Especially when you convert into exact numbers of cents,how can have 14.29 cents one lor? It is like if an answer is 1.43 chicken. U know what I mean. I'm very sure the question got problem one lah. Otherwise it is a very simple question to solve. :?

Cheerfuldad

Q 1. Twice a number is greater than 3/5 of the number by 21. What is 2/3 of the number?

Q2. Aifangpi ans Sashimi had an equal amount of money. Each day, Aifangpi spent $60 and Sashimi spent $32. When Aifangpi has spent all her money. Sashimi still had $336 left. How much money had Aifangpi at first?

TIA

KoalaMummy

Guan Hui:
                  Hi koalamummy,

I made this video for you hope it helps...
                  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScY86Ezm2KU

p.s. your kid hug you like koala when they are small? Imagine and thought it was super cute=D
                  Hey Guan Hui, thanks a lot for the video. will show my son tonight.

Ps. yes, my kids do hug me like koala when they are small, in fact, now, they still like piggy back, my 5yo, still lies on me when 'getting' to sleep. 😉

• CoffeeCatC Offline
                    CoffeeCat

Cheerfuldad:
                    Q 1. Twice a number is greater than 3/5 of the number by 21. What is 2/3 of the number?

Q2. Aifangpi ans Sashimi had an equal amount of money. Each day, Aifangpi spent $60 and Sashimi spent $32. When Aifangpi has spent all her money. Sashimi still had $336 left. How much money had Aifangpi at first?

TIA
                    twice of a number=> 10/5 of the number
                    (10/5 - 3/5)= 7/5 of the number = 21
                    the number is (21/7) times 5 =15
                    2/3 of number is 10

since both had same amt of money at first, the $336 is due to the difference of 60 and 32.
                    Number of days = 336/(60-32)= 12
                    t
                    Amt of monev at first = 12 times 60=720

free willy

I don’t know how to help my P6 boy with this homework question. He miss the class cause he had to go for tournment.

Box A has 200 red balls and 90 blue balls. Box B has 80 red balls and 100 blue balls. How many red balls and blue balls need to be moved from box A to Box B so that there are 80%of red balls in box A and 50% of blue balls in box B.

Cheerfuldad

CoffeeCat:
                        Cheerfuldad:

TIA

twice of a number=> 10/5 of the number
                        (10/5 - 3/5)= 7/5 of the number = 21
                        the number is (21/7) times 5 =15
                        2/3 of number is 10

since both had same amt of money at first, the $336 is due to the difference of 60 and 32.
                        Number of days = 336/(60-32)= 12
                        t
                        Amt of monev at first = 12 times 60=720

Thank you Coffeecat!

Have a good day!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 91 / 430

rinsiderR
                        rinsider