Any Updates As To When PSLE T-Scores Will Be Scrapped?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    1.2k Posts 1 Posters 234.1k Views 1 Watching
      pirate

jetsetter:

It's the fine-grained T-score that's making some parents from dunno where stressed out. Why should the 259 abalone get into HCI when my 256 prawn is also not bad leh? We should be in the same mixed pot!
      259 or 256 all sama sama, prawns only lah. :rotflmao:

pirated

pirate:
        jetsetter:

It's the fine-grained T-score that's making some parents from dunno where stressed out. Why should the 259 abalone get into HCI when my 256 prawn is also not bad leh? We should be in the same mixed pot!

But hor, tiger prawn or crystal prawn ? Seawater kelong or ocean prawn or fresh water pond prawn or fresh water river prawn ? Not all prawns are same though all schools supposedly good

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

The 1 point difference in T-score could mean the child could be around a few hundred places behind the person who is just 1 point ahead. It’s all about relative ranking in the cohort.

For the revamped PSLE system, since it is all about individual competency. Much will depend on the difficulty level of the papers. Since there is no fitting of curve, a difficult paper (for example, a tough 2015 science paper), fitting the curve may get an A but the absolute raw score could be a C or D. Similarly for MT, many were pleasantly surprised to score an A, while their regular school results for Chinese in school weren’t that good. On the other hand, should one paper be set too easily, then you may have 30,000+ children scoring A1s.

pirate

pirated:
            pirate:

[quote=\"jetsetter\"]

But hor, tiger prawn or crystal prawn ? Seawater kelong or ocean prawn or fresh water pond prawn or fresh water river prawn ? Not all prawns are same though all schools supposedly good[/quote]Must get A-levels or IB first then can become tiger prawns. 😆

cherryc

Probably we can list out the pros , cons and the concerns we have.

Pros:

1) no one will be defined by a 3 digits for the rest of their lives which may limit their potential
              2) a chance for moe to change all the different affiliation points for diff secondary school
              3) no need to chase the last point
              4) spread out the top talents

Cons
              1) may need subjective criteria which may be unfair

Concerns
              1) underprivileged kids may lose out
              2) parents may be more stressed to outsmart the system
              3) they may not select the best students for the respective IP programs

By the way I see the edu minister making a few announcement tdy on Trpt . I Thk he is stretched too thin…

sushi88

sleepy:
                sushi88:

there are 3 types of parents here.

1. Embrace the T-score to broad band change (the bo chap parents and prefer less complicated system to ease their stress with their kids)
                2. Initially complained alot about T-score to be removed, now seized with fear of the unknown
                3. Always wanted T-score to stay because transparency is good for them

You are which type? :evil:

Chief, wanna start a new poll? 😉

Me ah?
                Type 4...worn out by the \"fried cold rice\" type of discussion... come what may...I prefer to watch the world go by.

sushi88

Busymom:
                  sushi88:

[quote=\"Busymom\"]
                  What you have written is well and good, but what if DSA academic is removed and instead DSA leadership is introduced? Then leadership would be the only criteria for that group of students, no? Aren't there some schools which currently have DSA leadership? :?

The short answer is if MOE insists in emphasizing DSA via leadership quality as an option, then explain to us why such DSA is required by the schools, i.e. the rationale? If there is no requirement by the schools especially top schools, it is clearly just a subjective ticket for schools to suka suka admit anyone they know or like.... what meritocracy?

To answer the question in bold, I ask you one.
                  Do you know why today such schools who admitted kids with leadership qualities need them?

Erm, I don't have the answer.. The school lacks student leaders? Or they want to groom student leaders? :scratchhead:

A photo that I got from someone before on nygh DSA 2015 shows that they had 3 DSA categories and the 2nd category is called Academic / Leadership.[/quote]Maybe you should check why NYGH wants leadership as a core for DSA albeit it actually makes no sense. Their job is to produce the leaders, being a top school.

If tier 2 or tier 3 schools asking for DSA leadership, I can understand better...so that they can springboard to \"all schools are good schools\" faster by attracting student leaders who should likely be good in studies as well and be role models. MOE could be thinking along this line...to spread the talent around other schools using leadership but will kids take the bite for such schools is another question.

pirated

pirate:
                    pirated:

But hor, tiger prawn or crystal prawn ? Seawater kelong or ocean prawn or fresh water pond prawn or fresh water river prawn ? Not all prawns are same though all schools supposedly good

Must get A-levels or IB first then can become tiger prawns. 😆

A level or Ibee ... still may just end up as haybee only

Busymom

sushi88:
                      Busymom:

[quote=\"sushi88\"]

The short answer is if MOE insists in emphasizing DSA via leadership quality as an option, then explain to us why such DSA is required by the schools, i.e. the rationale? If there is no requirement by the schools especially top schools, it is clearly just a subjective ticket for schools to suka suka admit anyone they know or like.... what meritocracy?

To answer the question in bold, I ask you one.
                      Do you know why today such schools who admitted kids with leadership qualities need them?

Erm, I don't have the answer.. The school lacks student leaders? Or they want to groom student leaders? :scratchhead:

A photo that I got from someone before on nygh DSA 2015 shows that they had 3 DSA categories and the 2nd category is called Academic / Leadership.

Maybe you should check why NYGH wants leadership as a core for DSA albeit it actually makes no sense. Their job is to produce the leaders, being a top school.

If tier 2 or tier 3 schools asking for DSA leadership, I can understand better...so that they can springboard to \"all schools are good schools\" faster by attracting student leaders who should likely be good in studies as well and be role models. MOE could be thinking along this line...to spread the talent around other schools using leadership but will kids take the bite for such schools is another question.[/quote]Because given their culture, they want 品学兼优 students... :siam:

Busymom

cherryc:
                        Probably we can list out the pros , cons and the concerns we have.

Pros:

1) no one will be defined by a 3 digits for the rest of their lives which may limit their potential
                        2) a chance for moe to change all the different affiliation points for diff secondary school
                        3) no need to chase the last point
                        4) spread out the top talents

Cons
                        1) may need subjective criteria which may be unfair

Concerns
                        1) underprivileged kids may lose out
                        2) parents may be more stressed to outsmart the system
                        3) they may not select the best students for the respective IP programs

By the way I see the edu minister making a few announcement tdy on Trpt . I Thk he is stretched too thin....
                        Don't think anyone is being defined by a 3-digit at this moment, secondary school is a new starting line for all.

Cons
                        Thought many have brought up various cons on this thread?
                        2) how to compute overall points for those who are exempted from MT or whatever subject
                        3) how to treat students who take foundation papers for various subjects
                        4) parents and children will be more stressed because they probably need to be \"special\" to differentiate themselves from others, so more time needed to train to be \"special\"
                        5) non-academic enrichments will be viewed as trying to get one leg up against others when it could have been pure interest or aesthetic reasons
                        6) how to determine top 10% for IP/3rd language
                        7) parents and PSLE students get more stressed because sec school posting becomes less transparent
                        😎 affiliation to sec school has become even more important, p1 registration would see more parents rushing to schools with sec school affiliation

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 51 / 121